We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, good location”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights. Good location to walk to several attractions downtown or just to grab a bite. Clean, new rooms. Can be very noisy some nights. It is acceptable for families since they had a big room for us and not many stairs. Owners are very chatty, a bit too much in my opinion, especially if you have young kids to tend to like we do. Also, the owners could not suggest any activities for children. They could not even provide me with directions to the aquarium. They did suggest, however, a wonderful gourmet burger restaurant close by.
For the overall experience and price, it was interesting, but would not be my pick for another visit.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lighthouse4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    116
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
193
484
50
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Thee cutest bed and breakfast I've ever stayed at!

Tip: Room 201 is at the top and very 'penthouse suiteish'. There's 1 double bed and 2 twin beds. Cute setup, but I kept bumping my head on the awkward caved in wall that the bed is under. Other than that, the staff (especially Sandy!) was so friendly and accommodated us in every way, such as speaking English. 5 stars.

Plus, the location is walking distance to Old Quebec and a great brunch spot- Tutti Frutti and Le Cochon Dingue.They offer breakfast, but it is very basic. If you want a full 'Americanized' breakfast, go to a restaurant.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAgentDiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our stay at the Auberge aux deux lions: Absolutely nothing to complain about.
Great service, nice room and only a few minutes walk to the center. Thank you very much for the great stay!
They even took of the snow of our car when we were walking around in town, nice little unexpected surprise :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had a lovely long weekend in Quebec City with our two young-adult sons. We enjoyed the beautiful illumination of the city and the Christmas festivities and decorations, despite the bitter cold. The auberge was warm and our hosts very friendly. What a fun location, a lively neighborhood with lots of restaurants and shops as well as lovely residential streets and two blocks over from the gorgeous park on the river where Quebecois were skating and skiing and perfectly relaxed in sub zero temperatures! But we walked to the old town many times and had a lot of fun. We bought warm hats while we were there! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I had a wonderful stay! Sandie was wonderful and very helpful. Jean-François was such a pleasure and so friendly. You could tell that the satisfaction of the customer was their top priority. They both gave me great recommendations for restaurants. Everything that I did was walking distance, Old Quebec, shopping , restaurants....great location.
The room was immaculate.
I would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: I had room 206. Perfect and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreeD1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Two couples, long time friends - enjoyed our 3 night stay in the attractive 'new rooms with stone walls'. Friendly/competent help with advice on restaurants and activities; printed out maps for us in answer to our inquiries re non-typical destinations.
Very much enjoyed the location near Avenue Cartier; easy to walk out to a nearby restaurant. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank j-westernmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel seems to be in two parts: the one in front and the extension in the back. The main entrance looks good, and this is probably where you get the rooms described in most reviews. Unfortunately we stayed in the extension. While the room was clean, it was extremely basic. Actually it was more like a glorified motel rather the lovely B&B we expected. The owner and the reception staff were both friendly and helpful. You can easily park for free in the street on Sunday, saving you $14. Overall, you may want to stay away from the standard room, the value for money is quite bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blu42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
optimate, Directeur général at Auberge Aux Deux Lions, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Blu42,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Auberge Aux deux Lions. Be assured that your comments have been taken into consideration.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our team members and the cleanliness of our rooms. We are committed to welcome you as friends and offer you a clean environment.

Regarding our rooms, it is true that our standard rooms are our simplest, hence their lower price compared to the other room categories. If we guess right what room you had, our standard room in semi-basement, this is the only room in this category in the extension part of the hotel. Our rooms in the front part, the ‘’old’’ part, have a unique character due to the century-old building in which they are located and the rooms in the extension offer a more modern decor. But all rooms have the same amenities such as flat-screen TV with cable, radio alarm clock, private bathroom, free high speed internet access, desk and queen-size bed, all decorated with a simple decoration.


We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and we sincerely hope to welcome you again in our other rooms so you may experience the lovely B&B you expected.


Regards,

Jean-François Dulac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,021 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
741 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
520 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Aux Deux Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Property: Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Address: 25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Aux Deux Lions 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Aux deux Lions is a prestigious and small boutique hotel located in the upper part of Quebec City and near Old Quebec City.Upper Quebec City is renowned for its calm, its architecture and gardens. Our hotel is located at a walking distance from all major landmarks of Quebec City and Old Quebec City. The Auberge Aux Deux Lions hotel is within walking distance from Quebec Fine Arts Museum, Convention Center, Old Quebec fortifications, Plains of Abraham and The Château Frontenac, the most prestigious hotel in the Old Quebec. Facilities available at this uptown Quebec hotel are: parking, a breakfast room, shared kitchenettes with fridge, free internet, a garden and a private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Auberge Aux Deux Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Aux Deux Lions Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing