We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 5 stars...”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Five stars: Check-in (fast, big smile, efficient and an upgrade)
Five stars: Perfect room (huge, amazing view, comfortable, clean, functional)
ZERO stars: Breakfast service... supposed to start at 7AM. I showed up 5 min early to be turned around abruptly (OK, I get it, you're not ready). The close the curtain of the breakfast area (no door). By 07:30, I asked the staff at the front desk to call me a cab so i could catch my train. Cab arrived at 07:40... and the "curtain" was still closed. No breakfast. If you can't deliver, and even be rude about it, then don't advertise it! The front desk staff even seemed to feel bad about the situation, but it looks like the kitchen staff rules. Oh well...
I'll read reviews ahead of my next visit to see if this is becoming more of a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Bonjour Benoit H.,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for the situation you experienced at breakfast. As you can see from other guest previews, service is our priority and we are sorry to hear we have not met your expectations. We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again so we can redeem ourselves. Do not hesitate to contact me personally when planning your next business trip to Quebec City; I will make sure all necessary arrangements are made for an unforgettable stay.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hands down, the best and most memorable hotel I've stayed at in Canada! It sounds like a tall order, but everything about this hotel is perfect. Well-appointed, modern, comfortable rooms; nice beds (great sleep!), good views, stylish interiors, great service (people who work here are truly lovely); excellent breakfast and very pretty restaurant (serves Italian food in the evenings). Location can't be better, within walking distance of everything you may like to see. I won't be looking for another hotel when I return - there can't be better!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Bonjour from Quebec City,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Do not hesitate to contact Mr. Maxime Beauchamp (mbeauchamp@hotel71.ca), Guest Experience Manager, if you are planning to visit Quebec City on a regular basis. He would be pleased to tell you more about Club 71, our reward program.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel itself is a converted bank, which added some very cool unique features to the rooms. The room we stayed in was huge, with the entrance to the main area being the old entrance to one of the vaults. The room was very comfortable and the amenities were great, and the rainfall shower was awesome. We got room service one night and the food was excellent - from the Italian restaurant Matto attached to the hotel. We ordered cocktails and dinner, and room service brought up our drinks right away so they'd stay cold and we could drink while we waited, then ran the food up as soon as it was done. The location was great, it's just outside the Old Quebec walls in the Old Port area - there's tons of great restaurants and things to explore around the port, but be prepared if you're going to head inside the walls of Old Quebec you're in for quite an uphill hike.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Bonjour Trey P.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at Hotel 71. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and the location. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We booked a 3 night stay in a room that their website informed it could be a king size or a super king size bed.

When checked in we noticed that they put us in a queen size room and since my husband and I are both very tall, we ask at the reception if there was a mistake since we booked a king.


I mentioned the information at the website and luckily made a print of it. They said they would get back in a few minutes and we waited and waited.

After a while we went to reception to see what was going on and a supervisor called Valerie said we were mistaken and that we should keep the same room.

She tried to convince me that bed sizing in Canada was different and that was in fact a king bed. After discussing for a while she asked me to show the page where the information was...and for my surprise, they changed it and that was why it took so long.

Since I was clever enough to printscreen the page, she was speechless and gave us a new room.

Even after all this hassle, she was asking if we used anything from the prior room and we have to move all bags by ourselves. No one came up to help.

After this unpleasant check in, we had a nice stay. Room was nice, clean but short on closet space.

People say you can not change a first impression and although this hotel had all the ingredients for a nice vacation, it was ruined for us.

If we go back to Quebec we will find somewhere else to stay. Probably across the street neighbor Saint Antoine.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Cenobre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Bonjour Cenobre,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Guest comments are really important to us and they help us to strive for perfection.

We are so sorry to hear you experienced such a situation upon check-in. We always do our best to assign our guests the best available room that will meet their needs. Do not hesitate to contact me directly when planning your next trip to Quebec City – I will be pleased to upgrade you to a Superior Plus room. This is the only room category that has a guaranteed king size bed.

We hope you had a pleasant journey back home and that we will have the opportunity to host you again in a near future so we have the chance to redeem ourselves.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Cute hotel, it’s well located right in the old town. Bicycles are available for the guests free of charge. Very nice staff, always friendly , including the concierge employee. Coffee machine in the room, good shower and spacious bathroom. It’s a very good choice in Quebec.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaDeLavoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Bonjour PaulaDeLavoie,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Our entire team will be delighted to hear all your kind words in their regards! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We just spent a two day weekend at the Hotel 71 in Quebec City. The weekend was wonderful and the hotel is very well located within the old city walls and close to many good restaurants and shops. It was a great deal that we got through travel zoo and would recommend that anyone interested in staying in the old part stay here. We have stayed at the Auberge St Antoine and found that for the price Hotel 71 was a good alternative at a very competitive price. Please keep in mind that this hotel offers a complimentary continental breakfast at the a joining restaurant which was very good. With good cafe au lait served with no charge. The hotel does not have a bar but you may order a drink from the restaurant and enjoy it in the lobby or in your room. The rooms are very well appointed and the washroom is ultra-modern with very nice walk in showers. We look forward to staying here gain the next time we travel to Quebec.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSM291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Bonjour from Quebec City,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. What a pleasure to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, including the hotel location!

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Very clean and comfortable room.
Spacious and well appointed, great bathroom, even a Nespresso machine.
Located in old-Quebec, so not necessarily the best for everyone.
Can be expensive if you do not have a corporate rate with them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Bonjour Jknights,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Our rates vary depending on hotel occupancy. Our Sales Team is more than happy to negociate corporate rates for frequent business travelers. Do not hesitate to contact Mrs. Stéphanie Dufresne (sdufresne@hotel71.ca) for any further information.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Quebec City, or on your next weekend getaway.

Sincerely,
Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,792 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £145 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing