We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice and Accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Arrived to find that our reservations made through Expedia were never actually transferred to the Inn. Management was very accommodating despite our lack of reservation. They only had a room for one night, but quickly found us lodging for the next 2 nights at a nearby Inn of equal charm and value.

Our room was in the basement and very small, but the bed was comfortable, room clean, shower hot and the A/C unit almost silent. We enjoyed our one night, but more than one night in this small room might have been trying. Only issue (besides the reservation snafu, which was not the Inn's fault) - one of the two owners barely speaks any English and communication was quite difficult. The other owner spoke a little more English and Spanish, making communication a little better. The young lady at the desk the next morning spoke English very well and was very helpful guiding us through some walking tours from the Inn to the walled City and back as well as some wonderful restaurant suggestions. There is a rooftop seating area / lounge that I suspect is quite lovely to use in the evening.

Bottom line - The Inn is in a great location for walking the City and accessing many restaurants. Our room was very small but comfortable. We would stay here again (in a larger room) after verifying our reservations.

Room Tip: Room in the basement is very small (although clean and comfortable) - okay for one night, but I susp...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank archman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
There are newer reviews for Auberge Aux Deux Lions
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Joseph, Philippe and Eliane put a great deal of effort into making your stay pleasant. They create a very convivial atmosphere that encourages the guests to be comfortable with one another. The breakfast is just fine (thanks, Philippe, for those authentic French croissants!). The location is ideal, close enough to the old city wall, lovely neighborhood with convenient stores and cafés. Our room was nice and cool, making for good sleeping even at summer's peak.

There is a nice, small, top floor terrace where we enjoyed sitting with a drink in the evening, and watching the locals stroll by in this obviously, extremely safe neighborhood.

The facility is immaculate. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zantepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We cannot say enough positive about Auberge aux deux lions. The owners were warm and accommodating, the rooms spacious, clean and cool in the hot summer, comfortable, and our daughter's practicing her bass was well received (we were taking her to a nearby music festival, Domaine Forget, also a beautiful place). Perhaps best of all are the fresh croissants made by Philippe each morning. It was just like being in France. We loved being nearby the rue Cartier with great restaurants including Graffiti. Got wonderful guidance from the owners and front desk about where to go. We had a challenge travelling with the very large bass in its flight case, a family of 4, and luggage, and this place was perfect. We highly recommend Auberge Aux Deux Lions!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Recently stayed two nights in this three star hotel. Friendly staff, some of whom spoke English, one spoke Spanish, otherwise got along okay with my limited French. Nice continental breakfast for $9.50. Fifteen rooms of decent size, quiet, free wifi, reasonable amenities, slightly musty smell .. maybe carpet needs cleaning. Parking is $15/ night and worth it compared to in town. Walk to Old Town in 10 minutes, either of the two wall gate entrances. Lots of restaurants in other direction on Rue Cartier.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Farrapo229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

10-min walk to the Old City, clean and cozy room and premises, well-equipped kitchen to share, but most important is that the staff is very friendly and helpful (they helped us in elaborating very efficient itineraries).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Viktor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a nice place to stay in Quebec City. Good location and close to old town. There is a shared living room and kitchen which is perfect for people travelling with young kids. The owner and the staff are very nice, giving us a lot ideas and advice about the old town, restaurant, etc. Will definitely choose this hotel if I get a chance to travel to Quebec City again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The people were very friendly and helpful. Good location close to the old city. The rooms were pleasant, if a bit small and the water pressure in the shower was awful. We didn't have the breakfast as it was rather pricey. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jan_hersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,548 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,626 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Aux Deux Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Address: 25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £70 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Aux Deux Lions 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Aux deux Lions is a prestigious and small boutique hotel located in the upper part of Quebec City and near Old Quebec City.Upper Quebec City is renowned for its calm, its architecture and gardens. Our hotel is located at a walking distance from all major landmarks of Quebec City and Old Quebec City. The Auberge Aux Deux Lions hotel is within walking distance from Quebec Fine Arts Museum, Convention Center, Old Quebec fortifications, Plains of Abraham and The Château Frontenac, the most prestigious hotel in the Old Quebec. Facilities available at this uptown Quebec hotel are: parking, a breakfast room, shared kitchenettes with fridge, free internet, a garden and a private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Aux Deux Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Aux Deux Lions Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing