We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These folks make you feel welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We were among the first to stay in the newly renovated portion of the building, which was once the town wax museum. Our room was apparently the display for Marie Antoinette, and it is still decorated with touches of Antoinette-era French decor. More pleasantly silly than seriously artistic, it's the sort of room that's fun to stay in and fun to tell your friends about. Breakfast was pleasant, and the location can't be beat, but what makes it special is the people who run it. These are folks who really want to make your trip a success, and they'll help with reservations, touring tips or whatever you like. Having a room that faced onto the portrait-painters' alley was not at all noisy and pleasant for viewing. We were especially taken with one regular whose wheeled studio included a little crawl-space for his beloved dog. In all, the kind of hotel for visitors who want the real Citadel experience. You know who you are.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2009

I booked this online and it was the best place to stay. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the pedestrian only street and it was fun to watch all the street activity. The room was very clean and roomy. We had an 8yr old child with us and she enjoyed the trip. A full breakfast was included with each day. The location was walk to everything. Internet usage was available. I would highly reccomend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridamiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Just spent 3 nights at the Place d'armes. What a wonderful place . The staff were exceptional. Anything we needed , taken care of quickly. The rooms were well equipped and cleaned daily. The loft suite was spacious and cozy at the same time . The bathroom was glorious with a jacuzzi tub and a rain spa shower.The breakfast was included with the room. It was made to order from a small select menu but covered all our different tastes. Everything was within walking distance in the walled part of Quebec.
Cabs were never more than 5 mins away if traveling away from the old part of the city. There is a patio outside or ample room inside for dining or a quiet drink in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grouptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Stayed here during a recent convention. Location is perfect -- right behind the Chateau Frontenac, just next to the funicular down to the old town. And close to shops, restaurants, easy walk to the Centre de Congress (convention center). Rooms are super clean, bathroom with European tub/shower combo, good size, huge tub big enough for a long soak (probably plenty of room for two -- I'll find out next trip with my wife.) Good solid beds, capable reading lights, everything you need. Breakfast is included, in the No. 1 rated restaurant downstairs. Wireless Internet included. Unless you are addicted to major hotel chains, this is a great option, and I'd stay here next time for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrculter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Auberge Place D'Armes, for us, was the perfect place to stay. The staff is professional and incredibly accommodating upon check in . The inn will store your bags if your room is not ready (Our bags were held for us all day even after check out). We were lucky in that our room was ready when we checked in at 10:30 AM. Our room was comfortable and the perfect combination of modern convenience (large flat screen TV) and quaintness (classic French decor, large latched windows and exposed brick). The hotel is directly across the plaza from the Chateau Frontenac. The grand dame of the city can be seen through all windows facing the Frontenac from either the queen size bed or while sitting in the large, deep tub (especially romantic at night). Most, if not all, the major sights are a short walk from the auberge. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant, included in the room cost, was the perfect meal the morning after a traditional French meal at Cafe de la Paix down the street and around the corner. The Deluxe room was an incredibly good value ($170 CAN) especially just before high season starts. We will stay at this inn during every one of our future visits to Quebec City. Again, a great hidden gem in a fantastic sightseeing city.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callmeacabnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

My husband and I went for a night in Quebec City and stayed in this gem. It is a perfect hotel for a nice romantic holiday or a true tourist who enjoys being in the middle of the old city. We did stay in the least expensive room which is a bargin considering you don't need your car, full breakfast included, and comparision price to other hotels.
The room was very small BUT modern with a big comfortable bed, flat screen TV,frig, Ipod radio, and clean modern bathroom(shower only). Plus it is quiet room, can only hear people once in a while walking past ur room. If you stay a week I would recommend a bigger room for space but a couple of nights it truly doesn't matter since Old Quebec is at the doorsteps. So you can have an extra drink without worrying about driving. We parked our car at Chateau Frontac's parking lot.
The location is EXCELLENT!!!!! Everything is right there. A good pair of walking shoes are needed but that's a good thing. The breakfast is wonderful. You actually get a menu and get to pick ur meal which is something I rarely see. The staff are very nice and helpful.
This hotel is not for everyone. I wouldn't recoomend this hotel for someone looking for a party, those who enjoy staying in a big hotel and there is lots of stairs so not sure if hotel is handicap friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Excellent location in Vieux Quebec-within walking distance to everything. The price was reasonable and the room and service were outstanding. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the breakfast that is included with the cost of the room was wonderful - lots of choices, delicious and filling!

Thank JAOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 102 in Quebec City
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £81 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing