We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise, more than we expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
West Islip, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise, more than we expected.”
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We had a wonderful stay in Quebec City recently at Auberge Aux deux Lions. We expected a traditional B&B but it is more a boutique hotel. The accommodations were spotless, tastefully decorated and welcoming. Innkeeper Jean-Francois is a master at hospitality. There is parking available on premises and you are just a short (15 minute) stroll to the beginning of the walled Old Quebec City. Great restaurants are as close as a few doors down and also just around the corner. One evening Jean-Francois even stopped in where we were having dinner to make sure his recommendation was to our liking (and it was). It is definitely a place we would return to when visiting Quebec.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuyTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    116
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
198
488
50
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

My family stayed in two standard rooms at the Auberge Aux deux Lions for a weekend in mid-August. The standard rooms do not live up to all the very high reviews. Both rooms were very small. The one standard room had a separate bathroom outside the room and across the hallway. The second standard room was in the basement where the bathroom vented into the room itself. As the bathroom and the room had no exhaust vents going outside, the room was somewhat damp and musty when you turn on the fan to vent the bathroom. We opened the room window, but it did not help much. I wish I was warned about the standard rooms. I would have spent a bit more for two better rooms which I suspect would have left a better impression of the place.

Jean-Francois was very nice man and the place was well kept. While the location is just 20 minutes from Old Quebec City, it is up hill from the old town. Going into the old city was fine, but walking back makes for hearty exercise at night after dinner and sightseeing.

I would not recommend the standard rooms and my comments only reflect my experience with the standard rooms. This is not a B&B, breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

My stay at this hotel was FANTASTIC! It was extremely clean and the service was great. The owner was warm and informative, providing valuable recommendations and information. I felt safe and looked after .The location is perfect. Walking distance to all the attractions.
I recommend this hotel without reservations.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Well situated auberge for visiting Quebec City, near the "in" street Cartier where you can eat and shop. Extremely helpful owner. Rooms were clean and modern.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GazooOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Both the room and common spaces are very nice and clean. The host is a great chat and ready to help. The location is also good: between the park and the old city, never needed to get a bus or anything!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

What an amazing time we had at Auberge Aux deux Lions. Warm, friendly, home like. I did not expect this kind of treatment and have never been treated in this manner in all of my travels. Jean Francois is just like a brother. He went out of his way for my Aunt and Uncle visiting from Italy. You can't help but love him.
Thanks a lot for the Memories
Jacqui and Maria

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaczook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Great location, clean and well appointed room, and a charming host make this a good alternative to the business/commercial hotels. Access to a small balcony, kitchenette and lounge give you plenty of room to move around while feeling at-home. East walk to many sights, restaurants and shopping. Our host, Jean Francois, was charming and helpful. We enjoyed a lovely stay and would recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krtravels25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,056 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
544 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Aux Deux Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Property: Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Address: 25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Aux Deux Lions 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Aux deux Lions is a prestigious and small boutique hotel located in the upper part of Quebec City and near Old Quebec City.Upper Quebec City is renowned for its calm, its architecture and gardens. Our hotel is located at a walking distance from all major landmarks of Quebec City and Old Quebec City. The Auberge Aux Deux Lions hotel is within walking distance from Quebec Fine Arts Museum, Convention Center, Old Quebec fortifications, Plains of Abraham and The Château Frontenac, the most prestigious hotel in the Old Quebec. Facilities available at this uptown Quebec hotel are: parking, a breakfast room, shared kitchenettes with fridge, free internet, a garden and a private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Auberge Aux Deux Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Aux Deux Lions Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing