We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated and not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I cancelled a room at Hotel Bellevue to take a room at the Place D'Armes after reading all the good reviews. I travel a lot and often to Quebec City. I have tried several hotels in Old Quebec. This one was the worst I have stayed at. I understand that this is a historic building but there are may others in Quebec City with much better value. Our room on the third floor was poorly ventilated, not very clean, and filled with furniture I would expect to find in a garage sale. Some of the lights did not work and the person at the desk was completely unhelpful. Forget the "chest of drawers" - it was ready to fall apart and in the closet. My husband and I felt so cramped - the bedroom had a very narrow entrace way so if the closet doors were open it was impossible to pass. It appeared that the fire escape was located in an adjacent bedroom - locked, of course. The bed is under the eaves so unless you are under 4 feet tall, bring a helmet. Ditto for the reading chair. The clock radio did not work and there is no wake-up service. Breakfast was so-so. Small quantities. We got eggs with I slide of toast each. They use plastic glasses everywhere. For a place that is supposed to be historic, the renovations are definitely cheap handyman special jobs. My husband's hunting camp has nicer facilites. I wish someone would give $200.00 a night for that! Really, there are better amenities practically everywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dondedieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,303 - 1,309 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

We discovered this wonderful little inn when it was rated one of the best places to stay in North America by National Geographic Traveler magazine. It most certainly lived up to these lofty expectations!

Our room was beautifully appointed and charming with a wonderful view of Chateau Frontenac. It sits on a cobblestone street that is closed to cars plus it has double paned windows so it is extremely quiet.

The staff is exceedingly friendly from the proprietor, Michelle, to the front desk staff and the restaurant staff. When we told them it was our honeymoon (lune de miel), they sent us a nice bottle of sparkling wine. What a pleasant and tasty surprise! The restaurant is outstanding! Try the lemon poached lobster over escargot gnocchi and the beer braised wild boar over parmesan risotto!

We toured the much more expensive Chateau Frontenac and afterward were in agreement that we preferred our cozy little inn! We will most definitely return for anniversaries to come. Thank you for making our honeymoon so special!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdhaughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

My husband and I are in Quebec City for the start of a vacation. We are very pleased we found this hotel. We've traveled all over the world and must say this place is a bargain and very, very charming. If you're looking for a large, posh hotel experience, this is not for you. The Auberge Place D'Armes is historic, located right in the heart of the historic district with plenty of restaurants, shops and bistros within easy walking distance. The rooms aren't large but they are clean and very comfortable. I read someone talking about a "hodge podge." I don't know what his/her experience was but our room was charming with exposed brick, contemporary wall hangings a desk, large lounge chair flat screen TV and comfy bed. There is a water closet and in room shower. Again, though, this is a European style lodging (actually much more comfortable than most in Europe). If you want room service, contemporary furniture polished to a high gleam and so forth -- seriously -- book at Lowes or the Hilton. That isn't what historic B&Bs in urban areas are about. This is just charming and by the way the staff are friendly, helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank npdsleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very clean and the staff were very helpful. The hotel is located in the center of old Quebec. The restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank searchergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

we stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed it very very much: the location couldn't be better - right in the heart of the old city, close to everything worth seeing, although the room was on the small side and the view a brick wall, it was immaculate and very well tended. the breakfast is very good and the service by everybody is phenomenal!!
always helpful and friendly far and beyond the expected. when i admired the potatoes at breakfast, Mrs. Dorie the owner called the chef and he (charming Dave) explained to me just how to make it and they gave me a small container with the spice they're using to take home. pretty unbelievale. we went to dinner at the hotel's wonderful restaurant and loved it - great food and service under the owning outside in the rain..
oh, don't miss the ice cream parlor right next door. it belongs to the owner and her son, and the ice cream is delicious.
directions and recommendations are offered as well as reservations made for you if you only request it.
we do have to mention that the parking is a few minutes away and the luggage has to be carried from the lot to the rooms - no elevators. we managed and were offered help.
so thank you mrs. dorie, catherine, dave and all the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ריקה ה
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in August, Really nice Hotel and had a European feel to it, though the room may have been a little tight, but nothing too bad. The Room was clean. Great location in the heart of Quebec City, right on a pedestrian only street and within walking distance of many of the attractions. The Breakfast was fine, as well as the staff the only thing that could be tricky would be one the parking- you would have about a 3 minute walk to the hotel and dropping off luggage is also tricky, Also, I am not sure if there was an elevator. Would stay again on our next trip to Quebec

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pdelis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

My wife and I booked this charming little hotel on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor. Are we glad! We both agreed that it was one of the best places we've ever stayed. The staff was very friendly, and the room was great. We had the Deluxe room with the brick wall and stone bathroom (on the website -- the center and right pictures). We looked right across Rue Ste-Anne from the second floor, where we could hear singing and other music during the daytime. The hotel has an outstanding restaurant (Pain Beni), and is near a terrific gelato shop a couple of doors away. Free breakfast was included, and it was great. Not continental, but real food. Parking in the underground garage a few blocks west on Ste-Anne is a snap and actually quite inexpensive. The room itself was very clean, well air-conditioned, and had a whirlpool bathtub. Free wireless internet was an added bonus, as we had our laptop. The location is perfect for walking tours of both the upper and lower towns. When we go back, we're staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,742 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £77 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing