We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, very good breakfast, great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice room, very good breakfast, great stay.”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We (wife, son and I) stayed here last week of June for two nights. Chose this hotel because of the location and high rating here on TA. Ended up being a great choice.

We stayed in the deluxe attic room (#31). It has two beds (one a murphy bed so it can be put away to allow for more room) which were quite comfortable. Room ammmenities were fine. Internet access was good (and secure) as well. Small fridge in closet was nice to chill water for next days sightseeing. Roof line is low near the window, so watch your head!

Bathroom was nice. Bath had rain shower head and massaging body sprays. Water temperature was fine. Sink was one of the bowl mounted ones so there wasn't much counterspace for toiletries. The shower door leaked a bit onto the floor, so be careful leaving items on floor when showering. It also appeared that the management was in the process of making a few very minor repairs to the bath trim (nothing disruptive), so hopefully they will have that completed soon.

Yes, the hotel has stairs, so if you have trouble walking up three flights of stairs you may want to ensure you get a room on a lower floor. Otherwise it's no problem. We carried our bags up easily, although we were breathing a bit hard when we got to the room.

Breakfast was great! We were able to order right off the menu and was included in our room rate. I had french toast and bread pudding while wife and son had the Scramble. Plenty of choices and the coffee was really good!

Location is very good. Right across from the Chateau Frontenac so it's easy to get anywhere in Upper (old) Quebec. There is a bit of foot traffic in front of the hotel but we never heard anything from third (fourth) floor.

In summary, a great stay. We would recommend for anyone visiting Quebec City.

Room Tip: Floors are counted in European fashion - ground floor is 0.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieGirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerofAuberge, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Bonjour LizzieGirl12,

Merci for having taking your time to send us a so so nice and very detailed review of our hotel, it is very much appreciated. It is also a pleasure for us to ear that you enjoyed so much your stay and be assured that all the comments from our guest help us to improve ourself.

We will add shelves for toiletries in room 31 and since the bath and shower door are brand new some adjustments maybe missing. Alas for the bath we don’t find on the market trims that fits to joined a new bath with an 1850 brick wall so it have to be handmade and sometimes … it takes time.. finally it will be there just after the construction holidays and the elevator is planned for 2012!

Traveling or at home the first meal of the day is important and we make sure that our guests starts well their day with excellent coffee and a nice variety of breakfast offerings. Thanks for your nice comments,

Merci de votre visite and we look forward to welcome you again.

Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Owners of Auberge Place d’Armes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    284
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
168
984
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Unfortunately, we only stayed for one night. We had a small but also very cheap room, that had a fantastic bed with the most comfortable mattress. The bathroom was small but nice and equipped with lots of Aveda products :o)
The staff was very helpful in giving us directions and providing us with excellent restaurant choices. They had a big smile and lots of great tipps for us. We felt very welcomed and taken care of.

The Auberge is located right next to Chateau Frontenac in Old Quebec and in walking distance to all the major sights, shops and restaurants. The breakfast was served at the restaurant at the Auberge and had lots of yummy options. We would definitely come back to this Auberge, but for a longer stay, we would probably choose a bigger room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thilly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerofAuberge, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Bonjour Thilly13,

Merci for having chosen us for your only night in Quebec. We are happy that you appreciated our unique location. All the rooms, small and large are outfitted to our high standards. The breakfast is an important meal and we try our best to make it so as you have experienced. Our best asset is our team, devoted to our guests and their needs. They know their city and want to share it with you.

A bientôt and we look forward to welcome you again, for longer...

Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Owners of Auberge Place d’Armes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet , Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for four nights. We loved it. The location is excellent. We liked that the rooms are not your normal hotel style . They are just a little quirky and different. It is a mix of old with a touch of modern. The breakfasts were delicious . The bed was very comfortable and we slept great. It was a super trip. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerofAuberge, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Bonjour Bev013,

Merci and we really appreciate your review of Auberge Place d’Armes.

My son and I are pleased that you enjoyed the decor of our rooms as well as the breakfast. The bed in a hotel room is the most important item so our mattress are choosen very carefully in order to provide you the best quality of sleep possible. As you mentionned the location of the hotel is unique and add to the pleasure of discovering Quebec.

All of our team and us are looking foward to welcome you longer on your next trip in Quebec
Au plaisir,

Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Owners of Auberge Place d’Armes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Absolutely stunning hotel. Very olde worlde on the outside, hyper-modern decor indoors! Everything seems brand new and spotless. The restaurant is absolutely incredible, serving stunning food. The breakfasts are gorgeous. Location is perfect, right on the ramparts. I'm so pleased we discovered this place!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArchibaldTuttle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerofAuberge, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Bonjour ArchibaldTuttle_11,

Merci beaucoup for the great review of our hotel and restaurant le Pain Béni.
It will be a pleasure for us and all of our dedicated team to welcome you again, on your next stay in Quebec.

Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Owners of Auberge Place d’Armes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This place is a gem. Located right at the heart of the Upper Old Town, on Place D'Armes and looking out onto the Chateau Frontenac, you would be hard pushed to find somewhere better for the price.
The Reception team are fabulous and nothing is too much trouble - they are happy to provide you with plenty of information and insider knowledge which you won't find in the guide books. If you don't speak French it really doesn't matter a they are very happy to chat with you in English. They will even arrange for your laundry (washing as opposed to Dry Cleaning) to be done for you overnight by Yvette in their own laundry, for a very reasonable price. You drop it off before 11pm to Reception and it is back at Reception beautifully folded for you, by 7am the next morning! Now that's service!
The rooms are beautiful and appointed with everything you could wish for. You even get chocolates left on your pillow each evening. Nice touch.
The only downside is the breakfasts. For some strange reason they pile everything all onto one plate! Savoury (omlette & sautéed potatoes), toast, jam & fruit ... and the orange juice they serve is very cheap and nasty. And, they don't do buttermilk pancakes! :o(
However, I loved this Auberge and would definitely recommend it and go back again. It's excellent value and wonderfully serviced.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KvB095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerofAuberge, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Bonjour KvB095,

Merci, to have taken time to share your feedback. We are honored by such nice comments. First, we are happy that your consider our property such great value and we are really proud of your comments on our fabulous team !
We try to make little plus like chocolate on the pillows, next day laundry service, free internet and tea and coffee available all day long combined with an unique location, a unique stay for our guests
Thanks for your comments on the good quality of the food and we took good note to improving the presentation.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir bientôt

Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Owners of Auberge Place d’Armes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I spent 3 days in this hotel with my wife and we had a great time at the Place d'Armes. First, service was great! Very corteous reception, restaurant and even cleaning personnel, ready to help for any need or request. Position is central in uptown old Quebec. If you plan to spend most of the time in the area inside the walls then there is no better place for price/quality ratio. If you are planning to stroll in the shopping area of the lower Quebec, outside the walls, then you will need to use the stairs or the funicular many times.
The room was a little small but we were lucky to have a room at the corner (room 6) with 2 windows overlooking Place d'Armes and a great view of the Frontenac castle, plus the activities from the street below. The furniture was modern, a little funky, but in taste, while the room itself, with exposed stone walls and wooden beams, was classic-romantic. The mix, somehow, worked well. Bathroom was great with a comfortable shower and excellent toiletries. Breakfast was varied and excellent, so was the restaurant Pain Beni (we tried it at dinner). Will strongly recommend for couples, not so much for families with small children since there are a lot of steps and no elevator (plus the rooms are a little small).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frombaritomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerofAuberge, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Bonjour Frombaritomiami,

Merci, merci for such nice comments. Our dedicated staff makes the différence : Candida, one of the cleaning ladies, has been working with us for 8 years now and she, as the other members of our team, tries to anticipate the needs of our guests in order to make your stay a unique experience.
The rooms with stone or brick walls with the mix of hand-made designer furniture or antiques give each of them their unicity. As you experienced, even some bathrooms have those stone walls, thank to a very special coating that allows showers with brick walls.
We are very proud of our restaurant, the Pain Beni,which we consider a delicious ! You can start the day with a good cooked to order breakfast and enjoy a nice dinner indoor or outdoor on the patio.
We are plannig the elevator for 2012. Hope that you will be able to use it in your next stay .

Au plaisir,

Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Owners of Auberge Place d’Armes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My wife and I just returned from a weekend anniversary trip to beautiful Quebec City and had a great time. I chose the Auberge Place D'Armes after a lot of research and reading of reviews and will now join in and recommend this wonderful hotel.

It's so nice to find a place that is unique, has a great location and also a friendly staff. This hotel is so different from the chain hotel experience and really added an extra dimension to our trip.

The check-in was smooth and parking was easy, only a few blocks away at a garage they will direct you to (so if you are driving stop in at the front desk first and get directions). Our room had exposed stone, a jet tub and a ton of character. It was spotlessly clean and had a nice mounted flat screen tv too. We were very pleased with it.

The hotel has a great location right in the middle of everything. The Chateau Frontenac was right across the street as was the funicular or stairs to the lower city. Many restaurants were nearby as well as a side street with artists showing their works. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.

Breakfast was included each morning. It was tasty, had good coffee, and there was a nice number of different selections.

Overall, if we are back in Quebec City we will return to this hotel. The city was a little slice of Europe in North America and this was a great homebase to explore it from.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nytraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerofAuberge, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Bonjour Nytraveler17,
Merci beaucoup for such a nice review of our hotel. An anniversary trip is special and we keep a record of it. We are proud to have been a part of your anniversary.
The hotel, as you mentioned, has a lot of character since it is 2 old buildings joined together. In our renovations we did our best to save the old walls , while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay. Our location in the middle of everything, as you wrote, is unique and each of our guest can walk everywhere to explore our beautiful city.
I can also add that our team is always there for you.
Merci encore and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!

Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Owners of Auberge Place d’Armes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing