We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful auberge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful auberge”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Allowing for the lac of an elevator, the hotel was very accessible. Our room was really comfortable and nicely appointed. We had a street view of Church of the Holy Trinity and a little piece of the Chateau Frontenac. The hotel is centrally located and generally very, very quiet. The staff is attentive and helpful and the food is outstanding. I really want to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    283
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
168
983
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I have really come to love the small hotels with fun and funky decor, nice staff and easy access. Place d'Armes far exceeded our expectations. This is NOT a huge hotel with cookie cutter rooms, valet service and a staff with their hand out for a tip at each corner. We were warmly greeted on a Thursday afternoon and immediately asked if we would like to see other rooms for a possible upgrade. After taking the tour we chose room 21 on the 3rd floor, with a nice view of the park. The room was really fun with a variety of lighting styles and a nice mix of old and new decor. The bed was super comfy and everything worked. It is important to note that it is a true walk-up, but this was fine as a warm-up for our couple of days of exploring the city on foot. The staff was great throughout, whether answering questions, serving breakfast or delivering dessert to our room. The included breakfast was not a typical continental buffet, but a nice selection of dishes served swiftly and nicely presented. The location of this hotel was the real treat. It is tucked away on a tiny lane right in the heart of Old Quebec. A quick walk in any direction reveals vistas, shops, restaurants and pubs, amazing architecture. Even the back alleys are intriguing in this oldest of Canadian cities. We will be back again in the summer to enjoy another season. We will stay at Auberge Place dArmes again without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

From the pictures on the website we could tell this was going to be a charming place to stay. Our room and our view exceeded our expectations. Our room felt so French and the details were amazing. From the paintings on the wall to the frame around the television... everything looked like it came straight from a magazine. The staff were so pleasant and the food was delicious. Perhaps the best part of our room was the amazing view of the Chateau de Frontenac. In the evening the snow was falling beautifully and the street lights laminated the sidewalks and the Chateau was all within view. It was a magical evening in Quebec City!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerO84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Auberge Place D'Armes. The staff was immensely accommodating, and the room (Superior Room in the Attic) was SO cozy and so much better than the impersonal rooms you get at huge chain hotels. The little things that made our stay special: heated floors in the bathroom, exposed beams, a free "library" in the hall, and one particular member of the staff, Anne, who was so kind and helpful, and directed us to each of our three dinners in Quebec, all of which were perfectly suited to our tastes. I highly recommend staying here. It is close to everything!

Room Tip: The attic rooms are so cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

What can I say about this hotel that I haven't in a previous review? It's location is, in my opinion, perfect for exploring the old part of Quebec City. It is within walking distance of the main cultural sights and a pleasant evening stroll away from the Grande Allee for even more dining and shopping…. and skating in the winter.

During the winter months you can drive and park briefly in front of the hotel on the rue St.Anne but not during the summer when it is strictly a pedestrian street. To accommodate car parking arrangements are made at a parkade a block away at the city/hotel underground. It will cost in the order of $20/day.

The service at the hotel is fantastic, never a complaint. The staff are always helpful and cheerful. The accommodations are clean and tidy, and each room is unique. We like room 12, while it doesn't have a view it is quiet and charming with its wall of exposed brick.

Breakfast, which is included, was great and with a half-dozen choices there is something for everyone.

One note on accessibility, there is free wi-fi for those who need it but for anyone unable to climb stairs you may want to call and ask before booking. The hotel is in a building that dates to the 1600s and is typical for many French buildings, the ground floor is up a short but steep flight of outside steps. In the wing I've stayed there is no elevator. In my opinion I would recommend this hotel for any stay in old Quebec!

Room Tip: Rooms 12 and 15, either are great with 15 being a bit bigger with a view. 12 was quiet with no stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrolia-Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for six nights on a sightseeing-ski vacation to Quebec City and its environs. The hotel sits right across the square from the Chateau Frontenac and a block from the Funiculaire, which takes you down to the lower part of the old city. Inside, it's beautifully and eclectically decorated in a style that's contemporary but suited to the style of the old building it's in. Each room is unique (we stayed in three different ones over the course of our stay, as we decided to extend our trip at the last minute), and the staff is courteous and very eager to help (when we wanted to stay one additional night, the concierge offered us a discount unprompted). My only complaints about the rooms were that the beds were a little hard and the thermostats set quite low. You can raise the temperature, but they took a while to heat up, as did the water in the shower. Ordinarily, that wouldn't bother me, but in Quebec in the winter, you want to stay warm! Breakfast and service at the attached restaurant is very good, although we would have appreciated a little more protein to fortify us. All in all, a delightful experience that helped make our visit to Quebec City feel like a true getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Auberge Place D'Armes over the second weekend of Winter Carnival, February 6-9, 2014. What a gem it turned out to be! Staying in this small hotel added to the enjoyment of our trip. We've been to Carnival several times and have always stayed at the Hilton, just outside the walls of the Old City. While we always enjoyed our stays there, Auberge Place D'Armes gave us an entirely different experience. The accommodations were charming and, equally as important, comfortable. The staff could not have been more accommodating. The hotel's restaurant, Le Pain Beni, was amazing. Breakfast each morning, which is included with the room, was always good and the morning menu varied enough that you didn't have to have the same thing everyday. However, it is their dinner menu that won us over. The food is superb, so much so that we ate there two nights, something we don't usually do. The parpadelle with chicken and vegetables was the best pasta dish I've had in some time. Appetizers of vodka-infused scallops and duck prosciutto were, likewise, excellent--something that we haven't seen on menus in North Carolina. Be sure to order the chef's selection for dessert--even if you share it with your dinner companion. Even non-dessert eaters like us thought they were divine! We give both the Auberge and the restaurant resounding recommendations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandJ1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing