We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had a fantastic time here! We visited from June 8-9th, and we had the time of our life! We stayed in room #3, and it was perfect. We had large bright windows overlooking Chateau Frontenac. The room had exposed stone and a beautiful fireplace which was wonderful character, yet the room had all the modern amenities you could ask for (smart tv, jacuzzi tub, etc). It was in the perfect location for touring by foot, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone coming to Quebec City.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelnPictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    284
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
168
984
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have visited Quebec City before but thoroughly enjoyed this June visit. Our hotel location, right across from the beautiful Chateau Frontenac was so convenient and made our days of exploring so easy. The entire staff of the Auberge was focused on meeting our needs. We were greeted outside the hotel by a very friendly young man who took our luggage to our room. The front desk staff made check in easy and offered many useful suggestions during the entire visit. Our room was beautifully decorated with exposed brick walls reminding us of the history of the building yet included the modern anemities that made us comfortable. Our days began with a full breakfast from a menu of ten choices at the hotel restaurant, great food and
generous portions served again, by very friendly staff! We will certainly visit Quebec City again and will definitely book a room at Auberge Place d'armes!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evet999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

What can I say our stay at this warm and charming hotel was fabuleux. The staff was so very helpful and made our first visit to Quebec truly special. ( one thing we were a little worried about was our lack of speaking French. This was no problem at all at the hotel or else where in the city.)
On a side note the staff went above the call of duty and helped me find an earring I lost. Thank you to them once again.
We were in room number 1. It was decorated beautifully and was large. It was on the front of the building and I enjoyed watching the people pass by on the street. At night I didn't hear any noise from any one outside.
I can't wait for a return visit.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent accommodations and staff. Very helpful with tourists. Logistics are challenging. They only have valet parking; $23.00/day US. Hotel is located on a pedestrian only street. You need to park approx. 75 ft from hotel and someone will take your bags and park your car for you. Note there is no elevator. Breakfast from full menu is include.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1 st floor (our 2nd floor) room if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BudP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

First, it's in a prime location in the old city centre within .2 miles of at least 20 of the best rated restaurants. It's in the heart of the tourist district, if you like being in a swarm of a zillion tourists. To be fair, the old city would to difficult to visit and escape by cab (car impossible). Secondly, the staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful in every respect. The attic room is small, as should be expected, and quaint is nice, but comfort is nice, too. My wife and I both bumped our heads rather hard before finally getting used to the layout. The first morning we had no hot water at 0800, and that's a gimme when you're paying over $200 a night. Hard to put my finger on it, but I was glad it was just 2 nights.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank finder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Admittedly I left a pair of jeans and a couple of t-shirts behind BUT it took 3 calls from me and 4 hours before they claimed they had called me back (no record on my cell of a return call!!!) to tell me they did not find my black jeans but did find the 2 t shirts. Although our stay had been really good up to then (restaurant staff and other staff had been great), the wait from the front desk this afternoon was awful! I will never return to this hotel because of this. My black jeans DID NOT disappear and I certainly don't have them with me. It would seem that for $300. Per night we would have received a better response from the front desk this evening. It's a shame because our experiences in Quebec City had been awesome up to this time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mgaustin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Bonjour Mrs Austin,

We are extremely sorry of what happened to you upon your departure from the Auberge Place d’Armes. You were entitled to the best service during and after your stay, we are sorry that you did not get it. We apologize sincerely and wish it did not happen... and that the employee would have phoned you back sooner .....sometimes things go wrong !........ It definitely appears that we found your jeans and tee-shirt. They were put in a small bag and stored in the auto-locked linen closet, where we also store the heavy bags of dirty linen and towels. In moving these bags, your jeans were knocked to the floor, picked up and put in a dirty linen bag. The whole thing left for the industrial cleaner where your jeans were likely set aside (wrong color) and from there disappeared in the turmoil of this industrial operation. We apologize for your loss and the stress it brought you. We recognize our responsibility. We are a small family operation and we seek to offer the best, but sometimes something goes wrong and on that day, a cascade of unrelated incidents caused your jeans to disappear, without any wrongdoing on anybody’s part. I tried many times to reach you by phone and email, but I failed and prior to me also my GM Mrs Evelyne Cloutier.
Since unfortunately, there was no way for us to recuperate your jeans. We then decided to credit you X nights at the Auberge on your credit card (that is on our files). An amount should appear on your credit card invoice. We sincerely hope that it will alleviate the stress and the unsatisfaction we unwillingly caused you. , I am wondering, since we did not receive an acknowledgement of my mail and hers if it has reached you. Did the reimbursement for the jeans, the tee-shirt and a compensation for the trouble appeared on your credit card account? We are a small family business and again the satisfaction of our guests is our main goal and I would really appreciate hearing from you, by mail, phone or by a message here on Trip advisor.
I hope that you enjoyed our beautiful city ! Have a nice day!

Michelle Doré
Toll free number : 1800-567-2106
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is BEAUTIFUL, quaint, and is located in the absolute best location. The staff is attentive and friendly, the breakfast is good (and included!). I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We checked out the day before we left, as our flight was at 6am, and he front desk OFFERED to pack up a breakfast of fruit, yogurt, and muslix for us the next morning! When we came down to catch our taxi, there it was, waiting for us on the front desk. It's the little things that make the biggest difference.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missdanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing