We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Bells, TX
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small but OK”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Room was a bit small. The chair is too small to use the work desk. It's difficult to get to the keyboard. Narrow stairway is a bit difficult to maneuver.

Having said that, the location is great. Crashed Ice practicing was going on while I was there. I could see the start of the course from my room as well as the Chateau. Walking to shopping and restaurants is close. The bath is modern and excellent. The shower has many nozzles. :).

Didn't get to try breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Bonjour JohnB
Merci and we really appreciate your feedback .With our unique location on the only pedestrian street in Upper Town it is so easy to walk all over the city and discover all the charms of Quebec city.
Should you wish to have a larger room at your next stay, just inquire at our front desk team ; we have different categories of rooms from european size to oversize as the loft overlooking the Château.
We also well noted your suggestion for the desk and the correction will be made

And if you ever come back to Quebec, il nous sera un plaisir de vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes and hope that you will have time to enjoy our gourmet breakfast.
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    298
    49
    12
    6
See reviews for
189
1,026
63
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We spent five nights recently at Auberge Place D'Armes. This hotel is simply delightful, from the excellent location, balanced ambiance, well decorated rooms, friendly staff and great food to the reasonable price. This is a perfect base to be in Quebec City and particularly the old city within the walls. Attention to detail and dedication to perfection are the hallmarks of this small and welcoming hotel. For parking, you can pull right up in the Winter or park along the street, then park in the City Hall Parking Lot. Don't miss the breakfasts included in the room rate - they are very good. We purchased French wine, local bread and cheese and enjoyed our room several nights rather than going out for dinner. The Quebec cheeses are amazing. The local French Bread and deli quiches are to die for. The local microbrewed beers (available in delis and stores) and the French wines are great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Chateau Frontenac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Bonjour Markdonadio
Merci, to have taken time to share your feedback. We are honored by such nice comments on our city and Hotel.
First, we are happy that your consider our property such great value.
Your comments are a source of motivation for us and we will past your good words to all of our Team, maids, front desk, chef and brigade in Le Pain Béni . They work hard, in order that each of our guests will feel l’hospitalité Québécoise !
We are very happy that you felt the cosiness and charm of our rooms. The hotel has a lot of character since it is 2 old buildings joined together. In our renovations we did our best to save the old walls , while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay. As you mentioned the location of the hotel is unique and add to the pleasure of discovering Quebec.

Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour !
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The view from our charming first-floor room was of the snowy Place d'Armes and the Chateau Frontenac. Check-in was prompt, the bed comfortable, the bathroom newly renovated, and the late-night dessert in the hotel's restaurant delicious. We expected to have six great nights here. Unfortunately on our first day skiing, I fractured my knee. When I returned to the hotel on crutches, I found the climb to my floor room daunting. The receptionist called a sister establishment, reserved a suite for the night and hailed a cab to take us there. He then refunded our "non-refundable" payment without even being asked. In a time of great stress, this meant a lot. This vacation was a bust, but the next time I'm in Quebec City I will definitely stay at Auberge Place d'Armes. My only caveat would be that breakfast, included in our room rate, is served too late to take it if you're catching the ski bus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoFarAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Bonjour GoFarAway,
Merci for sharing your expérience at Auberge Place d’Armes. Our best asset is our team and I am happy that they helped you out quickly after your accident. They are caring people who loves their work , they make THE difference. Just to let you know that for an early breakfast just advice the front desk the night before and they will provide you coffee and breakfast to go !
Thanks again, hope that your knee is healed. Il sera un plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau.
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I want to move in to room # 9 at Auberge Place D'Armes. I can not imaging a better stay in Quebec city. The hotel room was great! very cozy! The hotel is perfectly located. Breakfast options are awesome. The staff was GREAT!

Golden Tip: To experience the real flavor of Quebec city, you must stay within the old city. You will thank me for telling you this. Auberge Place D'Armes in Quebec Cityighly recommended!

This is my Number 1 Favorite hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank parejapaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Bonjour Parejapaisa
Merci for your compliments about our rooms and restaurant ! Combining 1730 old walls, modern amenities, hand made designer furniture and antiques give each of our rooms their unicity and soul!
Our team work hard to provide a unique stay for each of our guests and let them feel l’hospitalité Québécoise ! They love their work and it show’s !
Your comment give us wings ! Thank you for choosing us as your favorite hotel !
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochaine visite à Québec.
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel was very comfortable and cosy. We had a room in the attic which was perfect for two and the location was superb. The bathroom had a heated floor which we really appreciated. Went cross-country skiing in the Plaines d'Abraham which was a highlight ($20 for half day equipment rental) and in easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel had a great restaurant and breakfast is included in the room rate. Dinner was amazing, cream of carrot soup, rabbit with risotto for me and lobster parpardelle pasta for my husband, and the most delicious desserts.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoKas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Bonjour ChicagoKas,
Merci for your compliments about our rooms and bathrooms. Combining 1730 old walls, modern amenities, hand made designer furniture and antiques give each of our rooms their unicity and soul!
Our team work hard, to provide a unique stay for each of our guests and let them feel l’hospitalité Québécoise !
I will pass to the Chef and his brigade your good words about breakfast and dinner ! Just to let you know as we describe the Pain Beni as a bistronomic restaurant that works with local ingredients according to season our new menu will be available in 3 weeks !

Your comment give us wings !

Au plaisir de vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochaine visite à Québec.
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Booked the attic room but was offered an upgrade to room #7 which we took as it was bigger and brighter. Room was clean, seemed meticulously decorated down to the little details which we appreciated, had an open shower and bathroom, and bed was very comfortable. Location of the hotel is convenient and staff was very helpful!! Breakfast was good as well. Staff seemed to go out of their way for you here. Would not hesitate to stay here again :)

Room Tip: Attic room is smaller than what pictures depict and stairs are definitely steep and plenty. Keep thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Bonjour Janezies
The entire team of the Auberge Place d’Armes would like to thank you for your wonderful words and taking your time to share them with us.
Our staff is our best asset, they are caring people who loves their work , they make THE difference. We are also happy that we could give you an upgrade. When it is possible it is a pleasure for us.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour !
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Even though the temperature outside was a frosty -20C our room was cozy and warm. Arriving one week after Carnival for a 3 day weekend we thought everyone would have been tired of tourists. This was not the case at all. The hotel staff were very accommodating and at all times very cordial and professional. Eager to make our stay comfortable, in either language. I appreciated their efforts to help me along with my somewhat lame attempts at speaking French.. they seemed to enjoy the extra effort.

The hotel is situated right where the name says, Place D'Armmes and is a stone's throw from Hotel Frontenac, the tourist office, the toboggan run on the promenade and the funicular down to lower town. During busy times the street in front of the hotel is a traffic free zone and I didn't notice an elevator; if your mobility is limited some assistance up the stairs may be needed, but given that the staff is so friendly I can't see it being an issue.

Our rooms in the 16th century establishment were very nicely decorated and featured bare brick, looking very ancient, nice modern bathrooms, wi-fi, TV, fridge (empty) a comfy bed and warm bedding for cold winter nights. The larger room, #12 was on two levels and sported a fireplace sans fire.

Breakfast was a real surprise. We've travelled a fair bit and are used to lack-lustre breakfasts when they're included in the price. Not so at this hotel, there were 6 selections, all were real breakfasts and very filling!

Sadly we didn't eat supper here, the dining room, which I gather has a very good menu, was booked solid the night we wanted to eat in, so, we walked a couple of blocks to the Ancient Canadian. So, if you're in QC, and want to try dining on authentic old style French Canadian cuisine pop in there, order from the specials, it's a little less costly but just as good. I had escargot, a large helping of wild game in a meatloaf type serving, squash and beans. It was very good! For dessert, apple pie, espresso and cognac. This restaurant is the current inhabitant of a house dating from the early 16th century, the same vintage as the Auberge Place D'Armmes.

All-in-all I highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to book myself in again... I may just do that this fall for a little fall tour, wine-tasting weekend!

Room Tip: Room #11 was the smaller of the two, #12 felt like a small suite with small love seat, and chair. Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrolia-Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Bonjour Tyrolia-Joe,

Merci for taking your time to write us a review, we appreciate it. We are proud of our team since they make the difference. They know their city and want to share it with you. We are also happy that even, if you had one of the smallest room , you felt the cosiness and charm of our rooms.
The hotel, as you mentioned, has a lot of character since it is 2 old buildings joined together. In our renovations we did our best to save the old walls , while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay.
Our location in the middle of everything is unique and each of our guest can walk everywhere to explore our beautiful city.
Traveling or at home the first meal of the day is important and we make sure that our guests starts well their day with excellent coffee and a nice variety of breakfast offerings. Thanks for your nice comments.

Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing