We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
Ranked #90 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent location and comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at this B&B last year on our visit to Quebec for 2 nights. Better to call them up if you are reaching the place after 6 pm in the evening.
Positives
1. Excellent location - walking distance from Old Quebec so you dont need to worry about taking your car out and the B&B has a parking. It is also close to many good restaurants
2. Decor inside the B&B is very good - I loved the way they had done the interiors. Both rooms and outside. The brick wall in the room gives a good feeling.
Negatives -
1. Breakfast - Limited options for vegetarians, but I guess that is true for most other places
2. Bathroom was a bit cramped

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngupta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    23
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
53
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Torino
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

When you arrive you have to call the manager from a phone close to the entrance door. Then you receive a code to enter and you can go to your room.

Positive: position; free parking

Neutral: breakfast

Negative: room cleaness, a lot of dust everywhere; room lock doesn't work properly

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pighis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Manoir Mon Calme is conveniently located on the Grande Allee. It's close to the Discovery Pavillion and its adjacent tourist office. In the evening, the neighborhood is bustling with sidewalk cafes that offer a wide variety of cuisines. It's not far the Plains of Abraham and La Citadelle either. From the B&B, it's about a 30 minute walk to the Chateau Frontenac. We had a king-size room on the top floor overlooking the back of the B&B, so we weren't bothered by street noise. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. I particularly liked the exposed red brick wall behind our bed, which gave the room character. Our breakfast was fine - not extraordinary. The host is all business and speaks limited English. He was courteous but not overly friendly.

If you need laundry services, there is a laundromat located several blocks away (a 10 minute walk). It's called Lavoir Cartier Betty Brite and is located on 1086, av Cartier, a side street heading west off Grand Allee. The laundromat was in a nice neighborhood and was modern and clean. Overall, Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Caime is conveniently located to Vieux Quebec and the price is very reasonable. We were in Quebec City during the first week of October and enjoyed cool weather and beautiful fall colors.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed there for one night. The room was clean, quiet and spacious. The bathroom was OK. The breakfast was nothing to write home about. The staff were in general quite friendly, except after breakfast when I was reminded that I was checking out that day.

Altogether quite pricey for what you get in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very well located, within steps of the main drag. Lots of quality restaurants and cafés, 2-minute walk to the Plaines, the Theatre, and Old Quebec.

The B&B itself is nice in an average kind of way. Nothing especially stands out, but the place is nice and clean, and surprisingly quiet considering the centrality of it's location. Beware though, if you're looking for a service oriented place - we were greeted upon our arrival at 4pm, and were promptly told that the only employee leaves at 6, and to make sure to not forget your keys, because you'll have to call a cell phone and wait for them to come and let you in.

Comfortable sleep, in-room private bath.

The breakfast is fresh, with a fruit plate followed by an omelet. A small 2-egg omelet. So if you're one who looks for a big buffet style spread for breakfast, then you might want to look elsewhere.

Overall, not bad.

Room Tip: Get a big room, because they have small ones, the smallest I've ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody_and_Annabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

we had a beautiful room with 2 queen size beds in a large bedroom with private bath. The breakfast was large with a fruit tray to start and an cheese omelette for one morning and homemade waffles the next. The rate was $149 CAD per night plus tax ($176.45) for 2 people. We splurged on the room because of its location, which was within walking distance of the old city, to Parliament, the Citadelle, the Plains of Abraham, the museum of Quebec and any number of great restaurants. There is free on site parking and free phone calls to USA and Canada. There is a cancellation policy of 4 days before arrival.

Room Tip: I can only speak of our room which was Room # 1 located in the front of the building but very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonnie3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vero beach, FL
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

When leaving old Quebec City through the City gates, you exit on Grand Alee which is lined with restaurants. At the beginning of the first street of stately homes is Manoir Mon Calme. This is as close to the old City as you need to be with your car and parking is included in the very reasonable room price. The rooms are large, a guest refrigerator is on each floor as well as wine bottle opener. The owners are friendly. Breakfast includes a nice selection of fresh fruit as well as a cooked specialty of the day. If the door is locked when you arrive, use the phone right outside the front door to let them know you're there.

Room Tip: parking area behind building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wanderingMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Marie Rollet
#58 of 101 in Quebec City
152 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
#75 of 101 in Quebec City
302 reviews
Apartment Hotel Quebec
#74 of 119 in Quebec City
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge J.A. Moisan
Auberge J.A. Moisan
#8 of 119 in Quebec City
238 reviews
Chez Hubert, B&B
#16 of 119 in Quebec City
221 reviews
Montcalm
Relais Charles-Alexandre
Relais Charles-Alexandre
#20 of 119 in Quebec City
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme

Property: Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
Address: 549 Grande Allee est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2J5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme Hotel Quebec City
Bed And Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme
Bed & Breakfast Manoir Mon Calme Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing