We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous ~ a nice change from the ordinary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
OIrlando, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous ~ a nice change from the ordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We scoured the internet for a hotel in Old Quebec with consistent, good reviews and chose Hotel 71 based on the reveiews posted her. Knowing hotel rooms in this area can be inconisistent within a hotel, cramped and musty I was very careful in my choice. This was an anniversary trip and I didn't want to end up with a stinky hotel room.

The reviews were right on. The location was probably the best one you could choose. It is one street over from Place Royale, so while being right there in all the action you were not partaking in the party noise once you chose to call it a night. We stayed in room 727 which had a king bed with a great view of the river and neon garden atop the Museum of Civilisation. The hotel had great modern charm; sleek lines, cool colors and modern funishings. The rooms were very simple and the bathrooms were very cool.

The staff and concierge were most kind, helpful and attentive. I dropped a short note to the hotel prior to our stay indicating that this stay was for our 10th wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we found a plate of fine chocolates and a personal hand written note from the staff in our room.

During a conversation one day the desk staff shared some history about the building. She was very knowledgeable about the building and shared interesting facts and pointed out various features from the history of thebuilding.

The unlimited coffee and tea was a great complement to our stay and we certainly made good use of the cafe. As others have noted in their reviews, during the evening the front desk staff were also the cafe staff. But, they were never annoyed when we asked for a coffee in the evening. AND! they truly all knew how to make the drinks on the menu. As coffee lovers that was a nice touch.

As others have noted the complimentary breakfast was not fancy or overdone. But, the food was great and it wasn't just stale, sticky pastries. They had yogurt, boiled eggs, cereal, cheese and fruit and FRESH bread and pasteries. Each morning upon entering the breakfast room we were greeted by a staff member and offered a latte.

As an example of the attentiveness of the staff; one morning at breakfast a guest dropped a serving spoon on the floor. Before they could even reach down to retrieve it a staff member was by her side with a replacement.

There's a great crepe restaurant in the back alley to the right that's worth trying out. They don't open until 11:30 am but it is worth the wait.

Some things to be aware of if you plan to stay at this hotel. This is a small hotel with only 40 rooms. So if you are looking for a big hotel feel you won't get it here. Despite the small size of the hotel they did have a gym, but no pool. The hotel has a very modern feel which comes with soft lighting; some might call it dim. But when you get the rooms; WOW! nice and bright. Also, the cafe is not a full size restaurant, but who needs one with all the great food in walking distance. As some others have noted the water pressure is not great so be aware. But the bathrooms are so cool that it was okay. ;) What you will get is a welcoming, home like feel. As avid travelers for work it was a great change from just another hotel stay.

I'm not posting and personal pictures because the ones that are here and on the website are dead on!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedgebet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    285
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
189
1,056
31
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We booked our stay after having seen the other reviews here on tripadvisor. We certainly were quite happy with everything. Service was friendly, polite and unobtrusive - e.g. they noticed we had kids and gave us extra towels without us asking. Concierge (Francine) was excellent and very helpful in steering us in the right direction when we weren't sure about places to go - she arranged a car rental for us very quickly and gave us some great suggestions about visiting L'Ile d'Orleans. The room itself was quite nice - modern furnishings in an old renovated bank building. I personally wasn't a big fan of the old pine floors (they have little gaps between the planks that I don't quite like - but that was relatively minor. Huge bathroom and bathtub, great shower and a decent sound system. Was a bit surprised that they didn't have flat screens but we weren't there for the TV anyway. Great view of the St. Lawrence facing south - we paid a little bit more for that room but was worth it. Continental breakfast included each day, plus free coffee/espresso/tea, etc. 24 hours a day. Like most boutiques, quiet and peaceful - no huge conventions going through or gigantic lineups. Location is perfect - just a bit away from the hubbub but still close enough to be convenient - just across from the back of the Museum of Civilization, and a few minutes walk to Place Royale and the Funicular up to the Upper Town. One minor complaint - they entered a lunch bill twice on our tab - a bit disappointing given the rest of the service and not really the kind of mistake one expects from a hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dma999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

We just loved this little hotel in Québec City!! The room was so comfortable (and the view so beautiful!) that sometimes we felt like not going out! Luckly Q.C. is a beautiful city and our stay was just perfect!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ron_brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

we stayed here for 4 nights - a great location for walking around the old city (particularly the lower town.) Very comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff - the concierge was very helpful in restaurant recommendations and reservations.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eastporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

We loved this hotel. The breakfast was great, and the free tea and coffee all day long was a nice touch. The furnishings were very modern, the hotel was in a great location and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Our only "complaints" were very minor and fairly trivial, but for the price you're paying we expected a mini bar fridge in the room to keep water cold, and their only solution was an ice bucket which was noisy during the night as the ice melted and moved around in the bucket (I'm a light sleeper).
Also, while the lighting in the bathroom was very funky and trendy, it was totally impractical for applying make-up, and combined with no exhaust fan it wasn't the most user friendly bathroom (but very stylish!)
Other than this, we loved everything else they had to offer, and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDotTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

If you like clear lines and a slick modern and minimalist hotel, this is for you. We stayed at the 71 for three nights. The personnel was very helpful and courteous. The room was on the 6th floor, with a view of the Chateau Frontenac. The bed was very comfortable. Bath was modern European standard, with walk-in rain shower. Colors and fabrics were modern and cool. The rooms were spotless. The hotel in located in the old part of town, in walking distance to all major tourist attractions and other good hotels. The concierge recommended a few restaurants which all seem to be ok, touristy but above-average food! Free internet access and free espresso et al. for guests. The only disappointment was the breakfast, which we found to be below the standard of the hotel - we had expected slightly more. This is why the hotel did not got 5 * in our overall evaluation. Other than that, we would heartily recommend this hotel and would stay again when in Quebec city.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Springbank_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

I travel often for work and have become accustomed to staying at W Hotels whenever possible so when I first read reviews of Hotel 71 I instantly thought of the W and said it was the place to stay. And I could not be any more on the mark!

The hotel was centrally located in the "old port" section and was a mere 3 min walk to the funicular or the road leading to inside the walls. It was also an easy drive to get to, which was important since we were on a motorcycle, and a great starting point for a day trip to Montmerency Falls and St. Anne Basilica (both are a must when you are in Quebec).

The staff was amazing and I really need to thank the valet parking attendant who was on duty when we arrived. Since we were on a motorcycle he could not park it for us but he walked to the garage which was two blocks away to meet me there to be sure I got in OK.

Super helpful!

The room was amazing with views of the St Lawrence River and the Civilization Museum's roof deck (it's very cool) and was a perfect size for our needs (the window ledge was a perfect parking spot for our helmets and gear). The bed was super comfy, like the W, and the bathroom was large. The shower stall didn't have as much pressure as I would have liked but the rain head was great.

The lobby was comfortable and the include breakfast was on the small side but def covered our needs with really good whole grain bread [and toaster], fruit, cheese, yogurt and some pastries. We also had unlimited tea, coffee, etc during our stay and we def took advantage of that when we would return from a long day of sightseeing.

Oh yea, for some reason the shells on the hard boiled eggs we really difficult to remove. Not sure why this was the case but that was the extent of our difficulties at the hotel so I'd say we did very well overall.

Bottom line, I would, without a doubt recommend the hotel. And our bill came to $240 CAN per night which is very reasonable in my opinion for the level of service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jf2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing