We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Ten Reason I Stay Here”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

1) Location - You are amidst all the action in lower town, and a quick ride to upper, great restaurants are at every corner in lower town.

2) Service - The staff at this hotel is superb. We were so happy to see Jeff and Donata again. Thanks for making our stay special.

3) View - We always ask for the top floor (7) because we are know we are going to get either a room overlooking the St. Lawrence Seaway or a view of the Frontenac at night.

4) Free wifi - Enough said.

5) Awesome continental breakfast included - no cooked to order and that's ok, its North American Europe so embrace the croissants, smoked ham and swiss cheese, fruits, boiled eggs and live like a European for a few days.

6) Coffee - the in room coffee is fantastic! Seriously! Hint - ask for a few extra pods because you will want more from the Nespresso machine.
They have cream in the fridge at the coffee bar near reception. Bring a few up to the room and put them in the room fridge.

7) The Shower - its one of those rain shower things, soothing.

8) The soaps and shampoos smell great. Even the towels here smell good.

9) Enjoy the classical music in your room and keep the tv off.

10) A very comfortable bed! Did I mention the bathrobes?

We love it here and will only stay here when coming to QC. Thanks again Hotel 71 for another wonderful visit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lakechamplainsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Bonjour from Quebec City!

What a pleasure to read your review! I am thrilled that we were able to meet all your expectations and that you enjoyed your Hotel 71 experience once again. Please do not hesitate to write me at sdufresne@hotel71.ca when you plan to return. Again, thank you for your gracious words, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Stephanie Dufresne
Business Development Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Love the perk of having water and espresso available to the guests all day long. The only thing that could be improved is the breakfast. Adding a hot breakfast section would be recommended.
Bathroom is a delight with the shower being the most enjoyable I have had so far.
Location is prime! Loved being close to the Frontenac but in a quieter old town area.
KC (NH)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Bonjour Kristien C. ,

Thank you very much for your great comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel 71. Guest service is our priority. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Quebec City.

Kind Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for five nights in a Superior room at Hotel 71 and thought it was the perfect choice. The location is excellent, being walking distance to most tourist attractions and the old town. There are also several restaurants less than five minutes away, the best of which we found to be Cafe Le Saint Malo.
Our Superior room was huge, with an extremely comfortable bed, large bathroom with shower and a large bath.
Because the hotel is small it has a lovely boutique feel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Bonjour from Quebec City,

Thank you mgaMelbourne for taking the time to share with us your kind words about your recent experience at Hotel 71. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have already shared your comments with the entire team as a reminder of what we do best. Please contact me at sdufresne@hotel71.ca before your next visit. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel 71 soon!

Regards,

Stephanie Dufresne
Business Development Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a great stay, room was large and very well appointed. The location in the lower town was perfect. Would highly recommend Hotel 71 a very stylish and comfortable place. Only improvement could be in the breakfast which was a little dissapointing and the lack of a real bar in the hotel.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philliejake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Bonjour Philliejake,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are surely taking notes of your recommendations. We strive to offer the best to our clients.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Hotel 71. I remain available for any questions or requests.

Kind Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent one night at Hotel71 and had a truly wonderful stay! The room was overlooking Chateau Frontenac (as requested by us) and had a very comfortable king size bed, Nespresso machine (delicious coffee!) and a gorgeous bathroom with an amazing rainshower. We loved everything about the hotel including the breakfast, warm staff and the location. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms will have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chomique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Bonjour from Québec City,

Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back on your next trip to the city.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel 71 over the weekend of may 18-19, got a suite because no other room were available the price was 245 per night which included valet parking and breakfast. Everything was as it should be, perfect. But what amazing was the shower, the pressure and water flow were just amazing, your entire body is covered by the stream of hot water.

Will be a return guest.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonywebsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Bonjour from Québec City,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us.

We hope to host you back on your next trip to our beautiful city.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Boutique hotels no longer have that exclusive feel they once had, given the number that have proliferated in most cities over the last few years, but Hotel 71 does a good job of making you feel special. Staff are very helpful, and there many interesting little extras like bikes, umbrellas (unfortunately necessary during our stay), and expresso bar. And of course, there is a very nice part of Quebec City.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have baths, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazz520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Room Division Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Bonjour from Québec City,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hotel 71 and that we were able to deliver a complete "boutique" experience.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,633 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £148 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing