We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, smallish rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
northern irealnd
Level Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good location, smallish rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights and overall was very pleased overall with the accommodation. The room - a double was compact (!) for two people with luggage but very comfortable nonetheless. Similarly toilet/shower room was small and could only accommodate one person at any one time - but everything worked. These relatively small negative aspects however were counterbalanced by the excellent breakfast and the location. Opposite the Chateau Frontenac and well positioned overlooking the St Lawrence and Old Town. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the railway station - but this is up some fairly steep gradients.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pillhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    273
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
161
953
60
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

I stayed 4 nights last week while on a mini vacation. At check-in I was upgraded to a deluxe room, which was very cozy and had a great view of the Chateau Frontenac. The location of the hotel is fantastic, and the restaurant in the hotel - Le Pain Beni - was excellent. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjl131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Excellent choice for a central location in Quebec adjacent to Chateau Frontenac. Very friendly staff. Wonderful full breakfast included in attached restaurant. Quiet, modern bathroom, flat screen tv. Parking is off sight and can be a short distance away.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puffin05272000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights in October and had a great time in Quebec. The location of this hotel is perfect - right in the heart of the old town and being on a pedestrianised street means we never got any noise from outside in the room. The room was small but they have really done a good job with maximising the space available so it didn't feel cramped at all. There was also a lot of the original brickwork / beams visible in the room. Bed was comfortable - My one complaint is that the temperature of the shower tended to fluctuate quite a lot but it was a very minor inconvenience!

The people who work here were all very friendly and the price of the room included breakfast which was not a buffet but was prepared to order from about 6 or 7 choices ranging from cereal and yoghurt to a cooked breakfast.

i would receommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great place to stay right in the centre of the old town. Although we had a car with us we never took it out the car park as everything was within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

The location is in the center of the upper town across from Chateau Frontenac. Within easy walking distance to the whole city and many quaint restaurants. It was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. A wonderful breakfast was included.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annehsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Our 4 night stay was excellent. I cannot recommend the location highly enough. Also, the wonderful breakfasts were a highlight. It was wonderful to start our day in QC with a warm, delicious meal right in our hotel before exploring the city.

I would caution travelers before reserving the attic room. We knew it was on the 3rd floor (no elevator) but it was still exhausting, especially after 4 days. (And we are relatively young.) Also, the attic room looked much more cramped than the others we saw. So, I highly recommend the Auberge Place d'Armes, just skip the attic!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aem1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrickville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

My husband and I took our first trip to Quebec City in September to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversay. We are so happy that we chose Auberge Place D'Armes to stay at. There really is not much more we could add to the already glowing reviews that are on this page. The location was perfect, our room was lovely, the food at their restaurant, Pain Beni, was fantastic (don't miss the lamb ravioli!) and owner, Marc Antoine and his staff were kind and gracious.
ps. Marc Antoine: I did manage to make it down to the Vieux Port Marche for a bottle of that delicious Creme de Cassis. What a wonderful souvenir of our trip. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emorrison5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing