We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great location, beautiful hotel- very impressed”
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great location, beautiful hotel- very impressed”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I stayed at Le 71 Hotel this weekend and what a great experience. All the staff members were extremely friendly and professional and they really offered great service. I felt treated like a VIP client but didn't have to pay a high price! The location is great as well. We explored Old Quebec city by foot and what a gorgeous area it is. Getting back to the hotel, they pay attention to little details to make your stay pleasant like for example when you arrive in your room there is classical music playing in the background.

Le 71 is a modern boutique hotel of course and next time I might want to try an older style with perhaps a bit more charm but we were really happy with our experience and if you want to try this type of hotel I truly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Bonjour Geneviève_11,

Merci pour vos bons commentaires !

We are happy that your stay with us was over your expectations and that you find the overall value to be above standard.

We also liked that you enjoyed our little extra touches so your visit can even be more memorable.

Don't forget that if the Hotel 71's decor is too contemporary for your taste, our next-door connecting Inn is probably your best bet!

To the pleasure of welcoming you again,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    290
    45
    15
    3
See reviews for
194
1,081
32
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

What an amazing hotel! Our room (suite) had a separate bedroom with windows all around, looking out at the chateau and the frozen river. Simply awesome views, day and night. Great breakfasts, freshly made coffees or hot chocolates day and night. Free Internet in the swanky lobby area. Very helpful staff.

Loved the hotel so much, we bought bedroom furniture for our new house in a similar style! The bathroom was spectacular, rain shower, great place to leave the very soggy snow boots.

A welcoming, warm oasis when you come back in from -15 outside....

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirrel6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Bonjour Squirrel6969,

We are delighted that you had a memorable stay in one of our Hotel 71's suite. As you say, the views are just truly amazing!

As you also enjoyed our complimentary coffee/espresso/hot chocolate service in the lobby, please know that all our rooms now have a Nespresso coffee machine for complimentary use during your stay. About wireless Internet, it is available free of charge in the hotel lobby but in all the rooms as well!

It was also great to read that you bought similar furniture for your own place; a little bit of the 71 feel now in Australia! Note that our lobby boutique sells most fo the amenities you find in our rooms (we do want you to bring a little bit of us back home with you!).

Au plaisir,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I like the location on one of the charming old streets near Place Royal and the pier, close to shopping and sites. One can just walk from the train station (10-15 min.), stopping by the "Marché du Vieux-Port" market on the way, and there are good restaurants in the vicinity (nearby Initiale and L'Échaudé are a couple of faves).

The 71 turned out like its airy, modern lobby. Our superior room had that same très soigné look, really high ceiling and tall window. Room was spotlessly clean and well equipped (safe, iron, free Wi-Fi etc), but no mini bar/fridge, just some snacks in a basket with a price list. Tea and coffee are available downstairs.

Contemporary minimalist decor was almost too neutral, so a tad dull for my taste, but still very cosy and comfortable. Sleek new bathroom with a walk in shower, with rain shower head, was nice.

Staff was very courteous and helpful. There is a small café and a new, hip Italian restaurant on the premises.

Stayed December 2010
Helpful?
Thank innaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Bonjour InnaMontreal,

Thank you for your review, your comments are greatly appreciated.

We like the fact that our location, staff, cleanliness and overall hotel equipment were enjoyable to you.

You are correct to mention that our rooms do not have mini-fridges. It is something we are currently looking into. We do offer them upon request if that is something who would make your stay better. Don't hesitate to request one upon your next visit, should we have the privilege to welcome you again. As far as coffee free of charge in the lobby, we also now offer Nespresso coffe machine in all our rooms, free of use.

Au plaisir,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
207 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The hotel room was beautiful with wonderfully high ceilings, enormous windows which let in wonderful natural light and provided a great view of the upper portion of the old Quebec City. The bathroom was beautiful, with a luxurious shower (no tub).

The facility is very well maintained and the service, very professional. I had breakfast at the restaurant on a couple of occasions and felt that the cold buffet (selection of cheeses, bread/bagels, fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals and hard boiled eggs, coffee/tea) was delicious and well presented.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank htravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Bonjour HTravelbug,

Thank you for your review and great comments!

One thing you should know about our bathrooms is that all of our Classic category only offer an amazing walk-in-glass-enclosed-rain-shower but should you prefer to have a soaking tub most of our Superior category have them and all of our Superior Plus category have the amazing shower plus a tub, guarantee.

If you do visit us again, I will make sure you get one (if you don't reserve a Classic room)!

Au plaisir,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We've stayed at the hotel exactly 2 years ago, loved it and booked it this time. 2 years ago it was a superb boutique hotel with ambiance, soft music, gourmet coffee and tea drinks served by the hostess and a gourmet breakfast. This time it was very different. The location is still great and and the bed is still comfortable, but... We were given 2 vouchers, which we had to exchange at the front desk to 2 little round packets of coffee which we could use at the semi-working modest coffee machine (we have better one at home). The machine malfunctioned and the very nice valet boy (who was also very apologetic) had to empty the bucket to find my unused packet, to use it again. I thought it was a joke - 2 coffee packets per night per room. The room had no rug, so our wet, snowy boots made a big mess on the hard-wood floor. Some furniture was slightly worn out and looked out of place.Turns out, the hotel next door took over and applied its money saving style to this formerly wonderful boutique place. The breakfast consisted of eggs and more bad coffee at the next door hotel. I must say the staff was wonderful and super friendly (especially Steve), but we are not coming back, there are boutique hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mura02456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Bonjour Mura02456,

Thank you for your feedback and great comments, it is greatly appreciated.

About the misses, let me please explain a few things. Regarding the coffee, you are correct; we did limit the number of packets for a short while but realized our mistake! Coffee is now unlimited for our guests in the lobby as well as in the rooms as they now all have Nespresso coffee maker with lots of free packets!

Concerning snowy boots, we are looking at next snowy season with a response, stay tuned!

The Inn next door you mentioned where you had breakfast has not taken over the 71, it is simply the same owner and yes, it is an "Auberge", different from Hotel 71, for different taste and budget.

Please note that since your visit, Hotel 71 opened its own restaurant Il Matto, available for breakfast (lunch and dinner). Guests rave about the great coffee there!

We are sorry that we won't have the privilege of welcoming you again but if you ever change your mind, we will be happy to show you what we are truly about, creating memorable memories for our guests.

Sincerely,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I stayed for 3 nights and slept well. I had an amazing view of Chateau Frontennac and the St Laurence.
The room was modern and clean, the bathroom was very modern and chic with great toiletries. The breakfast is a great deal and I recommend it, it is a very European breakfast though, croissants, cafe and deli meats-cheeses.
The staff were so friendly and really made every effort to help. It is in a great location too.
There is also free tea and coffee in the lounge near the lobby which is also nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Bonjour Madeleine,

Merci pour vos bons commentaires ! It is greatly appreciated.

We are happy that you enjoyed our clean, modern facility as well as our team, our breakfast setup and our complimentary coffee service in the lobby (now also in all our rooms).

Our views !?! I agree, simply amazing on our higher floors.

We are looking forward to your possible return soon,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Hotel 71 at 71 rue st. pierre in lower town, old Quebec, in the former national bank building is a private retreat from every day concerns. Very tasteful bedrooms with wonderful view of the ice flows on the st. lawrence river just down the hill. Excellent location handy to all of the walled city. Staff were very pleasant including the car valets (which we did not use) and hopefully are now "looking after" a parking ticket for almost $40 because our meter in front of the hotel was "blissse" or malfunctioning. That was the only "bummer" during our stay. Take in the buffet lunch at la terrasse at the chateau frontenac; excellent food and service. Again wonderful views over the st. lawrence and well worth the $31.50 charge although you have to request "le cleff" to use the w.c.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Bonjour Finicula,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on Hotel 71.

We are sorry about your parking ticket; self-parking in the Old-Town can sometimes be tricky!
For much less, our Valet Parking is a sure bet!

Next time, let us take care of you and your vehicle for a "no bummer" experience.

Sincerely,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing