We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, esp. when travelling with an infant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, esp. when travelling with an infant”
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Recently returned from Quebec City and stayed three nights at Auberge place d'armes with our infant son. Had an excellent stay...the staff was super helpful. They had place an infant crib (a pack n' play) in our room ahead of time, they helped us carry our stroller up the stairs, helped us order out for food, and the restaurant attached to the hotel was convenient, had a delicious menu and had a great, free continental breakfast for guests. We had a cheaper room, but you would never know it...the bathroom was great and the room was large enough for a queen bed and the crib. I would certainly stay here again and I recommend it highly.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MDrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    277
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
164
968
62
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

This small hotel is in the perfect position for tourists in Old Quebec. We stayed in room 9 on the top floor which was a lovely big room with some views of Chateau Frontenac which is nearby. Being on the top floor, and with no lift, the room was a bit harder on senior legs but it was worth it when you got there. The staff were very helpful and there was always someone on hand to answer questions. The co-located restaurant was excellent with friendly staff and delicious food. All staff spoke excellent English. Highly recommended and we would like to come back one day.
Diana and Steve, London, England

  • Liked — Character and Efficiency
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StevesterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

I found this hotel through a website called Easyrez. It was a real find. Well located close to the Frontenac but on a "no car traffic" street so it is relatively quiet. A junior suite, very well appointed, was a touch above $200.
The owners and staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The attached restaurant has some of the best fondue I have had.
I felt like I had found a home away from home and look forward to returning.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SFtraveler4303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

I travel solo frequently and always prefer small private inns/hotels. Auberge Place D'Armes was better in every way than what I expected. My room, #4 (couples have treats in store!) was larger than others, very comfortable and quiet. The staff is efficient and very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is excellent. The only improvement would be to the breakfast. It's okay, but it should be as special as the place itself. I liked Le' Omlette.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank sunkist1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

The location of the auberge is perfect to explore the sights of Old Quebec. Many of the major sights are within easy walking distance, as are oodles of shops, artisans & restaurants. Steps to the Chateau Frontenac, Musee du Fort & funicular.

Our 1st night was in Room 22, on the 2nd floor, overlooking the pedestrian street below. Smaller than I imagined, but nicely decorated and well kept. The shower/tub were practically right beside the queen-bed, which I thought was odd (more on that in a sec)...I guess there wasn't orginally a tub in the room (?) and it was added later. A well appointed, comfy room, albeit a little unique.

Unfortunately, the old plumbing got persistently noisy during the night, and since the tub was right beside the bed, it did interrupt our happy slumber. When I brought this to the staff's attention in the morning, we were immediately given the best suite at the auberge for our remaining 2 nights, without any hassle or even the suggestion of that happening...at no extra charge to us.
*This was amazing service! Thank you!*

Our upgrage room (Room 9) was on the 3rd floor: Quite large with cathedral ceiling and exposed wood beams, 3 windows with unobstructed views of the Chateau Frontenac across the park. 2 king-beds, big bathrm w/jacuzzi tub and sep shower. Electric fireplace, leather sofa & lounger, flat screen TV & small kitchen in-room too. A very comfortable suite.

The restaurant downstairs (Le Pain Beni) was good as well and breakfast (cont'l) is included with the price of the room.

The service, room, vibe of the auberge along with its location tempt me to rate this hotel a "5", however, it does lack any extra amenity, such as an elevator, fitness room, pool, tennis court, etc. So while it's great for what it is, it is officially rated a "3 star" accom.

Overall, we were very pleased with our 3-night stay and would recommend this auberge to couples looking for a quiet, intimate get-away at a warm, charming, small hotel in the heart of Quebec City.

  • Liked — Excellent location, decor & service
  • Disliked — Noisy pipes in Room 22
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Let me start by saying that I definitely recommend the Auberge Place D'Armes. Location was excellent, staff were friendly and very helpful both before and during our trip, the rooms were spotless and in excellent condition, and (in my view) the value for the money was spot-on. Let me elaborate:

1 - Location: The Auberge is on a small pedestrian street right off the Place D'Armes, which if you are unfamiliar with Quebec City's upper town, is the small park in front of the famous Chateau Frontenac. The location is excellent for getting to the funicular or staircase that leads to the lower town (its about 100 yards walk to both) and you could walk to any upper- or lower-town restaurant within 10 minutes. You do not need a car while exploring the upper- and lower-towns while staying at the Auberge Place D'Armes so long as you have good walking legs and don't mind the hills.

2 - Friendly and Helpful Staff: We corresponded with the hotel's staff by email prior to arriving in Quebec to ask about renting bikes, where to get a car for our trip to Ste Anne and Ile D'Orleans, and about taxi fares from CYQB. Emails were replied to within a few hours to a half-day every time, and they even did some research for us on things to do around the city so that we could plan well for our short trip. I will comment that during the weekend we were in Quebec, there were a few 400th Anniversary events which the staff did not point out in advance -- might have influenced our planning a bit. But otherwise, everyone was very gracious and helpful (even to me... the English-only speaker in our family).

3 - Accommodations: We had the opportunity to stay in rooms 7 and 4. 7 is considered their deluxe room, and 4 is a standard. In my view, the difference was minimal and I wouldn't pay the extra for room 7 (we had no choice since there was not one room available for the entire time we wanted to stay). That said, both rooms were reasonably spacious by "boutique hotel" standards, and both sported whirlpool baths, European-style showers (where the shower head is removable), in-room refrigerators, a small but ample closet, desk, flat-panel TV and a queen bed. Our first two days were hot... the A/C was quiet and effective. The rooms were spotless, and since the hotel rooms were recently renovated, everything was in tip-top shape. We were very pleased. There is one "interesting" quirk that is worth pointing out... especially for "shy" couples. The bathrooms featured some glass walls. In room 7, one wall of the shower was made of glass (which is great if you're the type that enjoys watching your spouse taking a shower). The separate sink / toilet room had a closing door, but the corner of the room was made of glass... a little "funky" in my view but not problematic for a girlfriend / boyfriend or married couple staying in the room. Room 4 was a bit less funky - the shower wall was made of glass, but there are curtains that close to make it more private (that is, of course, if the person not showering doesn't open them while the other is in the shower). Again... if this type of privacy is not of a concern to you (it was not a problem for us), then no big deal. But its something to consider when choosing rooms if you're uncomfortable with the "open" bathroom concept.

4 - Value: I felt the price was spot-on for what we got. The hotel was middle-of-the-road in terms of pricing for 3-star places we looked at. When you took into account the location, included continental breakfast, excellent condition of the rooms.... all told, I felt we got a solid deal and I would definitely stay in the Auberge Place D'Armes again.

I recommend it.... enjoy your stay!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything we didn't like
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Pilot_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We didn't know what to expect at the Auberge Place D'Armes as it was a last minute choice with little opportunity for research. But we were pleasantly surprised with its great location, as well as with our comfortable and interestingly-decorated room.

Our room overlooked a busy Quebec City pedestrian street which provided great people watching, though there was some noise later in the evening.

Quebec City is one of our favorite cities and we would definately return to this hotel.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The late evening noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JohnGuyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing