We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Grand B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
Ranked #87 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Manoir Mon Calme is conveniently located on the Grande Allee. It's close to the Discovery Pavillion and its adjacent tourist office. In the evening, the neighborhood is bustling with sidewalk cafes that offer a wide variety of cuisines. It's not far the Plains of Abraham and La Citadelle either. From the B&B, it's about a 30 minute walk to the Chateau Frontenac. We had a king-size room on the top floor overlooking the back of the B&B, so we weren't bothered by street noise. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. I particularly liked the exposed red brick wall behind our bed, which gave the room character. Our breakfast was fine - not extraordinary. The host is all business and speaks limited English. He was courteous but not overly friendly.

If you need laundry services, there is a laundromat located several blocks away (a 10 minute walk). It's called Lavoir Cartier Betty Brite and is located on 1086, av Cartier, a side street heading west off Grand Allee. The laundromat was in a nice neighborhood and was modern and clean. Overall, Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Caime is conveniently located to Vieux Quebec and the price is very reasonable. We were in Quebec City during the first week of October and enjoyed cool weather and beautiful fall colors.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed there for one night. The room was clean, quiet and spacious. The bathroom was OK. The breakfast was nothing to write home about. The staff were in general quite friendly, except after breakfast when I was reminded that I was checking out that day.

Altogether quite pricey for what you get in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very well located, within steps of the main drag. Lots of quality restaurants and cafés, 2-minute walk to the Plaines, the Theatre, and Old Quebec.

The B&B itself is nice in an average kind of way. Nothing especially stands out, but the place is nice and clean, and surprisingly quiet considering the centrality of it's location. Beware though, if you're looking for a service oriented place - we were greeted upon our arrival at 4pm, and were promptly told that the only employee leaves at 6, and to make sure to not forget your keys, because you'll have to call a cell phone and wait for them to come and let you in.

Comfortable sleep, in-room private bath.

The breakfast is fresh, with a fruit plate followed by an omelet. A small 2-egg omelet. So if you're one who looks for a big buffet style spread for breakfast, then you might want to look elsewhere.

Overall, not bad.

Room Tip: Get a big room, because they have small ones, the smallest I've ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody_and_Annabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

we had a beautiful room with 2 queen size beds in a large bedroom with private bath. The breakfast was large with a fruit tray to start and an cheese omelette for one morning and homemade waffles the next. The rate was $149 CAD per night plus tax ($176.45) for 2 people. We splurged on the room because of its location, which was within walking distance of the old city, to Parliament, the Citadelle, the Plains of Abraham, the museum of Quebec and any number of great restaurants. There is free on site parking and free phone calls to USA and Canada. There is a cancellation policy of 4 days before arrival.

Room Tip: I can only speak of our room which was Room # 1 located in the front of the building but very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vonnie3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

When leaving old Quebec City through the City gates, you exit on Grand Alee which is lined with restaurants. At the beginning of the first street of stately homes is Manoir Mon Calme. This is as close to the old City as you need to be with your car and parking is included in the very reasonable room price. The rooms are large, a guest refrigerator is on each floor as well as wine bottle opener. The owners are friendly. Breakfast includes a nice selection of fresh fruit as well as a cooked specialty of the day. If the door is locked when you arrive, use the phone right outside the front door to let them know you're there.

Room Tip: parking area behind building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank wanderingMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a quirky old place with one of the best locations in the old Quebec City area. What we liked most was being half way between the old city and the lively Avenue Cartier area. When we tired of the tourist experience we just walked a few blocks in the other direction and dined with the locals in some excellent (casual) restaurants. If you don't want to walk even that far, you'll find a cluster of great cafes literally outside the B&B's door.

Our bedroom was huge, with high ceilings. A bay window gave us an excellent view of the street, and we enjoyed seeing what was going on, especially as we were there during the summer music festival. One night we went to sleep at 10 pm, even though the music was nearby and lasted until 11. The noise level was minimal - almost imperceptible. Hooray for old time solid construction! The walls of a newer building would surely have admitted the loudspeakers' throbbing bass notes and the yelps of the crowd.

Some people like B&Bs because they like to chat up the proprietors for hot tips on where to visit, where to eat. If that's one of your criteria, don't come here. Mr. and Mrs. Ho are very kind and accomodating, but they are mostly all business. You'll have to get out there and discover the wonders of the area on your own, and in the small, contained old Quebec City area, that's a good thing.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 (front) and 2 (rear)are on the ground floor. Others are at the top of a long staircase. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed two nights in this very nice B&B. The place is a nice older home, converted to B&B use. Clean and cozy, the managers could not have been more accommodating, fixing a really excellent breakfast.
The location is good, while not inside the old city, it's a short walk there. The street where it's located is full of cafes, clubs, and restaurants as well.
At the price we paid, this was a very good value.

Room Tip: Third floor room was huge, with two double beds.......but it's a converted attic, and between ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin
#45 of 120 in Quebec City
102 reviews
Au Petit Hotel
#18 of 120 in Quebec City
154 reviews
Gite au Gre du Vent
#54 of 120 in Quebec City
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
L'Autre Jardin
#42 of 120 in Quebec City
109 reviews
Couette et Cafe 253
#4 of 120 in Quebec City
124 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast
#36 of 120 in Quebec City
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme

Address: 549 Grande Allee est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2J5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: £54 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme Hotel Quebec City
Bed And Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing