We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This small hotel is convenient and cozy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This small hotel is convenient and cozy.”
Reviewed 21 October 2009

When I was researching where we might spend our vacation in Quebec City, this hotel continued to come to the surface. We flew to QC and took a taxi right to the hotel. Because it was located on a pedestrian mall, there was no traffic outside our window. Located close to the funicular, tour office, grocery store and all the great historical sites made it an ideal choice. If you couldn't walk, a free bus took you, within the city, to sites that were at a greater distance. And finally, the decor of this hotel is a mix of old and new giving you a warm, fuzzy feeling. If you want to get the feeling of Europe without spending the money, go to QC.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    283
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
168
983
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MONTREAL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Our attic room was the cleanest and coziest little paradise. Great breakfast. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.
For our second honeymoon we choose Auberge Place d’Armes because of its location and recommendations from our friends who often escape to what they call their historical hideout. Unfortunately the Marie-Antoinette suite was not available and we chose a room in the attic on the basis of the pictures on the web page. We parked under City Hall, a one minute stroll from the inn. Luggage was taken up to our room the minute we checked in. We found a tastefully decorated room, and an astonishing bathroom. The ceiling has exposed 1853 hand axed beams. They told us the story about the original flooring that was recycled into ceiling boards.
There was a solid American mahogany Morris armchair with matching footrest and desk for the tired traveler. A very comfortable iron bed with a throw, nothing less than a genuine Hudson Bay blanket. Everything seemed new and tastefully put together.
The room had a very nice view on the Château Frontenac and so rare in hotels a window that opened. In addition we had a totally silent A/C and fridge. I double checked to see if it they were working. Nice radio with an I-pod stand and modern flat screen TV.
What a bathroom: a glass spa shower, red sink, heated floor. One of the walls is an original brick wall. A little historic reminder: forged iron towel and tissue paper holders.
Since we had mentioned this was our second honeymoon, we found a bottle of sparkling wine and a little box of chocolate on our arrival, a nice thought.
The free breakfast was served in the in-house restaurant and we could choose from a comprehensive menu… eggs, oatmeal, French toast with maple syrup…. We had the eggs and oatmeal and next morning the Muslix and yogurt, all with fruits and ample coffee! Tasty and filling with good service and the added dimension of classic music.
At night our romantic package included dinner at the Inn restaurant, Pain Béni. We were really pleased, from the foie gras entrée to the seared halibut and risotto . Dessert is to die for. We had read a raving review of this restaurant in the Voir magazine. We though that it was a bit exaggerated, now we know better; an incredible quality/price ratio.
The friendly staff provided us with maps, told us about the free elecric Ecolobus and gave us lots of details about the city.
Three days in heaven, we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ORANGEPEKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I cancelled a room at Hotel Bellevue to take a room at the Place D'Armes after reading all the good reviews. I travel a lot and often to Quebec City. I have tried several hotels in Old Quebec. This one was the worst I have stayed at. I understand that this is a historic building but there are may others in Quebec City with much better value. Our room on the third floor was poorly ventilated, not very clean, and filled with furniture I would expect to find in a garage sale. Some of the lights did not work and the person at the desk was completely unhelpful. Forget the "chest of drawers" - it was ready to fall apart and in the closet. My husband and I felt so cramped - the bedroom had a very narrow entrace way so if the closet doors were open it was impossible to pass. It appeared that the fire escape was located in an adjacent bedroom - locked, of course. The bed is under the eaves so unless you are under 4 feet tall, bring a helmet. Ditto for the reading chair. The clock radio did not work and there is no wake-up service. Breakfast was so-so. Small quantities. We got eggs with I slide of toast each. They use plastic glasses everywhere. For a place that is supposed to be historic, the renovations are definitely cheap handyman special jobs. My husband's hunting camp has nicer facilites. I wish someone would give $200.00 a night for that! Really, there are better amenities practically everywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dondedieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We discovered this wonderful little inn when it was rated one of the best places to stay in North America by National Geographic Traveler magazine. It most certainly lived up to these lofty expectations!

Our room was beautifully appointed and charming with a wonderful view of Chateau Frontenac. It sits on a cobblestone street that is closed to cars plus it has double paned windows so it is extremely quiet.

The staff is exceedingly friendly from the proprietor, Michelle, to the front desk staff and the restaurant staff. When we told them it was our honeymoon (lune de miel), they sent us a nice bottle of sparkling wine. What a pleasant and tasty surprise! The restaurant is outstanding! Try the lemon poached lobster over escargot gnocchi and the beer braised wild boar over parmesan risotto!

We toured the much more expensive Chateau Frontenac and afterward were in agreement that we preferred our cozy little inn! We will most definitely return for anniversaries to come. Thank you for making our honeymoon so special!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdhaughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

My husband and I are in Quebec City for the start of a vacation. We are very pleased we found this hotel. We've traveled all over the world and must say this place is a bargain and very, very charming. If you're looking for a large, posh hotel experience, this is not for you. The Auberge Place D'Armes is historic, located right in the heart of the historic district with plenty of restaurants, shops and bistros within easy walking distance. The rooms aren't large but they are clean and very comfortable. I read someone talking about a "hodge podge." I don't know what his/her experience was but our room was charming with exposed brick, contemporary wall hangings a desk, large lounge chair flat screen TV and comfy bed. There is a water closet and in room shower. Again, though, this is a European style lodging (actually much more comfortable than most in Europe). If you want room service, contemporary furniture polished to a high gleam and so forth -- seriously -- book at Lowes or the Hilton. That isn't what historic B&Bs in urban areas are about. This is just charming and by the way the staff are friendly, helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank npdsleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very clean and the staff were very helpful. The hotel is located in the center of old Quebec. The restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank searchergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

we stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed it very very much: the location couldn't be better - right in the heart of the old city, close to everything worth seeing, although the room was on the small side and the view a brick wall, it was immaculate and very well tended. the breakfast is very good and the service by everybody is phenomenal!!
always helpful and friendly far and beyond the expected. when i admired the potatoes at breakfast, Mrs. Dorie the owner called the chef and he (charming Dave) explained to me just how to make it and they gave me a small container with the spice they're using to take home. pretty unbelievale. we went to dinner at the hotel's wonderful restaurant and loved it - great food and service under the owning outside in the rain..
oh, don't miss the ice cream parlor right next door. it belongs to the owner and her son, and the ice cream is delicious.
directions and recommendations are offered as well as reservations made for you if you only request it.
we do have to mention that the parking is a few minutes away and the luggage has to be carried from the lot to the rooms - no elevators. we managed and were offered help.
so thank you mrs. dorie, catherine, dave and all the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ריקה ה
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing