We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect! Absolument Parfait!”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What a place! People who work there are professionals and very welcoming! We had the Classic Room and it was very pretty and comfortable. The included continental breakfast was very good. The hotel location is perfect to visit the old city! There's a car parking service. It was nothing but amazing!

Super hôtel! Les gens qui y travaillent sont vraiment chaleureux et professionnels. Nous avions la chambre Classique et c'était très beau et confortable. Le déjeuner continental inclu était délicieux. Très bien situé dans le Vieux-Québec. Il y a un service de voiturier. Super expérience que nous avons vécu à cet hôtel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Directrice de l'hébergement at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Audrey,

Merci d'avoir partagé vos commentaires sur votre récent séjour à l'Hôtel 71. C'est un plaisir d'apprendre que vous avez apprécié nos installations et que chaque membre de l'équipe a su contribuer à rendre votre séjour parmi nous mémorable!

Meilleures salutations,

Nancy Lavigne
Directrice de l'hébergement
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This was our third time visiting the Hotel 71 over the last 7 years. The hotel is in as good condition as it was when we first went. Beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean and fantastic staff in every corner make this place a sure thing. Located in the heart of the lower town near great restaurants and galleries. Our room had spectacular views of the Mighty St Lawrence and up to Chateau Frontenac. Thanks again 71 for a great weekend retreat.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mannacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Bonjour from Québec City,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your last stay at Hotel 71. It is so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us once again! We would be pleased to welcome you back for the 61st edition of Quebec Winter Carnival (or even before!). Do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next reservation, it would be a pleasure to thank you for your loyalty.

Kind regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

First rate Hotel in historic Port Royale part of North America's oldest City. Hotel was very clean and Staff amazing in service with courtesy. Room 627 had a good view of the St Lawrence River. High speed internet with room wi-fi was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Bonjour Glenn,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel 71. It is a real pleasure to hear you had a great stay with us!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Once it was decided we would attend the famous Quebec Carnival (60 years old), we started looking for hotel options. We knew not to look in the Sainte-Foy area as this was too far from the main site; we looked for those closest to the old quarters. Based on what was shown on their site, we reserved with them. A very, very good choice!!
We were 3 couples and two of them opted to be in the same room with 2 beds. All the couples agreed this was a wonderful setting. The rooms were large enough and very clean. This is an older building, but it was obvious the whole had been gutted out and everything about it is new, modern and upscale.
The service staff are very pleasant, very accommodating, and did everything to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We all decided to eat at the hotel restaurant (Il Matto) and this, too, was a good decision. Italian menu that was very well presented and enjoyable - all 3 couples complimented their respective choices. Their wine selection is fine, maybe a little pricey especially if one is familiar with the product and their true retail price; then again they're in the restaurant business and not a charity case!!!
We all agreed this would be our hotel of choice next year...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Bonjour from Québec City,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to enjoyed the Carnaval activities to the fullest!

We look forward to welcoming you back next year (or maybe even before?). Do not hesitate to contact me directly to confirm your next reservation at Hotel 71 - it is always a pleasure to reward repeat guests!

Kind regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a two-day meeting at the beginning of January 2014 and we have to say that everything was perfect: the hotel, the staff, the meeting room, the services, the organization, the activities, the restaurant, the proximity to the Old Quebec. If you ever have to organize an event, you just have to get in contact with their best Sales representative (too bad we cannot give a name) we ever had to deal with and your event will be a success. Thank you very much to all the staff of the hotel 71 for your exquisite professionalism.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Bonjour Gabriela,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at Hotel 71. The whole team will be thrilled to hear all your good comments on their regards, especially Ms. Dominique Claveau (Sales Representative) who took care of all the arrangements for your group.

We look forward to welcoming you back - it would be our pleasure to host you again!

Kind regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hotel 71 is a nice property in the Quartier Champlain. One of the tallest buildings in the neighbourhood, the hotel is ideally located near the Musée des civilisations.
Great service is provided by all members of the staff from the valets, receptionists, and house attendants. Everyone seems to be there to provide you with a unique and individual service.
Rooms are spacious with a lot of commodities (Nespresso machines, comfy bathrobes) and natural and organic amenities (Pharmacipia products) which is a real nice touch for the guests.
Their Matto Italian restaurant serves great food and ambiance in the evening: you’d have to try it at least once while staying in Quebec.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yann2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Bonjour Yann,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear that all members of the team delivered an excellent service to our guests! On the other hand, I will make sure the Restaurant Manager knows about your comments on the menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Beautifully decorated yet not "flashy", I stayed one night in this very well situated establishment. I took a "basic" room and I was offered one on the seventh floor, with a view on the Saint-Lawrence.
The only aspect that I might mention as missing is a "bistro" range on the restaurant's menu. Although attractive, the menu price was over my range and I would have taken a less sophisticated meal if available.

Room Tip: ask for view on river
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jean-Luc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Bonjour Jean-Luc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at Hotel 71. We are so glad to hear you had a great stay with us. We truly hope we will have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
5,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 100 in Quebec City
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,727 reviews
0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £134 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing