We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit Quebec city for the first time”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Firstly, As often as is true Staff made the experience, whether it be concierges and front desk people eager to assist in arrangements and tips or bellmen that almost jumped to attention to assist with whatever you were carrying. Everyone was always was pleasant to deal with

Secondly, the location of the hotel couldn't offer more options to see the various parts of the city, antiquing one direction, old port and funicular up another direction, ready access to extensive bike path. The central location allowed us to cover more ground when wanting to see all that the city offered. Bonus for Bicyclists, in one direction, A bike path goes by a great Farmers market, scenic riverfront drive one way and Up the St Lawrence the other way. (I used the complimentary bicycles each morning and had a father son bike ride one day whose memory I will treasure)

The Hotel rooms were clean, beds comfortable all you need. The Hotels Restaurant served up some delicious italian with our waiter's fun while professional demeaner had us smiling during our meal. Nearby Echaude restaurant was also excellent

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank walkermole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Bonjour Walkermole,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind words about your recent experience at Hotel 71. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have already shared your comments with the entire team as a reminder of what we do best. Please contact me at nlavigne@hotel71.ca before your next visit.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel 71 soon! –

Nancy Lavigne
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The vacation began as we drove to Quebec City. We were directed by our GPS to go into the city from the back way. The best part was there was no traffic.
We arrived at the hotel and went inside. We were greeted and our bags were brought in from the car. The guy said that he would take care of the car.
We signed in and we and our bags were taken to our room.
A very nice clean and large room.
We look out our window to a beautiful view of the upper city.
The shower was gear. There was a hand held hose type and the best was the rain shower.
Breakfast was included. We went to the dining room and were greeted with what kind of coffee would you like? They had a great choice and cappuccino was my wife's starter cup. It was so good that she had another. I had a decaf which was brewed and had a great taste.
The food offering was great. My carb free diet found egg meat and cheese. On the other hand the small muffins were delightful.
Looking for a tour, the hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful.
The check out was also great. They went to get the car and brought it to the door and packed the bags, gave us directions to the market and sent us on our way.
This trip was for my wife's birthday, but it is a good place to run away for a weekend..

Room Tip: Ask for the back view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irving2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Bonjour Irving2013,

What a pleasure to read your review! I am thrilled that we were able to meet all your expectations and that you fully enjoyed your Hotel 71 experience.

Quebec City is so accessible from Montreal ! You are more than welcomed to Hotel 71 if you feel like another get away from home. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at nlavigne@hotel71.ca .

Happy belated birthday to your wife!


Warm regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel 71 was an excellent choice for our three day stay in Quebec. The hotel was within easy walking distance of all the major sites in Vieux-Quebec. The concierge and front desk staff readily provided excellent directions and tips for our day's plans. The bellman was very friendly and efficient. The hotel is well situated across the street from the Museum of Civilization and close to many restaurants, shops and galleries. The waterfront is just a block or two away as well. The room with two queen beds was perfect for our family. The modern decor was tasteful. The breakfast was included with our rate and was very good and the staff excellent. We look forward to being able to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RANCCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear RANCorpusChristi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our property, the restaurant Il Matto and the area.

I remain available for any request, information or if you are planning another family trip to our beautiful city.

Kind Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were extremely happy with this hotel in all respects and the staff was top notch! We were guests here for six days so we were in contact with many different staff members and without exception we were always greeted with a smile and a helpful attitude.

The photos on the website are a true representation of what the rooms and public areas are actually like...only better in person. We loved the location as it was extremely convenient to restaurants, shops and the funicular; yet at the end of the day we felt like we were coming back to a private quiet oasis away from the noise and crowds.

Our room was on the top floor with a view of the river and it was so enjoyable to watch all kinds of boats coming and going. We realized it would have been great to have a pair of binoculars with us, so if you request a river view room and have extra packing space, I would really suggest you bring a pair.

Extra touches are always the icing on the cake and we loved the soft classical music playing in our room, the personal note and chocolates, and the HUGE rainfall shower!

If you have extra days during your visit, I would highly suggest a day trip to Ile d' Orleans. Francine arranged for a rental car delivered to the hotel and the island is a short 15-20 minutes from the city. You can drive a loop around the island, which is dotted with quaint villages, farms and orchards. Whatever you want to do, the staff will make it happen!

This will definitely be our hotel of choice in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fellowtravlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Bonjour from Quebec!

Thank you very much for those great comments. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel 71 and that you had the chance to experience the personnalized and helpful guest service we strive to offer.

I will inform our team to continue their good work. We really appreciate that you took the time to review your stay. Thank you very much and do not hesitate to contact me directly if you are planning another trip to our beautiful city.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Front Office Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This boutique hotel gives everything you expect for service and amenities. The most wonderful showers, great beds, delicious and gracious breakfast, and helpful staff at all times. Impeccably clean, comfortable and quiet air conditioning, and ideal location.
We cannot say enough "WONDERFUL" about this place!!! Will definitely go back!!! A reason to visit Quebec City again!

Room Tip: The two rooms I saw were both wonderful (3rd floor). I think all rooms would be good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Jan H,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind words about your recent experience at Hotel 71. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have already shared your comments with the entire team as a reminder of what we do best. Please contact me at sdufresne@hotel71.ca before your next visit.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel 71 soon! –

Stephanie Dufresne
Director of Sales and Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I love the location of the hotel - Not too far away from the action at the bottom of the hill and situated in a nice neighborhood. Room is clean, service is great and the breakfast is simple but good. I would definitely recommend my friends to stay in this modern contemporary hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhalOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear PhalOrchid,

What a pleasure to read your review! I am thrilled that we were able to meet all your expectations and that you enjoyed your Hotel 71 experience. Please do not hesitate to write me at sdufresne@hotel71.ca when you plan to return. Again, thank you for your gracious words, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Stephanie Dufresne
Director of Sales and Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Located in the heart of old Quebec City, with modern luxury room and great restaurant. Package include free valet parking and excellent continental breakfast with fresh baked croissants and capaccinos. First class, friendly and knowledgable statt.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pat0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Pat0202,

What a great review of our property, thank you for taking the time to share it with everyone!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

Warm regards,

Stéphanie Dufresne
Director of Sales and Business Development
sdufresne@hotel71.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,633 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
2,185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £148 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing