We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Boutique Hotel in Ideal Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Place D'Armes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Boutique Hotel in Ideal Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for six nights on a sightseeing-ski vacation to Quebec City and its environs. The hotel sits right across the square from the Chateau Frontenac and a block from the Funiculaire, which takes you down to the lower part of the old city. Inside, it's beautifully and eclectically decorated in a style that's contemporary but suited to the style of the old building it's in. Each room is unique (we stayed in three different ones over the course of our stay, as we decided to extend our trip at the last minute), and the staff is courteous and very eager to help (when we wanted to stay one additional night, the concierge offered us a discount unprompted). My only complaints about the rooms were that the beds were a little hard and the thermostats set quite low. You can raise the temperature, but they took a while to heat up, as did the water in the shower. Ordinarily, that wouldn't bother me, but in Quebec in the winter, you want to stay warm! Breakfast and service at the attached restaurant is very good, although we would have appreciated a little more protein to fortify us. All in all, a delightful experience that helped make our visit to Quebec City feel like a true getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    270
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
155
936
59
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Auberge Place D'Armes over the second weekend of Winter Carnival, February 6-9, 2014. What a gem it turned out to be! Staying in this small hotel added to the enjoyment of our trip. We've been to Carnival several times and have always stayed at the Hilton, just outside the walls of the Old City. While we always enjoyed our stays there, Auberge Place D'Armes gave us an entirely different experience. The accommodations were charming and, equally as important, comfortable. The staff could not have been more accommodating. The hotel's restaurant, Le Pain Beni, was amazing. Breakfast each morning, which is included with the room, was always good and the morning menu varied enough that you didn't have to have the same thing everyday. However, it is their dinner menu that won us over. The food is superb, so much so that we ate there two nights, something we don't usually do. The parpadelle with chicken and vegetables was the best pasta dish I've had in some time. Appetizers of vodka-infused scallops and duck prosciutto were, likewise, excellent--something that we haven't seen on menus in North Carolina. Be sure to order the chef's selection for dessert--even if you share it with your dinner companion. Even non-dessert eaters like us thought they were divine! We give both the Auberge and the restaurant resounding recommendations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandJ1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

As soon as we walked in the room we knew this was the perfect place for our vacation. It was exactly the comfy, tucked-away getaway we wanted (attic room). Loved the decor, the futon and table, the blankets...We actually took photos of the bathroom because we want to use the ideas in our own renovation!

Location could not have been more perfect. Ped-only street, just across from the city walls and gorgeous views, and walkable to the Carnaval on the Plains of Abraham. The staff were very friendly, even allowing us to check in early because of our flight. Breakfast was accommodating and filling every day.

Completely value for the money and just ideal for spending time at Carnaval and in Quebec City in general. Couldn't recommend it more. (must love stairs:)

Room Tip: Attic room was away from all the guests (although up a lot of stairs) and had a great little window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Very convenient location in the old city, steps from everything. Staff very friendly and helpful with a good notion of hospitality. The dining room offers creative dinners with menu flexibility. Wait staff are passionate about their profession and like to promote local Quebec produce when appropriate. Wonderful breakfast with wide menu selection and complimentary for hotel guests.
The rooms are a charming mix of old architecture and modern appointments, very comfortable and thoughtful details everywhere.
Some noise from the guests above walking about the floor, must have been wearing jack boots but hardly the hotels fault.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daker D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Loved our stay in the cozy and charming attic room. Perfect location for exploring Quebec City's different neighborhoods. Visitor center is less than a block away, as is the Musee du Fort. Very helpful staff. A cool mix of old Quebec and modern decor. Looked forward to returning to our romantic and comfortable room every night of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Located in the heart of Old Quebec. Nice breakfast. Easy walk to everything downtown. Comfortable rooms with charm. Informative staff happy to advise on what the "locals" prefer. Dinner at home if you wish.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natureoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Bed comfy, clean, friendly and free upgrade. Breakfast included and yummy.friends come here every year for carnival, won't be disappointed. Parking around the corner, location is great. Would come again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rockcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing