We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed at Auberge Place d'Armes for 3 nights in August and all I can say is we made the right choice! The inn is right across a small park area from the Chateau Frontenac, has beautifully appointed, comfortable rooms, and is about half the cost. There is nothing in the old city that was not within a few minutes walk from the inn! A delicious, full breakfast is included in the price and is served at Le Pain Beni, right at the hotel. We also had dinner at le Pain Beni and were not disappointed! We were lucky to be given a room with a wonderful view of the Chateau. It looked down upon the small park and the pedestrian street full of vendors. Noise was not a problem. We went to Tadoussac and Isle D'Orleans after visiting Quebec then came back and stayed for 2 more nights at another inn. Wrong decision! Though it was very nice, we were so sorry we didn't get to stay 2 more nights in "our room" at Auberge Place d'Armes. If you go, request the room with the Chateau view and enjoy it, as we did.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    275
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
164
965
62
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights while touring east Canada - one of the best places we stayed!! The location is perfect, right in the middle of it all, forget about the car (the hotel is located on a pedestrian only street, so park up and get the valet parking - easy!) you can walk everywhere!! Our attic room was cosy and romantic. Breakfast with the windows open and the sun shinning in was fab!! Great choice and taste!!
Quebec city was fantastic!! a must for east Canada!!!
J + M

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JluvM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This Auberge could not have been more perfect - I have travelled quite a lot around the world on business and pleasure and stayed in a wide range of places, and this one would be on the top of my list. We had three rooms among us and each of us was extremely pleased - they were all extremely comfortable, impeccably clean, and charming. They are more attractive than they may look on the website pictures. I am a linens person and found the bath and bed linens crisp, clean, and altogether satisfactory. The hotel is surprisingly quiet given its central location, although the pedestrian zone immediately in front helps enormously. You can hear street music but although I complain about noise at the drop of a hat I enjoyed this and it was very subdued with the windows closed (like a very quiet background radio). The service was fantastic - no other word. To a person the staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant is excellent - breakfast (included in the rate) very ample and tasty, dinner is superb (the black cod and parsley gnocchi to die for). All in all the auberge is incredibly good value and will be my place to stay and eat in all future trips to Quebec City.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stop in Quebec City very often but this was our first stay a Auberge Place d' Armes. We were very satisfied for the location, cleanliness and the hospitality of the owner and all the staff. Nous y retourneront certainement. Bravo et merci.
Le Resto Pain Beni at thie Inn is also a place to eat well in Quebec City

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloi_Duguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed here for 2 days and loved everything about this hotel: We booked a superior room and got one with a terrific view of Chateau Frontenac, very beautiful when illuminated at night. The room was spacious and clean, we liked the romantic furniture. There were no noise problems and we slept wonderfully in the comfy bed. The bathroom was extraordinary, the old wall of the building was integrated in the shower, which gave the room a very special old-modern look.

Front staff was very helpful, valet parking is a good choice here because of the crowded city and the pedestrian zone, where the hotel is located. Breakfast comes with a menu to choose from - there are options for egg lovers and for those who like muesli and yoghurt. You even get your favorite coffee or latte.

We recommend this hotel to anyone and will come back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schlubbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2010

This hotel is smack in the middle of the old city. It is cozy. We had the penthouse with a view on Chateau Frontenac! It is an old building very well renovated. The electric fireplace was great and the heated floor in the bathroom was a treat. Staff are very courteous and when out of their way to make our stay and visit to Quebec City an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michel1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

My husband and I just returned from Quebec City and stayed at the Place d' Armes. Although we enjoyed our stay, we were surprised that there was no bellman. The person at the front desk helped us take our luggage up the two flights of stairs but we had to do it ourselves when we checked out. The room was very nice, very clean and comfortable. Great view of the busy street below...you can hear the music of the street performers.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bklyn1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerofAuberge, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 22 August 2010
Hi bklyn,
Thank you for coming to Auberge Place d’Armes and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We do have somebody 24 hrs a day at the front desk who is ready to help you out with your luggage. I am sorry that you did not ask the desk to get your luggage down. A little card in your room tried to tell you that, but maybe it was too small! Following your comment, we are now making sure that as guests come in, they are duly informed by the desk person that luggage service is available going up and coming down! Thanks again for staying with us and your review was very helpful!
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Owners of Auberge Place d’Armes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing