We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel stay in Quebec City”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best hotel stay in Quebec City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have visited Quebec City many times over the years and this is a real hidden gem. The rooms were clean, stylish, and the staff was wonderful. These rooms were not your generic run of the mill hotel rooms. The whole hotel was so esthetically pleasing and accommodating. I will definitely be staying here on my next return visit to Quebec!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbypuppy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Bonjour from Québec City,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,261
    287
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
190
1,068
31
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I cannot stress the importance of a great hotel when away on business. These individuals are extremely detail oriented when it comes to the overall experience of their clients - who later become like family because of the way your taken care of. When you enter this hotel you will be greeted by some of the nicest and caring individuals: Max and Val. This hotel sets the bar extremely high due to cleanleness, food, proximity to tourist attractions, valet and gym. Dominique who handles the corporate packages is the easiest person to work with - its quick, easy and extremely well priced. I have stayed there a numerous amount of times and every single room is beautiful and peaceful. I love the personalized messages when you enter the room and I even received a christmas card signed by every employee! Once you stay here - you will never stay anywhere else...I guarantee it.

Room Tip: Every room is different! You will never hear anyone and the views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Bonjour Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71 with the TripAdvisor community. It is a real pleasure to welcome you back week after week and we will never be able to thank you enough for your privileged loyalty.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014!

Kind regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

A belated review of this delightful hotel: We stayed here only 1 night after disembarking from a Canada/New England cruise on Veendam in late June 2013. Their bellman came to the ship to bring our luggage to the hotel, which was only a short few blocks from the ship's terminal. Everything about our stay was fabulous. We ate dinner at the Il Matto restaurant in the hotel and our meal was just fabulous!! Breakfast (included with room) the next morning was also in the restaurant. (We went to Montreal by train the next day and Hotel 71 was a short taxi ride to the train station.)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisinKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Bonjour CruisinKD,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to hear you had a (short) great stay with us! We welcomed hundreds of cruisers this past season and it was a real pleasure for our bellmen to meet our guests at Gate 21 or 22 - so glad you enjoyed this complimentary service!

We hope to host you again on your next trip to Quebec City.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We are here on a long weekend romantic getaway and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel to stay at. Our room #729 has great views of the river and is beautifully decorated and is very comfortable. Breakfast is included and was perfect! The front desk was helpful in multiple instances--recommending restaurants and things to do and thus morning finding us a dog sledding company (and a great one at that called Mi-Loup) when we couldn't find one that was open for business already. They called and made the reservation for us and we ended up having a day we will not soon forget! Location is also great! Highly recommend it. We will definitely stay here again should we visit Quebec again. Wonderful!

Room Tip: 729 has views of the river, based on pictures in lobby 720 has views of the gorgeous hotel Frontenac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Bonjour Serra B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I will make sure all members of the team know how great they were and how their great work made your stay memorable!


We look forward to welcoming you back!


Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel 71 for 2 nights in November, 2013. The rooms were excellent and updated. The staff was friendly and helpful and Francine at the front desk was a delight and set the tone for the whole experience.
The hotel is located in Old Quebec and the surrounding streets are enchanting with the Christmas Lights. The walk up to the Frontenac is not difficult and the Funicular is a couple of blocks away. This hotel provides awesome value. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor, overlooking the river and the view was well worth our request to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakleywasagaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Bonjour from Quebec City,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. What a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Francine will be thrilled to read all your kind words!

Did you know that Quebec City is part of the top 10 most Christmassy destinations places around the world (source: CNN)? We hope to see you back at Hotel 71 next year for your pre-Christmas getaway (or even before that!)!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel for 3 nights - Nov 14 - 17. They gave us an upgrade to a superior + ? room - 2 king beds, soaking tub, etc. Beautiful. Check in was a charm, concierge helped us with restaurants, tours, taxis, etc. They were great. Continental Breakfast was unlike most hotel's offerings. Fresh artisan breads/bagels, cheese, cold cuts, fresh fruits, etc. All nicely displayed on the bar in Il matto. The bartender quickly made us real capaccino, - not quick machine made - refreshed our coffee, etc. We were very impressed - being used to larger hotels continental breakfast with containers of cereal, store bought enormous muffins, etc. The hotel itself if very chic, staff polite, and our room - fabulous. They have done a great job in remodeling loved the look. This is definitely not the Quebec of 30 yrs ago when Anglophones were personna non grata. We would return at any time, and recommend this hotel. I discussed with my daughter if/ when we returned to Quebec would you rather stay in the lower old part - Hotel 71, or in the upper old part - she said hands down in this area. Loved the ambiance, streets, and boutiques right out our door. They were putting Christmas trees/lights up all along the streets - so quaint. Tres Bien! a bientot..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Bonjour zeete,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel 71. We are so happy to hear you and your daughter enjoyed every aspects of your stay with us! The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Merci encore et à bientôt!

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

It's a small, but very comfortable hotel, located in the Old Quebec.

Great interior design, efficient service by the staff, could not ask for more.

The bed was comfortable, although I would have liked pillows with a bit more firmness.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Bonjour Jacky C.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have left a note in your guest profile that you prefer firm pillows - our Housekeeping Team will be pleased to get these for you when preparing your room on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Quebec City.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing