We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 71
Nearby Hotels
US$397
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$367
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Manoir d'Auteuil(Quebec City)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Auberge Aux Deux Lions(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Sepia(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Champlain Hotel(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$509
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,833)
Filter reviews
1,833 results
Traveller rating
1,439
324
49
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,439
324
49
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil mattohigh ceilingssurround soundrain showerthe penthouseold quebeclower townwine barnespresso machineself serveart galleriesplace royalemodern designcontinental breakfastmuseum of civilizationview of the riveryogurt
Filter
Updating list...
1,094 - 1,099 of 1,833 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The room looked nice but the things we really needed did not work! Internet was so weak we couldn't use it, we couldn't figure out how to turn off the loud music that was playing in the room when we entered (a button on the dvd remote, who would know?), the phone did not work, so we couldn't even call reception, and had to go down to the front desk to try to solve every problem. Staff were unconcerned about phone and internet not working. Valet parking left my car out front half the night, although I had asked them to park it on arrival as it was full of suitcases and I wanted it to be in a safe place. First time I have seen a big tip jar right on the breakfast buffet - staff seem eager for approval without providing the service that generates it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliebrown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear charliebrown5,

What a disappointment it was to read your review following your recent stay at Hôtel 71.
Please accept our sincere apologies for not being up to par with our services according to your comments.

Rest assure that the issues you mentioned will be addressed with the proper managers for immediate actions.

We certainly aim for complete satisfaction from our guests and judging by other travelers' comments, we deliver.

If ever Quebec City is considered for another visit, do not hesitate to contact me personally so I can make proper arrangements for your stay.

Sincerely,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed here mid-week. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is well-located in the lower part of the town, close to great restaurants and the waterfront. Our room had a great view of the St. Lawrence. The rooms are very spacious and modern. The only thing missing in the rooms is a luggage rack or two -- not sure why they don't have them, since they really protect the room. Also, there was no doorman or bellman to help with the bags. From the front of the hotel, you have to go up some pretty steep steps. If you're not up to dragging your luggage upstairs, it might be a small problem. Final note -- breakfast came with the room, but nothing to get excited about.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the St. Lawrence.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveBazakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Monsieur Bazakas,

Thank you for sharing your review of our property following your recent visit.

We appreciate your feedback and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please note that all of our rooms have a luggage rack in the closet, if ever it wasn’t there, we do apologize. As far as bellman, we are sorry that they weren’t available. Proper actions shall be taken if necessary.

Your comment about our complimentary breakfast will also be addressed.

To the pleasure of welcoming you back,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

For our 20th anniversery we got away to old Quebec city for a few days.

The location is ideally situated right in the heart of old lower Quebec. The room was spacious with quite tall ceilings (10 or 12 feet). Everything you could want was available. Our room was nicely appointed in a more modern fashion. The view was absolutely stunning. The windows in our suite overlooked the river and old Quebec.

The staff had a way of being that makes one feel like an honored guest. They are friendly, courteous, helpful and at the same time tastefully deferential.

There is a kind of a buffet breakfast that features cereal, cold cuts, boiled eggs, yogurt, and fresh fruit. The highpoint for me was the fresh baked muffins and croissants. Excellent coffee, etc.

An excellent hotel that I will definitely stay at again.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor higher up (5th floor up) the view is beautiful. Ours was a 6th floor corner suite.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribooBC1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear CaribooBC1270,

All of us at Hôtel 71 would like to thank for sharing your review of our property with everybody.

We appreciate your excellent feedback and are happy that you enjoyed all we have to offer.

As you mentioned our location, views, overall amenities and services are tough to beat!

Thank you for selecting us and to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Au plaisir,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The location is perfect, the rooms, the service are all excellent. I had a medical emergency and called the hotel before arriving and the concierge called me back within 10 minutes with the best hospital to go to on my way into the city. Impressive! The only thing that could use improvement is the breakfast - some more choices would be great. Having said that, this is a fabulous place to stay in this gorgeous city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MjM247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear MjM247,

It was a pleasure to read your review following your recent stay with us at Hotel 71.

We appreciate your feedback and we definitely will pass on your praises to our wonderful Team.

We also well noted your breakfast suggestion.

Thank you for selecting us and to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This Hotel is in the lower city right near a great number of excellent restaurants and shops. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room we were in had very high cielings- and a terrific view of the harbor. It was well furnished complete with excellent coffee maker, large HD TV. The layout and furniture of the bathroom and bedroom were very well thought out and executed except for a very dangerous extention beyond the mattress which we kept bumping into. The hotel had very eficient parkers. Breakfast was good. We could walk most of Quebec City from its location across the street from the elegand Museum of Civilization.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 299lucas67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

July 25th, 2012

Dear 299lucas67,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay at Hotel 71. We truly appreciate your feeback and will pass on your comments to all our great team.

As you've been able to experienced and enjoyed, our central location gives access to every attractation in the city, activities and restaurants located in the old-Quebec and its surroundings.

We are glad to see that you appreciated our trendy room decor, as the Hotel 71 reflects a urbain style, modern and comfy decor.

The appropriate comment regarding the extension beyond the mattress will be addressed accordingly.

To the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Quebec city.

Best regards,

Valérie Lemieux
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews