We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Dream - Wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute Dream - Wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2009

This hotel was just amazing! The location was perfect, service was impeccable, rooms were incredible, and everything just 'clicked'.

I have stayed in many beautiful hotels before, and this is one of the top 5.

My partner and I came to Quebec city for one night as a side trip from Montreal. We had never been there and just generally read reviews on Trip Advisor. Some things that made our trip great:

1) Followed advice to stay in the old city
2) location of this hotel -- excellent. not having to climb up to the upper part after a long day was a plus, and the general area I found to be much nicer than where the chateau is. More and more genuine cafe's, stores, restaurants... extremely beautiful. not so crowded as where Frontenac is.

One thing that made this place great was the service. In a nutshell, if there is something the staff can do to make your stay better, they will do it, and happily. They were beyond professional and friendly.

ROOMS: beautiful. Modern but warm and homey. Neutral colors, high ceilings and the bathrooms were great. Great lighting. felt like an oasis.
When we arrived there was classical music playing and truffles, flowers, chocolates on the bed.
The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

BREAKFAST: Exactly what we wanted. light and healthy. we are not big cooked breakfast people, so we really enjoyed this. served in a lovely dining room, it is a cold breakfast which includes granola, yogurt, cereals, cheese, eggs, toast, croissants, danishes, fresh fruit, dried fruit, etc. Very fresh and healthy food.

COFFEE: for coffee lovers this is a dream! There is a REAL and lovely cafe on site, and if you are a guest you can drink anything for free throughout your stay, anytime. espresso, tea, hot chocolate, coffee, anything.

LOCATION: excellent! I will never stay anywhere else in Quebec!!!

Merci Hotel 71!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura12345Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    289
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
191
1,076
31
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Pretty much a tranquil haven in the tourist throng of Quebec city. The hotel is a converted bank located in the lower town but within walking distance of the upper old town, with views up towards the Chateau Frontenac. Check in was efficient and staff remained discreet but helpful throughout the stay. The rooms are sleek and spacious with high ceilings and wooden floorboards. No bath but a large shower and well stocked with toiletries. Free coffee is on offer to guests throughout the day in the hotel's cafe - you just have to find someone to ask for it. An excellent buffet breakfast is served in a bright and spacious dining room. There is a small gym with a few pieces of equipment but it did not seem to be much in use. Free WIFI throughout the hotel. At check out, staff helped with luggage and called a cab directly. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detoxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

After flying from Australia to Quebec we were exhausted but elated to be in Quebec at last to celebrate my 50th birthday and our first holiday in 27 years without children! I was a bit worried hotel 71 would be too chic or yuppie for us! How wonderfully surprised we were to be greeted so joyfully by the reception staff. We were escorted to our room by a lovely young man who was kind and considerate of us. We were overjoyed with our room and especially the view from our window overlooking the St Laurient river and the old town of Quebec. The free coffee downstairs in the cafe each day was delicious as was the breakfasts which lacked for nothing. Although our stay at hotel 71 was extremely relaxing we also enjoyed the buzz of youthful energy from the staff .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We chose this hotel based on the positive reviews from this website, and we were not disappointed. The staff was great, the concierge (I believe Francine and Maxime) were very helpful and suggested great places, the breakfast was delicious and was the perfect type of food. Also, their espresso and cappuccinos were very good. I'm assuming they actually properly train their baristas. The location was walking distance from everything. In 4 days, we took only 2 cab rides: from and to the train station.

The room was modern and clean. The bathroom actually felt like a bathroom and not just a hotel bathroom.

To sum everything up, there is no other place I would stay in Quebec City other than Le 71 Hotel Cafe.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rum_and_run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Great price, convenient location in the lower city, and amazingly helpful staff (the request of "point us to the less touristy places was met with a knowing laugh). We slept, ate and drank exceedingly well.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanCityGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varied
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We booked this hotel somewhat at the last minute for a quick (first) one night trip to Quebec based on price (online summer saver deal with valet parking and breakfast). With relatively little in the way of expectation, upon arrival this hotel was a wonderfully pleasant surprise. The hotel was very well located, the staff friendly and attentive, the room spacious, very comfortable, and modern chic. The bell boy suggested a lovely wine bar, while valet parking was very efficient. Breakfast, while not exceedingly elaborate, was perfectly pleasant.

My only regret is that they don't have rooms available next weekend!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deli09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova scotia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

we stayed for three night late July. From the concierge, to the reception staff, to the bar staff they were excellent. The hotel is quite contemporary well thought out and very comfortable.
We had a problem with our safe which was dealt with very quickly...just a low battery!!!
I would highly recommend this hotel and the breakfast that is included is good and plentiful!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonnovascotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing