We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service and Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sainte-Anne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Ranked #40 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service and Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed two nights at this wonderful hotel. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Coffee in the room (Keurig coffee pot) was a nice surprise. Rooms are clean and bathroom is cute although there is little counter space. Glass cups and glass wine glasses are another delight. The front desk people are amazing. I called to say I couldn't figure out how to make the Keurig coffee pot work and the girl said "I'll be right up to help you". She came right up and showed me how to use it. We had real coffee cups and saucers! While the girl was here she answered questions about tours and volunteered to call the visitor's center to make the reservations. The visitor's center is at the end of the block. There are plenty of restaurants, bars, and shops all around the area aswell as historical sights. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor!

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your two nights stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about our beds and rooms. We want to offer the most clean and comfortable environment for our guests.

We thank you for noticing the little touches we try to add in our service. When we add new appliances such as our Keurig machines, our duty is to make ourselves available for any question concerning their operation. We believe doing a demonstration is always the best way. I will pass on your encouraging comments to our staff!

Every comment is rewarding and helps us to keep working in the right direction!

We hope to have you as our guest in a near future!

Kind regards

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    224
    85
    16
    14
See reviews for
122
293
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 days and the location was perfect. Within the old fortified walls of Old Quebec City and within walking distance to everything you want to see and do, Including many . restaurants. Our standard room was a good size and most importantly very clean and comfortable. I work in the tourism industry in Australia and i have very high standards. I found the staff could of been a little more helpful. Upon check-in the girl at the front desk was a little scattered and yawning. I asked her a few questions and i found her of no help what so ever. I'm thinking she should of got more sleep before coming to work. It was only 6pm as well. I recommend people go the the tourist information centre next door as they will answer any questions you have. Apart from this minor interaction with staff, i highly recommend this hotel if you are going to stay in Quebec. I shall recommend it to any fellow travelers going to Canada. It certainly is value for money.

Room Tip: The location is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Sainte-Anne for your recent stay in our lovely city.

We are indeed situated in a beautiful location, right in the heart of all the major attractions and at walking distance of all the shops and restaurants.

We were enchanted to read that you have been impressed with the quality and comfort of our rooms. We are most appreciative of your acknowledgement that our hotel services and facilities far exceed your expectations. It is always rewarding to read that we have reached our goal.

I apologise for the disappointing experience you lived upon your check in. It does not represent the level of service we strive to provide. I would like to assure you that the matter was discussed and dealt with to ensure that this kind of service is never repeated.

Your review and comments are very important to us as guidance for improvement.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to have you are our guest for your next stay!

Kind regards

Stephanie
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Here again by choice, as good as last time, beds comfortable good space, parking nearby.Breakfast was better this time, cooked if you wanted it and the best croissants I've had anywhere, baked fresh. Again the staff were super courteous and very helpful.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Antinmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is a great honour for all our team to read that you chose our hotel for a second time. We always appreciate having such loyal clients.
Thank you for your nice feedback on our complimentary breakfast. We are glad to read you enjoyed our fresh croissants. They are made every morning before the breakfast opens. Several warm choices were also added to offer a greater variety to our clientele.
We would be honoured to welcome you back at Hotel Sainte-Anne!
Warmest regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Hotel St. Anne sits literally in the shadow of the Hotel Frontenac and is located in old town and a short walk to the riverfront area. I understand the building was constructed in the 1600's but has all the modern amenities you would expect. The main city tourist office is right down the street as well as the main bus pick up for all of the local tours. You can't go wrong with this place

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor!
It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Sainte-Anne.
Our building is part of the Unesco, therefore we are very fortunate to be able to work in such an ancient building surrounded by an ocean of history. We did our best to maintain its unique character like the original stone and brick walls.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
192 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

The Hotel Sainte-Anne in Quebec City, Quebec, Canada, could not be more perfectly placed. This little botique hotel is nestled on a pedestrian-only street across the street from the Anglican Catherdral and a block from the upper end of the cliff-climbing finecular in upper old-town, Quebec. We had two, different, rooms for our two stays and neither they, nor any of the rest of the rooms (as far as we could tell from the diagrams by the elevator) are even close to square. Angled walls, fun baths (yes, the bathrooms were polygons, too!) and interesting brick and stonework in the rooms adds to the ambience.

While not a "luxury" accommodation, the Sainte-Anne is comfortable and furnished with tasteful yet useful furniture. Both of the beds that we had were nice, firm, and very comfortable. The rooms seemed well-insulated from both street and internal hotel noise (we were right across from the elevator in our second stay and never heard a noise).

The staff was very accommodating and helped us work out a SNAFU airline reservation and other challenges while remaining efficient and charmingly friendly. This was especially useful to us as Quebec is almost all French-speaking and we speak not a word of French. The hotel staff was fluently bi-lingual!

We'd recommend this hotel for its location, style, and friendly, helpful staff.

Lastly, the Hotel Saint-Anne isn't cheap because the location is expensive, but, given that, we think it represents good value.

Room Tip: Two notes: The included breakfast is served in the dining room and you have several choices of comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor! It is always rewarding to read such detailed reviews from our guests.
Hotel Sainte-Anne is definitely the best location to discover Quebec City as is it close to all the main attractions.
Our team works very hard to make every client comfortable from the moment they step into the hotel. Our receptionists speak both English and French and are always eager to assist. Your very kind comments about our staff are greatly appreciated and are for us a great reinforcement
Thank you for your recommendation, we would be delighted to welcome you at Hotel Sainte-Anne when you return in Quebec City!
Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hotel is on a quiet little pedestrian street across from the Frontenac, perfect central location. The breakfast was very nice and there is a small bar . Our only complaint of the room was a tiny closet space and no drawers, but it was fine for our short stay. Everything in the room was very clean and modern. The correct parking lot is the Hotel D Ville garage. The staff is very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our hotel.

We are indeed located in a very quiet street. Since we are in a pedestrian street, cars do not drive often through our street.

We are currently in the process of adding new drawers and restoring our furniture. Our rooms with two beds have already been restored and several drawers were added for a better comfort. We are sorry to hear that you could not unload your luggage as you wished. It would have been a pleasure for us to provide you with more hangers or an extra luggage rack if needed.

Every comment is taken very seriously as we always try to better our service.

We hope to see you for your next visit in Quebec!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

The front desk girl is lovely and helpful. We drove to the end of the street, finding our that it is a pedestrian street. The girl at the front desk draw me a picture and explained where to park our vehicle. The room however was very small yet compact. The best thing was its location at the heart of the old town we walked almost every corner of the old town. Good for a nights' stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHSA, Manager at Hotel Sainte-Anne, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Bonjour Wei H,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Quebec City!

Our receptionists are always available to assist. When you arrive in the old Quebec, it can be very confusing for many people. One-ways are extremely tricky and some GPS do not read them properly. We usually recommend our clients to first come by the hotel (to unload your luggage), and then, we can give you directions to the nearest parking garage.

Like you mentioned, our hotel is situated on a pedestrian street, therefore, you can not come in front of the hotel with your vehicle. You can shortly stop your vehicle at the corner of Sainte-Anne Street and Des Jardins Street. There are some underground parking garages near the hotel. They are located at only 150 meters walking distance.

It is important to know that all of our rooms are different. The shapes and sizes vary. We always recommend contacting us prior to arrival for any special request like a larger room. We always try our best to make every special request possible.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next trip!

See you very soon!

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte-Anne

Property: Hotel Sainte-Anne
Address: 32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sainte-Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Quebec, the building that houses the Hotel Sainte-Anne is a living witness of the history of downtown Québec. Before becoming a hotel, the place was a center of festivity where politicians met after long hours spent in the National Assembly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sainte-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sainte-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing