We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was just great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau des Tourelles
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2010

congratulations on your charming hotel. We enjoyed very much the friendly atmosphere, the excellent breakfast and the wonderful view on Quebec from the patio. Keep on doing that way.
Juergen + Marianne Molter from Germany

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikolai92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

This B&B is located right at the start of Rue St. Jean. It is a bit of a walk to the old city but worth while - many interesting shops and restaurants on the way.
William, one of the hosts, was amazing: helped with luggage, locating car parking and cooked a wicked breakfast! (my sister's words).
The view from the roof patio is wonderful with sweeping views to the West and North.
The rooms were clean. Floors (1800's structure of course) were squeaky. The main problem I had was there was a lot of road noise as the rooms faced a busy intersection. Oddly enough the firehall we saw out the window created no noise!! There is covered parking available for a small fee but the space is tight for a minivan.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimRS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The pretty, delicious and filling breakfast was a daily delight at this comfortable inn: fruits, savory omelets, buttered toast, yogurt with granola, coffee, juice. The staff are kind and friendly. St-Jean is THE street with great shops, foods, a striking cathedral, a chocolate museum. Lovely city. Ideal inn.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quebecfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Chateau des Tourelles for 4 nights and found it to be a delightful B&B. The owner Allan and William one of his staff cooked wonderful breakfasts; omelets, eggs, local home made breads, fruit, fresh squeezed juice and home made jams. William and Allan were a wealth of information and even made dinner reservations for us; if you don't speak French and sound like a native this is a godsend getting into the better restaurants. The outside of the B&B may not look like it came out of the French countryside but the public areas and bed rooms were spotless and the beds comfortable. Parking on the street is sometimes available and they do have an indoor garage available at extra cost 2 blocks away. It's about a 6 block walk to the walls of Old Town and there are a number of neighborhood restaurants within 2 blocks. By all means ask Allan or William the best places to eat and for local attractions. Would we return to this B&B again......YES.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george29938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Can't book on-line - need to call.
Three attempts to convey phone number (which I finally gave in French).
Booked 4 months ago. Got a call exactly 1 month ahead to ask where we were. When told them they have the wrong date got "Oh sorry, must have written it down wrong."
I called myself to confirm dates a week ahead they have me arriving a day earlier than booked - can't accomodate me for same room for both nights now.
Finally cancelled the incorrect booking.
Fool me once... etc
I'm sure it's a great little B & B. If you get to stay there.
Advice - ask them to read the dates back and then email them the dates as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TourMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We were extremely pleasantly surprise at the location and first look when we pulled in front of the b&b. It was all we wanted for our w-e: sincere and friendly staff, authentic and charming hotel, walking distance to the walls of the old city, cheap parking and amazing and fresh breakfast, to top it all up: a beautiful roof-top terasse with unobstructed views. ENJOY! :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We had an amazing time in Old Quebec City. The Chateau Des Tourelles was a great place and within walking distance of the old city. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were delicious large servings. When we go back, we will not stay at any other place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creewinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,865 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,702 reviews
1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 100 in Quebec City
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Tourelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Tourelles

Address: 212 Street Saint Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £74 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Tourelles 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house built in 1898, hosting 10 rooms, suites and studios in the heart of very old and very lively Saint Jean Baptiste, and 10 minutes walk from Old Quebec. Le Chateau des Tourelles is primarily a small cozy hotel, where people feel good and a little like at home. Our panoramic terrace covering the roof of the hotel will seduce you as it offers one of the most beautiful views of Quebec, the Laurentides Mountains and part of Saint Laurent So see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau des Tourelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Tourelles Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Des Tourelles Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing