We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at Hotel 71. The personnel at the hotel and at the il Matto restaurant is courteous and attentive. The rooms are very nice, big, clean with a modern décor. We just loved the large bathroom with the large glass shower. We really appreciated the Nespresso coffeemaker that was at our disposal in our room. The Hotel 71 is perfectly located, right in the Old Quebec at only 5 minutes by foot of Place Royale. Thanks to Travelzoo, we had a great deal on the room rate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellersLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear TravellersLL,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind words about your recent experience at Hotel 71. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have already shared your comments with the entire team as a reminder of what we do best. Please contact me at sdufresne@hotel71.ca before your next visit. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel 71 soon!

Stephanie Dufresne, Business Development Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a perfect place to stay in the old part of Quebec City. The staff were courteous, checked us in right away. The room was wonderful, with more than enough space and a WONDERFUL washroom and shower. The location was perfect for wandering the waterfront, the galleries and the lower part of the old city. Both my wife and I agreed 100% that we would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy_in_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. Service could not be better. Staff was great and gave us tips on our Quebec visit. They really made us feel at home. All of the staff spoke English and helped us with our French. Super place to stay. A great location.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeffbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I recently spent 5 nights at Hotel 71. The start of my stay was to take in a conference...at the conclusion I was joined by seven friends to celebrate a 50th birthday. I can't say enough good about the place. Front desk staff were friendly and obliging. (Free bottled water in the lobby and the use of bicycles was super!)The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious. The cleaning staff were always smiling. The shower is less a rainfall shower head and more a rainforest falls shower head! The best!
The gem to top off our stay was Il Matto, the hotel's restaurant, which was second to none and deserves a separate review on Trip Advisor. Make reservations for the evenings because this is a popular restaurant with travellers and locals for many reasons!! The continental breakfast offers something for everyone with a superb staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Excellent experience all around! Very friendly and helpful staff. The free water bottles and 24hr nespresso was great. The room was large, clean and very comfortable..The rain shower was incredible! The buffet breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Wonderful stay in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Bonjour KLH25,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind words about your recent experience at Hotel 71. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have already shared your comments with the entire team as a reminder of what we do best.

Do not hesitate to contact us when you are planning your next trip to Quebec. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel 71 soon!

Nancy Lavigne
Room division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel 71 last night on our way to Newfoundland - what a great find! The staff were all very courteous, helpful and professional. Our room was lovely, as was the bathroom - great water pressure in the rain shower. One minor complaint - no fan in the bathroom. As it was pouring rain, we opted to eat at the hotel restaurant and had a wonderful meal. Would definitely recommend and stay again if ever back in Quebec City.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hotel 71 provided us with a wonderful experience. All aspects of our stay were top notch. The bed was comfortable, the room tastefully appointed and the bathroom modern and accommodating. We enjoyed extra touches, such as an Expresso machine, in the room. Everyone from the concierge to the bell staff and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. Perhaps the best part of all was a lovely window view of the Lawrence river. Great experience in every respect!

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank britromancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Bonjour Britromancer,

Wow! Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a nice comment about Hotel 71. It was a great pleasure to welcome you in our property. We strive to offer the best experience to our guest in providing a relaxed atmosphere and the most personalized service possible.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning a next trip to our beautiful city.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
2,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
5,063 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,742 reviews
0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £133 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing