We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The hotel is very well located and easy reachable.very friendly..I will go back and Recomand it to every one.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beyouna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear beyouna,

We, at Hotel 71, would like to thank you for your review of our property.

All of us are looking forward to your possible return.

À bientôt,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

Our stay at Hotel 71 was exceptional! The staff was friendly and helpful (thanks to Rafael for handling our car!) and they even upgraded our room voluntarily. The hotel is tastefully renovated from an old bank in the Basse Ville, with a great location to the old streets and Place Royale. The room was very comfortable, attractive and accomodating. And the free continental breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was extensive and delicious! Definitely a great place to stay in Quebec City.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Deborah T

All of us at Hotel 71 would like to thank you for sharing your great review of our property. We are happy that you enjoyed our services, comfort level, design and location.

We are looking forward to your possible return, soon!

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We just got back from Quebec City and stayed at the overly impressive Hotel 71. The service was outstanding, the location perfect and hotel fantastic. I can`t speak highly enough about the entire experience. Quebec City as a whole is a little piece of Europe, a must see.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear David b,

We wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review of our property.

Our entire staff is very happy to know that you appreciated our services, location and overall hotel experience.

To the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel was exceptional with a staff who was there to help us every step of the way.

We only had about 2-1/2 days to enjoy the city, so we wanted to see the most we could in the time we had there. In April, is it on the cold side, like March in NYC. It is also unpredictable -- but we enjoyed the days completely. The rain that we encountered did not hurt our fun at all. The hotel is in the lower part of town, and we loved the location -- but all the walking is uphill from the hotel -- keep that in mind if you are not into walking. We are in our 50s and it was fine for us. It is also in a very, very safe area. . . not sure there is an unsafe area in Quebec City -- we certainly didn't see it -- but the location of this hotel is superb.

First of all, the staff greeted us in a friendly way and promptly! We were able to get a great room with a view of the St. Lawrence River on the fifth floor. The room was very clean, quiet, large, and the bedding was more than comfortable! Francine, the conceirge, suggested a particular set of tours to do in the couple of days we had -- and both were so terrific. One was a historical walking tour and the other was the walking food tour (really super). We did both in the same day, and enjoyed every second of the day. The next day, Francine suggested we take the local bus to the falls -- which is also a sight very much worth seeing. Since it was not a tour, we were able to take our time and walk all around at the falls -- taking the cable car too. We also had a light lunch there and it was very good. The ride was about 30-minutes by bus and $6.00 (usa) per person so it was much cheaper than the tour.

Francine suggested two restaurants to us -- each pretty close (5-min walk) to the hotel, and both were SOOOO GOOD! Best overall meal I ever had in my life in one sitting (Cafe Bistro du Cap), and the other had the best RIBS I ever had in my life and a dessert to die for (SSS Simple, Snack, Sympatique).

At the hotel, the morning breakfast, which was included, was good -- and one day in particular was exceptional. When there are more people staying at the hotel, they move the breakfast into a larger venue, and there are more food choices included. The hotel also has a good Italian restaurant attached to it -- and we had an antipasto and wine at the bar. Very pleasant! We loved the convenience of having such a good restaurant so close to our room.

We loved Quebec City as a destination - -and we would both recommend and return to this hotel location. We only mentioned Francine by name, but the entire staff including those in the restaurant, were very nice and accommodating. Everyone spoke some English (or lots of English) too. LOVED IT!

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank teachmsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear teachmsa,

All of us, at Hotel 71, were very happy to read your review following your recent stay with us.
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everybody.

Francine, our Head Clefs d’Or Concierge, is certainly adding to the overall experience; her knowledge and love of our City offers our guests some unique experiences.

We do work hard in making sure that your stay at Hotel 71 is one to remember, hoping that you will be back for another great visit.

Au plaisir,

Sébastien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hotel 71

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I liked almost everything about this charming boutique hotel. Rooms were great and the food was excellent. My only complaint was that I could hear music coming from the room next door -in fact a courteously service provided by the hotel - and it kept me awake. I don't think there was anyone in the room. Other than that annoyance, everything was lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelchick05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear travelchick05,
It was a pleasure to read your review of our property. We thank you for taking the time to share it.
We were very sorry to hear about the music comment; we are convinced that a simple call to our desk would have rectified the situation quickly.
The service is offered for the entertainment of our guests and certainly not to their discomfort.
Be assured that proper actions will be taken accordingly.
To the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon,
Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in February. Upon our arrival, we were greeted pleasantly and were given a beautiful room with a walk-in shower (rainfall shower head), high ceilings,and a view of Upper Town just above us. The bed, linens and bathrobes were very luxurious and comfortable. Our room was clean, airy and bright. The concierge offered us great tips on where to eat, and what to see in the area. The Nespresso machine in-room, and in the lobby was a nice touch, and certainly appreciated on those extremely cold days and nights! The staff is welcoming and approachable, and the hotel is located very close all attractions, especially the lovely boutiques and cafes and art galleries near Place Royale. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for comfort and style-without breaking the bank!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlitaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear CarlitaToronto,
On behalf of all of us at Hotel 71, we would like to thank you for sharing your review of our property.
We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our services, amenities as well as the room’s comfort level.
To the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for another great stay at Hotel 71,
Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed at that hotel last month and every staff member is really welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room are really comfortable. You can walk into the Old Quebec and enjoy the boutiques and restaurants.
Great place to stay. I recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monique s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear monique s,

All of us at Hôtel 71 would like to thank you for selecting our property on your recent visit to Québec City.

We appreciate your great comments and are looking forward to your potential return.

To the pleasure of welcoing you back,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,063 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,742 reviews
0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £134 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing