We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Auberge Place D'Armes is well located on a traffic free street in a tourist area and convenient for all main attractions in Vieux Quebec. Tourist area should not be seen as a negative in this instance because although busy, fronting on to a high class artisan market, it is not in the least rowdy. Far from it because this part of Quebec is a delight with high-class public buildings jostling with attractive restaurants, hotels and retail outlets. Which when combined with the wonderful Chateau Frontenac, the esplanade and beautiful public spaces seems to inspire a civilised atmosphere.
The interior of Auberge Place D'Armes does not disappoint either, the property has been imaginatively converted from historic buildings to provide comfortable and stylish accommodation.
Our bedroom, which faced onto the superb Anglican church, was reminiscent of a small, smart Parisian boutique hotel with exposed brickwork and ambiance lighting. Our only slight complaint was a lack of wardrobe space.
Service in the hotel was generally convivial, efficient and helpful.
Perhaps the piece de resistance was the hotel restaurant (Le Pain Beni) which provided magnificent breakfasts (included in the room price) and was well used by hotel guests and non-residents alike. The cool modern decor here was very pleasing and in keeping with the high design quality achieved throughout.
Value in Quebec generally is difficult to judge given the imposition of high levels of tax and a tipping protocol which appears to expect that 15% should be added to all service.
But all in all I believe that we achieved value for money given the excellent standard of accommodation and service at Auberge Place D'Armes.
We stayed for one week and I would thoroughly recommend this establishment particularly for discerning travelers who appreciate style and seek an upscale alternative to the bland predictability of many of the chains.
I have to say also how impressed I was with Quebec too , for not only is it one of the most beautiful and interesting provincial cities which I have visited but an immense sense of civic pride ensures that the external environment is, by and large, immaculately maintained.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithfrombucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Bonjour Keithfrombucks
Merci, to have taken time to share your feed backs. We are honored by such nice comments on our city and Hotel. First, we are happy that your consider our property such great value We try to make little plus like chocolate on the pillows, next day laundry service, free internet and tea and coffee available all day long combined with an unique location, to provide an unique stay for our guests
Thanks for your comments we are very proud of our restaurant, Le Pain Beni. I agree it is usual to find a so nice and good restaurant in an hotel of only 21 rooms. It is a part of our charm !
Merci encore et au plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour !
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

The rooms were interestingly decorated and very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. I would definitely stay here again. We had a third floor attic room and, though charming, the sloped roof did not allow head room on both sides of the bed. Our friends had a room on the second floor and had much more space.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RunnerXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Bonjour RunnerXC
Merci for taking the time to send in your comments.
The hotel has a lot of character since it is 2 old buildings joined together. In our renovations we did our best to save the old walls , while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay and each room is unique in size and decor. Should you wish to have a larger room at your next stay, just inquire at our front desk team ; we have different categories of rooms from european size to oversize.
We and our team put all our heart to make Auberge Place d’Armes a home away from home.
Au plaisir de vous revoir
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We spent five days here, and just loved it. Our room was clean, well furnished, and had a fabulous bath. Our windows opened out over a pedestrian walk lined with artists doing sketches and portraits, lots of fun to watch. The Auberge is close to the river, the boardwalk by the Chauteau Frontenac, several parks, restaurants, and to the stairways or funicular down to the old city with its many funky shops and historic sites.

I had read several reviews about the breakfasts here (which are included in the room price) that weren't so favorable, so I was very pleasantly surprised when I found there to be enough choices so that I never repeated a meal in the five days we stayed there, and each selection was tasty and filling enough so that we could get away with eating a very light lunch. And the coffee cups were bottomless!

There is a computer with internet access freely available for guest use, and several newspapers (French and English) are avaiable for guests each morning.

The only negative was checking in and parking, but as mentioned by ohers here, the friendly front desk staff directed us to the car park and then got us settled in rather quickly.

In a city that's pretty expensive, I found this place to be a great value. And so romantic!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackCrow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Bonjour BlackCrow3,
The entire team of the Auberge Place d’Armes would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Your comments are a source of motivation for us and are happy that your consider our property such great value.
With his unique location it is so easy, as you mentioned it, to walk all over the city and discover all the charms of Quebec.
We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast. In order to please our guests we offer more than 8 different warm or cold delicious choices.
Au plaisir de vous revoir bientôt
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Within walking distance of many of Quebec's sites, the central location of this Auberege in the Old City makes it a great base for exploring the area. Rooms were small by American standards but typical for European hotels. The rooms were clean and relatively quiet (even though many face the pedestrian way out front).

Breakfast at the adjoining restaurant was fine. Although there are many who seem to rant about how great the breakfast is, my wife and I found it adequate but nothing to right home about. With 8-9 different choices, it certainly beats a continental breakfast but I wouldn't set my sights on being dazzled by the food placed before you.

The hotel was quite accommodating during the recent Tropical Storm Irene which caused damage to their signs out front such that they were "clanking" about in the high winds. A quick room change request was granted so that night so we didn't have to deal with the noise from the dangling signs being tossed in the wind.

Do note that the rates quoted on the hotel website do NOT include the cost of taxes which add an additional 11-12% to the total bill.

While there are numerous lodging choices in Quebec, this Augberge will make you feel like you are in the midst of the action while providing enough in the way of amenities to make your stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonPetvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Bonjour Boston Petvet,
With our unique location, it is so easy, as you mentioned, to walk all over the city and discover all the charms of Quebec city. Our location on the only pedestrian street in Upper Town is unique!
All our staff is dedicated to provide a superior customer experience and we always use the feedback we receive to improve and assure we will provide a better experience in the future.
Thanks for taking your time and comment on your stay and hope we will have the pleasure to have you in again next time you will be visiting our beautiful city.
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We, a family of four with two teenagers, just returned from Auberge Place d'Armes August 2011 and loved the place. The location is fabulous- you are a stones throw from the Chateau Frontenac, the funicular, and lower town. There are scores of restaurants and shops within two blocks. The auberge itself is on a lovely pedestrian street . Two doors down is the tourist information office. Directly out the front door are street performers and artisans, yet the hotel itself ( and the rooms) are quiet. Breakfast is included- 8 options to satisfy all tastes from eggs/bacon to oatmeal, cereals, and french toast. Portions are fine. We stayed in room #9 on the top floor. No elevator. The room is a converted attic- yet spacious and well appointed. Two king size beds. Two large closets. Full bathroom (photo not shown on hotel's website) is fabulous. Rain shower, tiled floor, soaking jet tub, modern sink, and window. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: room 9 has a kitchenette ( fridge, microwave, dishwasher, plates/utensils, but no cooktop). no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slick10mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Bonjour Slick10mc,
Thanks alot for the awesome review, glad you and your family enjoyed your stay in our marvelous City.
Until 3 years ago that part of the hotel was a wax museum and the challenge was to convert it in rooms with character and modern amenities !
Having a restaurant in house allows us to offer such a variety on breakfast and change them from time to time.
I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you and your family again on your next stay in Quebec.
Au plaisir de vous revoir
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Lured by the thought of staying right in the heart of Quebec City, my husband and I chose this hotel for our trip. They had a great internet special when staying 3 nights or more and we quickly booked the loft. Even though it was the 2 of us, we wanted to have the kitchen in the room and a bit more space so we could make it a relaxing vacation (especially if the weather didn't cooperate).

A week or so later, the hotel emailed us to ask if we would be willing to change rooms and give the loft to a family. Even though disappointed, we agreed. (we specifically were looking for a place with a kitchen). So, instead we stayed in a Junior Suite.

The pictures on their website and on TripAdvisor do not lie. It is that nice! We loved our room and my husband and I quickly agreed it was the most beautiful and unique room we had ever stayed in.

The room has the historical feel that is should being housed in such an old building and overlooking the Chateau Frontenac. (We had a perfect view from our room). The interior designer is obviously good at what he/she does. The exposed brick walls and the modern design of the bathroom and furniture went beautifully together. It was spotlessly clean.

The bathroom had a big glass picture window that looked out into the room. There was a huge soaking jacuzzi tub right below the glass window. It was very cool. The jets on the tub were smaller than what usual American jet tubs have, and my husband and I really liked that a lot. Just know the pictures are true and this room is amazing.

The bed was also one of the most comfortable I have slept in. Cushy, yet supportive, lush and comfy.

Couple of things to note: Breakfast was included in the rate. It was good, but a standard selection.

Parking is tricky! They do not have parking and we had to park in a parking garage down the street. I can't remember exactly how much we paid but it was somewhere around $12 per day.

As described, the location is great and within walking distance of everything you would want to see in Old Quebec.

The staff is incredibly nice and speak both English and French.

The hotel has free WiFi!

GREAT place to stay in Quebec!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessika14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Bonjour Jessika14

My son and I are personally touched by your review since Auberge Place d’Armes is family owned and that the décor was created by us…. The hotel has a lot of character and in our rénovations we did our best to save the old walls , while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay and each room is unique in size and décor.
The Auberge is 2 old buildings joined together one part the museum aisle, in which you where, the foundations are from 1640 and the stone walls 1730. Since 1920 it was a wax museum until we transformed it in 2008. The décor is bleu and white because the walls are from the french period and all the furniture is hand-made by a local cabinetmaker and on the walls original paintings from local artists.

The other building, from 1852 was the first home of the founder of Holt Renfrew and was erected, in Scotland bricks that came to Quebec as ballast in ships. This English period is reflected in the décor : red and white.

Your comments are a source of motivation for us and we will past your good words to all of our Team and ss you mentionned the location of the hotel is unique and add to the pleasure of discovering Quebec.
Au plaisir de vous revoir

Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My wife and I were very pleased with our deluxe double room. It was room 22 (on the third floor to an American, the ground floor is zero) and had 2 windows looking out at Rue Ste-Anne, the Place d'Armes park and the Chateau Frontenac. The room had everything we needed and we enjoyed the decorating which mixed modern fixtures and woodwork with very old stone and brick walls. The bed was queen sized and it was new and comfortable. The Auberge seemed full but we rarely heard another guest. Be advised that there a lot of stairs and we did not see an elevator. The staff will assist with your bags. We can't say enough good things about the staff. We had airline delay/cancellation issues which I called ahead to inform them of. They first arranged a late ckeck-in (after midnight) for us and then when our flight finally cancelled they made sure we could check-in early the next day. They have a 48hr cancellation policy so they did not refund the missed night. (I didn't ask them to) Instead, out of the blue they said that they felt badly about our missing a night and offered my wife and I a free 5 course dinner at their restaurant. It was a very nice gesture and we enjoyed the meal immensely. I'll review their restaurant, Le Pain Beni separately, but we had two breakfasts(included with the room), a lunch and the 5 course dinner there and were very happy with each. Finally, the location can't be beat. The Funiculare is two minutes from the door so you can get to anyplace inside the walls of Upper town or anywhere in Lower Town within 15 min on foot. There's also a taxi stand 30 sec from the front door and several bus stops within a couple blocks. I have also stayed at the Frontenac on business but if we're ever back in town we will not stay anywhere but the Auberge Place d'Armes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Bonjour Howtle

Merci for a such a great review of our Auberge. All our team is trilled and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast and the dinner at the Pain Béni, our restaurant. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again!

Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,702 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £81 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing