We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here on a trip to Red Bull Crashed Ice in March, 2014 and had an excellent experience. Great location, HUGE rooms, and friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again next time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Bonjour Allan,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel 71 during the Red Bull Crashed Ice weekend and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

It was our second time staying with Hotel 71, located in a prime area of the old Quebec City. We chose this hotel for the proximity of the event we were attending (Redbull Crashed Ice in this case) and because we were familiar with the hotel and it's restaurant the Il Matto (which is delicious).

Overall, the stay was very pleasant and the staff was extremely accommodating. The rooms are big, spacious (tall ceilings) and the layout is modern and feels just right. We especially like the bathrooms which are well designed and cater to upscale living, with all possible amenities made readily available.

As constructive criticism, I would suggest two minor things. After a couple stays here I didn't know there were room without bathtubs, which my better-half really enjoys - we will ask for this upfront next time. Also, the drapes covering the windows do not afford a full opaque cover and if you are planning to get up later, the sunlight might be somewhat of a bother in the forenoon.

Other than that, thanks for the great stay!

Room Tip: When you call to reserve, do so directly with the hotel and not a third party and request exactly wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Bonjour from Québec City,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you had a very nice (short) stay with us.

As you mentioned in your comments, almost all of our rooms and suites are different. We always appreciate when guests take the time to give us a call to confirm their stay with us. This way we can take note of all their requests and we always do our best to accommodate them.

Do not hesitate to contact me personally when planning your next trip to Quebec City - it would be my pleasure to make sure your better half can enjoy a room /suite with a bathtub.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel was bank at one time and has a unique charm. It is located in historic Quebec just a couple blocks from the St Laurence sea way. If you like historic sights (300 to 400 years old) and great sight seeing this is the place for you. The hotel staff are very helpful and professional. There are great restaurants and boutiques within easy walking distance. An excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Bonjour Brian,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay last fall. If you plan to come back to Québec City for business, we have corporate rates we can offer. You can contact Ms. Dominique Claveau at any time for further information (dclaveau@hotel71.ca).

We look forward to seeing you back.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was a quick anniversary getaway weekend. The hotel was a bank and is now very contemporary. Had a very upscale feel. Rooms were nicely appointed and the concierge would park your car and bring it to you whenever you wanted so you didn't have to use the street parking meters. Location was nice because you could walk to almost anything although to get to some streets was uphill so where comfortable shoes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joybarHope_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Bonjour from Québec City,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel 71. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your romantic getaway in Quebec City and that we were able to make your stay memorable! We look forward to welcoming back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were in Quebec from Feb 20 to 24-2014 and stayed at Hotel 71 for the first time. The location is great, close to great dining, shopping and sightseeing. Room 625 had a great view of the river! We loved the amenities like the nespresso coffee maker in the room, bath robes, GREAT internet connection and tv channels, the dvd and tub (with complimentary bath salts). The Matto restaurant served great italian food again with the same friendly service. Overall a great choice for a contemporary/modern feel in Old Quebec. We highly recommend and will be back! Thank you Nancy, Maxime, Francine, Miti and the rest of the staff!

Room Tip: Room 625 had a great view of the river and it was in a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArnyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Bonjour from Québec City,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. It has been a pleasure to welcome you among us - we are so glad to hear the whole team was able to make your stay in Québec City unforgettable!

We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What a place! People who work there are professionals and very welcoming! We had the Classic Room and it was very pretty and comfortable. The included continental breakfast was very good. The hotel location is perfect to visit the old city! There's a car parking service. It was nothing but amazing!

Super hôtel! Les gens qui y travaillent sont vraiment chaleureux et professionnels. Nous avions la chambre Classique et c'était très beau et confortable. Le déjeuner continental inclu était délicieux. Très bien situé dans le Vieux-Québec. Il y a un service de voiturier. Super expérience que nous avons vécu à cet hôtel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Directrice de l'hébergement at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Audrey,

Merci d'avoir partagé vos commentaires sur votre récent séjour à l'Hôtel 71. C'est un plaisir d'apprendre que vous avez apprécié nos installations et que chaque membre de l'équipe a su contribuer à rendre votre séjour parmi nous mémorable!

Meilleures salutations,

Nancy Lavigne
Directrice de l'hébergement
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This was our third time visiting the Hotel 71 over the last 7 years. The hotel is in as good condition as it was when we first went. Beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean and fantastic staff in every corner make this place a sure thing. Located in the heart of the lower town near great restaurants and galleries. Our room had spectacular views of the Mighty St Lawrence and up to Chateau Frontenac. Thanks again 71 for a great weekend retreat.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mannacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Bonjour from Québec City,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your last stay at Hotel 71. It is so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us once again! We would be pleased to welcome you back for the 61st edition of Quebec Winter Carnival (or even before!). Do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next reservation, it would be a pleasure to thank you for your loyalty.

Kind regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 100 in Quebec City
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,726 reviews
0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £133 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing