We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bati Bassak

Bati Bassak
Ranked #23 of 1,427 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since fall 2000, Bati Bassak has built its reputation with the authenticity, the quality and the unique flavor of its dishes. Constantly balanced between authenticity and modernity, Bati Bassak's cuisine mixes cambodian culinary art with thaï inspirations.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The food was excellent and the service was fantastic. I was so impressed with
the customer service since we speak English and the servers (especially Sothera - I think I have the name right) was extremely pleasant and helpful. Please eat here! We truly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    72
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our first visit to Quebec and on our third and last night we tried this restaurant. The chance to bring your own wine was a factor in our choice but having eaten there we would choose it again even if no alcohol was available. I had the khmer prawns, slightly spicy but very nice and my wife had the amok (tilapia in a coconut sauce) which was delicious. The service was very good. As others have said even though the menu is only in french the waiters are happy to translate into english. The food was very good as was the service. Our only disappointment was this was our last evening in Quebec so we can't go back and try more dishes from the menu. We will definitely try this again if we visit Quebec again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
1 review
“Outstanding food and friendly relaxed service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Made a reservation earlier in the week after doing a bit of Internet research prior to our visit to Quebec City. Found a widely varied selection of both Cambodian and Thai dishes. Our main waitperson was of Cambodian descent but spoke excellent English and was both friendly and helpful. We brought our own wine and beer to dinner. Menu is 100% in French, but don't hesitate to dine here for that reason - every staff member we dealt with was an English speaker. Our food was flavorful and portions were generous. I had the Boeuf & Crevettes d'Angkor and my wife had Amok, a steamed tilapia in banana leaf with coconut milk and spices. Both were greatly enjoyed. If I lived in Quebec City or was a frequent visitor, I would plan to eat my way through the entire menu at Bati Bassak one dish at a time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, nice atmosphere, flavorful dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We ate here on our first evening in Quebec City. The service was very fast and the waiter was willing to explain anything I didn't understand since the menu is in French. The food was really delicious. I would bet that everything there will not disappoint.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Something compelled us to try this place during our weekend in Quebec. It was shortly before 5pm Saturday and it had not opened yet so we visited the William J. Walter saussiserie up the street and noticed a line beginning. We got a great table by the window and the place quickly filled up. Love bringing our own wine!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bati Bassak also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Bati Bassak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing