We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gem”
Review of Hotel Sainte-Anne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2009

clean, great location staff treated us fantastically at a descent price! The rooms were a weeee bit on the cozy side but manageable.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

We stayed two nights at the Sainte-Anne and it was better in every way than the very pricy Fairmont Queen Elizabeth (Montreal) where we had just stayed. The Sainte-Anne was clearly designed from top to bottom by a person who knows what travelers want. The room was well laid out and beautifully decorated in modern style. The huge 8 foot long shower was fantastic! The bed was probably the most comfortable one I've experienced in a hotel. The location, in the upper city, could not have been more convenient. The hotel restaurant --"The Grill", was wonderful--we dined there once and had superbe breakfasts on both days of our stay. Everyone we encountered on the staff treated us so well we were sorry we hadn't planned to stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredTarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Clean and spacious modern room and bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great breakfast served outdoors or indoors. Great location for upper town right next to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac and next to Funiculaire taking you down to lower town. Beautiful city and great eating. All resturants are so inviting. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We stayed here for our honeymoon, for about a week in June. The place was very centrally located in the old city's upper town; a great starting point for pretty much anything in the old city, and not too far either from the Plains of Abraham, etc. QC can be a little touristy in this area, with street performers, caricature painters, etc., but, this is what you get for a central location. We found the environment, actually, to be quite pleasant and even quiet at night, despite the fact that our second room overlooked the (exclusively pedestrian) street.

The rooms were attractive and well-appointed. Yes, the sink is somewhat impractical, but it's also part of the aesthetic. (Shorter drinking glasses would have obviated the only inconvenience there, as the sink/faucet combo together was somewhat shallow.) Very comfortable beds, in my opinion, and--street-side--a lovely view. In the back, you get other unremarkable buildings and an equally unremarkable courtyard.

Note that above I mentioned our "second" room. The first, which we stayed in for a few nights, was fine but too hot. We kept waking up at 3 in the morning, sweating. Turns out there are several issues: 1) the A/C and climate control device in the rooms is not intuitive; so be sure to ask the staff to show you how it works. 2) periodically the system itself (we were told) can go on the fritz. The staff was very helpful and restarted it for us, which apparently involved going up onto the roof! 3) certain rooms simply have poor A/C; we stayed in 201 first, and the A/C simply did not work there. But the staff very gladly moved us to 202, where the A/C blew cold as it ought to have. We are not "A/C" people generally, but for some reason the place gets quite hot without it. The windows don't open, of course, as is the case in many hotels. Anyway, we moved to another room and it all worked fine. The staff was so ready to accommodate, I wish we'd mentioned it the first night we experienced the issue (which was not, incidentally, the first night of our stay) instead of waiting to see if we were just imagining things the first night.

In sum: very friendly staff, very nice place to stay over all, especially if you get a good rate on the rooms. It felt boutique-y, but not uncomfortably so. Note that breakfast on the terrace wraps up by 11 am.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitruve78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights very recently and returned a fully satisfied customer. Hotel has the best location for any activity and also restaurants. Front desk staff were very helpful and cheerful. Rooms were immaculate and bathroom looked the same as in their website. However, housekeeping had spilt some cleaning fluid in the carpet so there was a wet patch. Only minor complaint is the breakfast - for the price its not worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

This is nice and pleasant hotel. Centrally located within the old town of Quebec City - Chateau Frontenac is just across the street. The hotel is on a quiet street with no traffic. The room is spacious and nicely decorated, and I particularly like the modern bathroom which is incredibly clean. Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel. Front desk staff is extremely helpful. When we asked for recommendations on restaurant, he offered to make reservation for us. He recommended a french restaurant, Louis Hebert, a must try! Best meal we had in Quebec City! Do book the hotel through their on-line system rather than by phone as the on-line rate is cheaper.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

My husband, my brother, sister-in-law and I traveled to Quebec City last weekend (May 15th – May 19th) and stayed at Sainte-Anne Hotel in the old city. Our room was a standard room which was fine for us. The room consisted of a queen size bed, wardrobe with TV, desk and bathroom with a shower. Cozy quarters and our room faced an exterior wall into a tiny central courtyard. My brother decided to upgrade to a suite for an extra $30 per day which provided more floor space, an easy chair and a bathtub in the bathroom. Worth it if you spend a little more time in your room. All in all the hotel was nicely appointed and the beds were extremely comfortable which is important to us. Shower was also excellent with plenty of pressure and hot water. Service was good and the front desk and cleaning staff were very accommodating with any of our requests.

Most of our days were spent exploring the city. Even though this particular weekend was cold and windy we managed to bundle up and enjoy ourselves immensely. We toured the Citadel, enjoyed the foods from the Marche near the waterfront, savoured many a bottle of wine at various locations within the city and from the local epiciers, explored the Parliament buildings even though they were closed to the public, took the ferry across to Levis, walked down a huge staircase from Parc des Champs-de-Bataille to Rue du Petit Champlain, watched the firing of canons just outside the Citadel on Victoria Day, enjoyed many a fine meal at some of the fine restaurants and just wandered around absorbing the many sights and sounds.

Our holiday weekend was extremely pleasurable and we look forward to visiting Quebec City again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monsoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 100 in Quebec City
1,646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Morgan
Hotel Manoir Morgan
#66 of 100 in Quebec City
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 100 in Quebec City
1,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
#46 of 100 in Quebec City
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte-Anne

Address: 32, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £71 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sainte-Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Quebec, the building that houses the Hotel Sainte-Anne is a living witness of the history of downtown Québec. Before becoming a hotel, the place was a center of festivity where politicians met after long hours spent in the National Assembly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sainte-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sainte-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing