We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Concierges First Rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Concierges First Rate”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

On a recent trip to Quebec my daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel 71 for 5 days. The hotel was a wonderful boutique hotel located in the center of all the sights. We walked to everything and our room was large, comfortable,and quiet. The highlight of our trip were the fabulous restaurants and activities recommended by the hotels knowledgeable concierges Max and Francine. They were both very helpful and delightful to work with! Would highly recommend the Cirque show , boat ride, walking tours and the double decker bus ride at night!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Bonjour Vicki H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hotel 71 and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay in Québec City and that Max and Francine were able to exceed your expectations in many ways.

We look forward to hosting you back.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,255
    287
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
190
1,065
31
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for our wedding anniversary for 4 nights. Staff were very friendly and helpful, also assisted us with booking a tour to the nearby falls and Orleans Island. Hotel is clean, rooms are spacious and location is ideal for walking around the city. Plenty of nearby restaurants to choose from.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bharkison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Bonjour Bharkison,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. It has been a pleasure to welcome you among us for your wedding anniversary - we are so glad to hear the team was able to assist you during your stay.

We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Reading some of the other reviews, I realized that I agree with it all and there isn't really much to add. It's hard to choose a hotel in Quebec because there are so many highly-rated ones. It really comes down to what you're looking for. If you are looking for something modern but comfortable and casual, within old town but a bit off the beaten path, this is the perfect place to stay.

Hotel 71 is in the Vieux-Port area, at the foot of the hill that separates the walled city from the rest of the Old Town. The lower town area (Basse-Ville) is a neighborhood of its own, with lots of shops and restaurants and plenty going on. It's not as packed as the upper town (Haute-Ville) near Chateau Frontenac and many of the main attractions, which you can reach within 10 minutes via the Funiculaire ($2), steps, or public transit Ecolobus ($2).

The hotel is in a converted bank building, and they did a great job of choosing contemporary decor that is also quite comfortable and relaxing. Rooms have wood floors, huge windows, very comfortable beds and a rain shower. Even the "basic" room we choose was quite spacious. (Extra perk: in-room Nespresso). The public areas are also quite nice - lots of couches, a 24-hour espresso machine and bikes available for rental. The room includes Continental breakfast - for those of us from the States, a *real* continental breakfast with bread, yogurt, cheese, espresso, etc., not donuts and waffles. It was great.

The staff was very friendly, communicated well in English, and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We didn't meet one person who was anything short of exceptional. We had a small problem with the aircon and it was handled very well.

Hotel 71 is a truly exceptional hotel, and made me commit to choosing boutique hotels wherever I travel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterhill3505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Bonjour from Quebec!

Thank you very much for those great comments. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel 71 and that you had the chance to experience the personnalized and helpful guest service we strive to offer. It is a pleasure to read that you will now choose boutique hotels wherever you travel!

I will inform our team to continue their good work. We really appreciate that you took the time to review your stay. Thank you very much and do not hesitate to contact me directly if you are planning another trip to our beautiful city.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Front Office Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Everything about this hotel is excellent, but what really stands out is the friendly attentive service. There were a few little glitches during our 5 day stay, such as the ice machine not working the second day. They delivered ice to the room and the machine was working the next day. The concierge, Francine, provided local, reasonably priced restaurant referrals and couldn't have been more helpful. Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr-rickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Bonjour Mr-rickson,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the service delivered by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our most recent vacation to Quebec City was enhanced greatly by the staff of Hotel 71. From the moment we arrived, which was well before check in time, we felt special. There was absolutely no problem for an earlier than notified arrival and we were shown our room. What a wonderful surprise - we had a magnificent view of the St. Lawrence. We then went downstairs for lunch at Il Matto - another plus. The food was delicious & the service excellent. A special thank you to their concierge, Maxime, who supplied us with enough brochures & recommendations that made it very easy to organize our days. The front desk staff were ever willing to assist. eg. on a very rainy evening we needed a second umbrella & voila, we had it. Could it get any better? Just had to mention our impending departure & immediately arrangements were made for a taxi to pick us up. I could go on but I would be repeating myself about the great care & service we received. The best place to stay in Quebec City!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Bonjour CollFair,

Thank you very much for your great comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel 71. Guest service is our priority. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Quebec City.

Kind Regards,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here during the Fêtes de la Nouvelle-France 2014. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff are considerate and provide great service. The breakfast is excellent and offers choice. The location is excellent for a number of great restaurants, shopping and the market. Quebec history at your door.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Bonjour Redgmc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel 71. We are delighted to hear you were able to enjoy our magnificient city to the fullest thanks to our location!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Québec.

Sincerely,

Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
nlavigne@hotel71.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hotel 71 is an incredible hotel. My check-in was quick and painless as the front staff was friendly and professional. I entered the sophisticated, clean, airy room to soft classical music playing in the background. There was a handwritten letter greeting me on the bed, next to the delicious chocolate left for me. And this is just for starters. The bathroom was chic but user friendly with soft towels and wonderful soaps and shampoos. When I came down to the lobby the first morning of my stay, I was greeted by name. When I asked the valet to get my car, he didn't need reminding as to what car was mine. Although the hotel was full--it is high season, after all--every attempt was made to make me feel like a valued guest. The bed was comfortable, and the sheets were soft, 100% cotton, with fine down pillows. Needless to say, I slept extremely well while I was there. Really--from the delicious breakfast to evening drinks at the restaurant bar--this is the finest hotel I have been to in Quebec City. And the location is superb--directly across the street from the Musée de la Civilization and just down the street from the funiculaire, fine dining options, and great shopping.
Every year I have to go to Quebec City to visit friends of mine--and every year I am disappointed by the hotels I have chosen. Not this time--Hotel 71 was a far better hotel, not to mention a far better value, than the famed Frontenac. The hotels in the city can sometimes be a bit on the weird side--but this will be the last place I will ever book because it will be the only place I will ever book. Thank you so much to the staff at your beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: I had a wonderful view of the river--but the best is to experience this wonderful city for yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy L, Front Office Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Bonjour Buckinghamgunn!

What a pleasure to read your review! I am thrilled that we were able to meet all your expectations and that you enjoyed your Hotel 71 experience. Please do not hesitate to write me at nlavigne@hotel71.ca when you plan to return. Again, thank you for your gracious words, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Nancy Lavigne
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
3,956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing