We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel, excellent staff :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Place D'Armes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Charming hotel, excellent staff :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

My friend and I stayed in this hotel May 18-20 and we were very happy with the staff and hotel location. The hotel is very charming and clean. The rooms are beautiful. We stayed in room 20 which is junior suite. I was extremely happy with the espresso machine and coffee in the room. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diyana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    270
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
155
937
59
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were greeted by a wonderfully warm welcome (which was so nice since it was a bit chilly outside). The boutique-style hotel is adorable, and very well maintained. The location is only steps from the Chateau Frontenac, and is a prime spot for sightseeing. We loved staying here and would highly recommend it for a visit to the Old City.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fig-e-pudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was an overnight trip with my sister, just for fun. This is a perfect hotel in a perfect location. There was no parking right there, but a parking garage less than 3 blocks away. We were able to drop our bags in front of the hotel, park the car and walk back. When we got there our bags were already in the room. The young man at the front desk could not have been more helpful than he was.

We one bed and a Murphy bed in our room. The Murphy was as comfortable as any hotel bed I've slept in. The room was so clean and the hotel was very quiet so we both got a great night's sleep.

The location is wonderful, too. We were just down the hill from the Funiculaire and easy walking to many shops and restaurants. But who needs other restaurants when you can eat at this hotel? I'll review the restaurant separately, but I will say that breakfast was included in the price of the room, and this was a full, delicious breakfast ordered off the regular menu and included café au lait, my favorite! Highly recommend to anyone visiting the old part of Quebec. Charming hotel and great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadisonTravelerLEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Old Quebec at Auberge Place D'Armes. We stayed in room 3 and loved the unique character, charm, and outstanding view of the city. Staff members were always kind, helpful, and willing to make suggestions on where to go eat, visit, etc. during our stay. We highly recommend this hotel and specific room for future guests!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KyleeS974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

My wife and I returned to Old Quebec City to celebrate our 28th anniversary. I booked Auberge Place D'Armes through a Snique Away special based upon Trip Advisor reviews. It couldn't have been more perfect. Many of the complaints I saw in previous reviews shouldn't have been complaints if travelers read the hotel web site. We arrived knowing we would have to carry suitcases less than a block, park a block away and walk up stairs. All these were seen as strengths of a quaint small historic hotel.

Our greeting was warm and friendly. Staff quickly gave a run down on the hotel, breakfast and parking. Through out our stay all staff were equally as friendly and helpful.

We were just a stones throw from the river view point and the Frontenac. Dozens of great places to each and things to see, all within an easy walk.

Breakfast was a real highlight. No cheap buffet. You order from the menu with many great choices and all is included in the room rate.

The room was not oversized but quaint with much of the old structure visible. The bed comfortable and all was extra clean. We even arrived to a bottle of champagne chilling on the table. I'm not sure if this is standard or if I might have mentioned that it was our anniversary when I booked. There was no charge on the bill for it!

I would recommend Auberge Place D'Armes for a romantic get away. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sb631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
193 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed for 7 nights in mid March, we really enjoyed our stay. The small hotel is right in the middle of the action in Vieux Québec. The staff were very attentive and helpful, the room was warm and cozy, the beds were comfortable... Breakfast was very nice. Being from Massachusetts, we were not sure what to expect with our language barrier, it was a non-issue. We covered the whole city and much of the surrounding area with any questions being answered by the attentive staff. We will return again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steambush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We traveled on May 3rd to QC City to celebrate our first year anniversary and had a blast. Perhaps the most memorable part of the trip for both my wife and I when we look back on the trip will be the location of the hotel. Perfect, tucked in the corner of the Place D'Armes plaza. It's amazing how some people have not agreed that it's in the best location in Quebec City, for a fraction of the cost.
We arrived to a helpful, and happily pleasant staff member who insisted he helped carry our 90 lbs. luggage. We stayed in room number 2, the Marie Antionette room, which he explained to us the history and meaning behind it before helping us locate the parking garages. This room and room 3 have the best views out the window, we noticed the lofts upstairs have quite smaller windows. The a/c wasn't already on in the room, but it took 30 minutes with the windows open and a/c going to cool it down. Also, the hot water would fluctuate in the shower often, hardly a nuisance and not a problem for us. Other than that, neat, clean, and spacious room, which we ordered on Expedia during a 24 hour sale and saved 50 percent, a hugeee savings.

The fridge kept our drinks cold, the view kept us entertained the entire time, and the ambiance of the square was unforgettable. Something so memorable about sitting on the window seat listening to the jazz musicians below brings the whole culture of the city together.

The restaurant Pain Beni, free breakfast, how awesome...we didn't make reservations so we couldnt get in for dinner for the time we wanted, but it appeared excellent with its options for menu customization. We really have no complaints about the hotel, received what we expected and were blown away by the location. Even the sound proofing on the older-style windows was excellent and kept the noise of the street cleaning going on in the morning next to nothing. Very recommendable hotel, and if we visit again, we will check this place out first.

Room Tip: Room 1, 2 (marie antionette) and 3 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing