We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in every way”
Review of Hotel Sainte-Anne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We (unfortunately) stayed there only one night - should have planned on longer. First, there is, hands down, simply no better location in Quebec City. It is smack in the middle of a walking street (a very short walk from where a taxi can drop you off). In the late night cars can use the street, so our taxi (arranged by the hotel) could pick us up at 5 am for an early flight right at the front door. Any quibbles (some mentioned in other reviews) about the room are very minor.
It is clean and modern - and an exceptional value.
The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Everything in the old town is within easy walking distance (including the Citadel - see my review).
We have travelled the world, and Quebec city is right at the top of the best cities we have ever visited - clean, well kept, friendly, with lots of shops and restaurants. And - as one of our taxi drivers pointed out - safe.

Room Tip: Note that there is no rating for a pool or fitness centre. There is none - nor was one expected in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donalda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is our third trip to Quebec City but we have never stayed right in the heart of things. This time we stayed at this lovely boutique hotel and we will go again. The location could not be better especially for the price in this city. We walked everywhere, except when we went in a caleche. ( horse drawn carriage) Our room had that old original thick brick wall construction, a huge soaking tub, a very comfortable bed and two large windows facing the street. If I turned my head to the left I could see the Hotel Frontenac. Breakfast was included in our stay and it was delicious with lots of choices, even eggs benedict. The staff is so helpful! There is no parking but the staff directed us to the city stationnement and it was easy and not too pricey. We did find our room a bit noisy as we were on the second floor and could hear the people walking above us. I would try a higher room next time on the fourth floor so that the view and noise were less. We are not whiners and complainers.....lots of people on here are though so if you are annoyed by scraped paint, or scuff marks or a bit of noise you may not like a boutique hotel. We love to experience historical cities. We love to imagine what the rooms were originally like so little taches and bumps do not bother us! History came alive on our carriage ride.The caleche driver was Alex and he was so knowledgeable. We had a tour at night for more than an hour! Our only regret was that we could not stay longer in this cultural place! I only wish I could speak French more often. Everyone spoke English here, which is good for tourists, but I wanted to speak more often en francais!

Room Tip: I would choose a deluxe room ( the middle priced one) on a higher floor so it is not so noisy. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MmeMinou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We chose this hotel mainly for the location as well as its reasonable cost. The location is perfect and we got complimentary breakfast vouchers too. You can't drive to the front door to unload your luggage which we realised after the google map essentially abandoned us about 50 yards from the front door. It was dark and wet and we had to ask staff in another hotel for directions. None of this was the fault of Hotel Sainte-Anne, but these details are reported here for others to be aware of. Lovely hotel inside although the lobby area is very small which you realise when there are more than 4 people standing there. Rooms are modern with a massive shower, but tiny area round the sink. The shower could easily have been slightly smaller to make the sink area larger for the usual cosmetic bundle! The bed was comfortable, but there was only a small wardrobe for hanging up clothes and nowhere else for clothes except in your case. Two stands were provided but no chests with drawers. There were plenty of areas in the room for drawers (including where the case stands were put) and I can't understand why none were provided when there was room for them. Overall the hotel was very good and it's location is second to none (except a few others also on that street).

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed two nights here and would stay again as the location is terrific. Based across from the Frontenac and in the heart of everything, we parked our car on day one and didn't use it again until we left. The garage is a bit of a walk but you can park a few paces from the hotel for a short period of time to unload and load up, so no big deal. parking is $17 for 24 hrs which is standard in this town. The hotel is small, as are the rooms. We opted to spend a bit more for a larger room facing the charming, quiet street which was great. The décor is modern but still retains the flavor of the historic building. Perhaps getting a bit worn around the woodwork in the bath, closet, etc but overall just fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilybdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

we booked our hotel room for 2 nights here with sainte anne for the long weekend in september...not so planned trip for a quick stay in quebec. the location is great. it is pretty much in the middle of the upper town part of quebec. the hotel itself is in the middle of many restaurants and shops. our stay included a breakfast, and it was def worth it and very good. nothing like a good breakfast to start your day...the bathrooms were good, modern and updated. the room though is another story. one of the first things i noticed when i came inside the room was the office table that look so old and used it was so worn out. the bedroom area was very small as well, typical of how european rooms look like. beds were comfortable and clean. tv was very small....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaykkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was a great boutique hotel to stay, right in the centre of the city so easy walking to everything we wanted to do. Our room was perfect for us, cosy and pleasant, very nice bathroom. The staff were great, though the desk is a bit slow it is fine, just good to know not to be in a hurry. The restaurant fare was a little unremarkable but for the price it was fine. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Livetotravel064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We booked 2 nights through Hotels.com, we were supposed to have free breakfast as advertised on the website but when we got there, we were told No free breakfast for hotels.com and expedia customers. I could not show the proof since I had saved on my desktop (see attached screen capture that clearly indicates free breakfast). Once back from holidays, we sent those print screen to the hotel directly but no response from them. We also sent to the Hotels.com and they not only responded us fast and compensated us.

Good points: The location is THE only best part, it is so close to everything. The room is modernly decorated and quiet, but small and dark. Washroom is nice and great shower.

Bad Points: This hotel is on the pedestrian street, so you have to park the car, nearest parking is 5 min walk, with all the luggages and kids, was not convenient for us.
TV is too small, very old with only few bad quality channels. Only one elevator and the lobby was extremely small (smallest lobby we have ever been), you have to go through the restaurant to access to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jegousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Morgan
Hotel Manoir Morgan
#67 of 100 in Quebec City
10 reviews
0 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 100 in Quebec City
1,623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#25 of 100 in Quebec City
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 100 in Quebec City
1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
#47 of 100 in Quebec City
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte-Anne

Address: 32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £78 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sainte-Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Quebec, the building that houses the Hotel Sainte-Anne is a living witness of the history of downtown Québec. Before becoming a hotel, the place was a center of festivity where politicians met after long hours spent in the National Assembly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sainte-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sainte-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing