We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tasty and interesting combination of flavors”

Chez Rioux & Pettigrew (formerly Le Quai 19)
Ranked #11 of 1,433 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$33
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: If these stone walls could talk... These unwavering witnesses to the past would undoubtedly have delicious stories to tell. As they are not very talkative, they left a few clues behind. The tea tins, wooden boxes, old bottles and rice bags from another era recreate the ambiance of a general store, reminding us that food is part of a tradition at 160 Saint-Paul Street. With the creative cuisine of Chef Dominic Jacques, winner on the television show "Les chefs" in 2012, it has evolved from its humble beginnings as the Rioux and Pettigrew wholesale grocer to today's bistro-style restaurant. Inspired from our roots and flavors from abroad, its cuisine is authentic and creative. Rioux and Pettigrew's canned goods have given way to fresh, in season foods with mouth-watering savors. As for the aromas, once locked away in barrels, metal boxes or cotton bags, they now embalm the entire restaurant. Become part of our history. Take a look at our menu and let us charm you with timeless essences.
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very tasty and interesting combination of flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I had an excellent dinner at Le Quai 19, the service was excellent and food exquisite.

It took a little while for the main course to arrive, which i would include as a point for improvement, but it was worth the wait.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JROCLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    165
    44
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quiet brunch with a great poutine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We went there for a brunch so it was a bit quiet with only a couple of tables. We had the opportunity to try their famous Poutine which topped rankings of the annual "Poutine Week" event. According to my friends, the other dishes were a bit "ordinary" if we may say so. It seems their brunch is not up to the level of their dining menu yet.
Will definitely come back for lunch or dinner to get a better feeling of the place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The ambience was warm and inviting. There were 20 of us and we were seated Ina cozy corner. The restaurant is a bit off the beaten path as far as tourist areas, it is in the old port. But I was pleasantly surprised that it was walking distance from our hotel! I think that people may not know about it because it sits off on its own a bit, but it is well worth seeking out! We had a fantastic meal and great service! High end, without the price tag. I also appreciated that the menu was very accessible. We had all sorts of people with us, differing ages, different walks of life, and everybody could find something on the menu that they enjoyed. It has to be one of the best restaurants in Quebec!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This new restaurant was right across the street from our hotel which did not have it's own restaurant. The breakfast we had was outstanding and the server was very sweet. Unique but not frightening menu.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Food in the City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This culinary gem is just too good to miss. The food is creative, tasty, beautifully presented and well-priced. The drinks are delicious, the wine list well-balance and the coffee is amazing.
I was in Quebec 5 times this year and made it a point to dine here every time. I was always impressed and happily fed. During my last stay the restaruant began serving brunch and the Poutine was just incredible. Make this your first choice, you will be oh so happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CulinaryMixologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Rioux & Pettigrew (formerly Le Quai 19) also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Chez Rioux & Pettigrew (formerly Le Quai 19)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing