We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great service!”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We are here on a long weekend romantic getaway and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel to stay at. Our room #729 has great views of the river and is beautifully decorated and is very comfortable. Breakfast is included and was perfect! The front desk was helpful in multiple instances--recommending restaurants and things to do and thus morning finding us a dog sledding company (and a great one at that called Mi-Loup) when we couldn't find one that was open for business already. They called and made the reservation for us and we ended up having a day we will not soon forget! Location is also great! Highly recommend it. We will definitely stay here again should we visit Quebec again. Wonderful!

Room Tip: 729 has views of the river, based on pictures in lobby 720 has views of the gorgeous hotel Frontenac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Bonjour Serra B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I will make sure all members of the team know how great they were and how their great work made your stay memorable!


We look forward to welcoming you back!


Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel 71 for 2 nights in November, 2013. The rooms were excellent and updated. The staff was friendly and helpful and Francine at the front desk was a delight and set the tone for the whole experience.
The hotel is located in Old Quebec and the surrounding streets are enchanting with the Christmas Lights. The walk up to the Frontenac is not difficult and the Funicular is a couple of blocks away. This hotel provides awesome value. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor, overlooking the river and the view was well worth our request to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oakleywasagaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Bonjour from Quebec City,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. What a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Francine will be thrilled to read all your kind words!

Did you know that Quebec City is part of the top 10 most Christmassy destinations places around the world (source: CNN)? We hope to see you back at Hotel 71 next year for your pre-Christmas getaway (or even before that!)!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel for 3 nights - Nov 14 - 17. They gave us an upgrade to a superior + ? room - 2 king beds, soaking tub, etc. Beautiful. Check in was a charm, concierge helped us with restaurants, tours, taxis, etc. They were great. Continental Breakfast was unlike most hotel's offerings. Fresh artisan breads/bagels, cheese, cold cuts, fresh fruits, etc. All nicely displayed on the bar in Il matto. The bartender quickly made us real capaccino, - not quick machine made - refreshed our coffee, etc. We were very impressed - being used to larger hotels continental breakfast with containers of cereal, store bought enormous muffins, etc. The hotel itself if very chic, staff polite, and our room - fabulous. They have done a great job in remodeling loved the look. This is definitely not the Quebec of 30 yrs ago when Anglophones were personna non grata. We would return at any time, and recommend this hotel. I discussed with my daughter if/ when we returned to Quebec would you rather stay in the lower old part - Hotel 71, or in the upper old part - she said hands down in this area. Loved the ambiance, streets, and boutiques right out our door. They were putting Christmas trees/lights up all along the streets - so quaint. Tres Bien! a bientot..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Bonjour zeete,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel 71. We are so happy to hear you and your daughter enjoyed every aspects of your stay with us! The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Merci encore et à bientôt!

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

It's a small, but very comfortable hotel, located in the Old Quebec.

Great interior design, efficient service by the staff, could not ask for more.

The bed was comfortable, although I would have liked pillows with a bit more firmness.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Bonjour Jacky C.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have left a note in your guest profile that you prefer firm pillows - our Housekeeping Team will be pleased to get these for you when preparing your room on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Quebec City.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Five stars: Check-in (fast, big smile, efficient and an upgrade)
Five stars: Perfect room (huge, amazing view, comfortable, clean, functional)
ZERO stars: Breakfast service... supposed to start at 7AM. I showed up 5 min early to be turned around abruptly (OK, I get it, you're not ready). The close the curtain of the breakfast area (no door). By 07:30, I asked the staff at the front desk to call me a cab so i could catch my train. Cab arrived at 07:40... and the "curtain" was still closed. No breakfast. If you can't deliver, and even be rude about it, then don't advertise it! The front desk staff even seemed to feel bad about the situation, but it looks like the kitchen staff rules. Oh well...
I'll read reviews ahead of my next visit to see if this is becoming more of a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Bonjour Benoit H.,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for the situation you experienced at breakfast. As you can see from other guest previews, service is our priority and we are sorry to hear we have not met your expectations. We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again so we can redeem ourselves. Do not hesitate to contact me personally when planning your next business trip to Quebec City; I will make sure all necessary arrangements are made for an unforgettable stay.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hands down, the best and most memorable hotel I've stayed at in Canada! It sounds like a tall order, but everything about this hotel is perfect. Well-appointed, modern, comfortable rooms; nice beds (great sleep!), good views, stylish interiors, great service (people who work here are truly lovely); excellent breakfast and very pretty restaurant (serves Italian food in the evenings). Location can't be better, within walking distance of everything you may like to see. I won't be looking for another hotel when I return - there can't be better!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Bonjour from Quebec City,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Do not hesitate to contact Mr. Maxime Beauchamp (mbeauchamp@hotel71.ca), Guest Experience Manager, if you are planning to visit Quebec City on a regular basis. He would be pleased to tell you more about Club 71, our reward program.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel itself is a converted bank, which added some very cool unique features to the rooms. The room we stayed in was huge, with the entrance to the main area being the old entrance to one of the vaults. The room was very comfortable and the amenities were great, and the rainfall shower was awesome. We got room service one night and the food was excellent - from the Italian restaurant Matto attached to the hotel. We ordered cocktails and dinner, and room service brought up our drinks right away so they'd stay cold and we could drink while we waited, then ran the food up as soon as it was done. The location was great, it's just outside the Old Quebec walls in the Old Port area - there's tons of great restaurants and things to explore around the port, but be prepared if you're going to head inside the walls of Old Quebec you're in for quite an uphill hike.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Bonjour Trey P.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at Hotel 71. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and the location. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,864 reviews
0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 100 in Quebec City
1,193 reviews
0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £147 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing