We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good experience at Auberge Deux Lions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We didn't expect the Auberge to completely measure up to its advertising, but were immediately pleased with our choice after being greeted by our host, Jean-Francois, and his young assistant, Laurent, who could not have been more amiable and helpful. The remodeled and enlarged premises have been done with careful attention to details, and the rooms are handsome and spotless. The location is ideal, within easy walking distance to major sights and numerous good reataurants. The optional continental breakfast was good, but we would have enjoyed a somewhat larger menu. Not to worry, full breakfast is available at nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank marcopl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2010

We booked a room via an internet agent. As we arrived we had to realize that the booking did not come through and that the hotel was fully booked. Although this was not the fault of the hotel, the owner did not stop before he had found another place for us for this night.
The following two days we had a great stay at the Aux deux Lions. Our room was in the newbuilt section in back, it was spacy, quiet and tastfully decorated. The hotel is located in a lively and not mainly touristic area while the sites are still easy to reach in a 10 minutes walk.
The host was very helpful, giving us good advice where to dine and what to see.
Our teenager son especially enjoyed that there was a free internet access with a provided computer.
So the three of us felt very at home and had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sosi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay at Aux Deux Lions for several reasons. First of all, Jean-Francois was very welcoming, and immediately made us feel comfortable. He gave us great restaurant suggestions and even helped us make reservations once. It was great, like staying at the home of a friend. Much nicer than an impersonal hotel.

Secondly, the location was great. It was just outside the old city walls near a bunch of restaurants and shops. So we got to feel like we were experiencing the real Quebec, eating and hanging out with the locals. But we could also easily walk to all the touristy sites during the day, and we didn't really need our car to sight-see.

Finally, the accommodations themselves were great. We stayed in the new section in back, and we didn't hear any street noise or any other guests, even though the place was fully booked. The suite we had was spacious, and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and nicely decorated.

All in all, it was a wonderful place to stay and a great value with a really welcoming host. We highly recommend it, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerund1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Our visit started inauspiciously - we were dropped off by a friend and she pulled into the driveway for a moment so we could unload our bags. The owner ran out to tell us to not block the driveway, neglecting to ask if we were guests or welcome us. We were a bit taken aback, but concluded that the driveway must be a sore point. After that, a younger guy checked us in and was very nice, but we really didn't get much help from him. For example, when I asked him to look up a restaurant for us, he did so, but then he didn't offer to make a reservation for us - he just wrote down the phone number and handed it to me. My French is shaky so I would have appreciated it if he had offered to help with reservations and other phone calls. When we asked for information about the trains to Montreal he told us to ask at the train station or the tourist office, or said we could use the wireless in our room (but we told him we didn't have a laptop along since we were travelling for vacation). There's no computer at the hotel for guest use, and he wasn't willing to look up the train schedule for us on the computer at the front desk even though he wasn't busy. After that we mostly didn't see the owner, so we don't really have other interactions to judge by.

The hotel is cute from the outside, and the main building is old. The rooms there may be nice, but our room was in a motel-like annex out back. The hallways smelled like new carpet and chemicals, so they must have recently renovated. The room had no character - just a box with wall-to-wall carpet and a tiny bathroom. There wasn't even a dresser or any drawers or shelves for putting anything, so we had to just pile our stuff on the twin bed that was in the corner. The window looked out on a parking lot and was sealed shut, so we had no choice but to use the air conditioner. Unfortunately the air conditioner was loud and cycled off-and-on all night, waking me up constantly (I'm a fairly light sleeper). The shower was a tiny stall, and the water pressure was a trickle which took forever to get hot.

The Auberge is fairly far from the old town (about a 20 minute walk), which feels like a haul at the end of the day, but it is located in a cute residential neighborhood near a nice street with some good restaurants and cafes. So overall we ended up being happy enough with the location.

We had come from Montreal where we stayed at the Auberge Bonaparte (and loved it). This place cost almost the same amount, and it just didn't compare on any level. I wouldn't go back there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

It is a challenge to find a reasonably priced room with 3 "real" beds (not a pull-out sofa), especially if you are looking for a cosy B&B feeling. If for no other reason, Auberge aux Deux Lions is a great find. Now add the fact that the host is one of the nicest, most helpful people you will ever meet, plus the location is walking distance from just about everything - and you have a real gem. Our two teenagers were happy that they did not have to share a bed, and it was handy to have a fridge and access to a microwave too. This is also an environmentally conscious enterprise, so we appreciated the incentive for our hybrid vehicle.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheRoad35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed at the Auberge for one night only on our way home from the Maritimes. Jean-Francois, the very charming owner of the hotel greeted us with the same warmth and friendliness you’d expect from long time friends. The European style hotel was immaculate, and our room – the Standard on the lower level of the newer part of the hotel – even though smaller than some of the other rooms, was well-appointed, modern and very comfortable. Along with the ensuite washroom with shower, everything was so clean that it seemed like we were the first guests to stay in the room. Because it was the only room in this area of the hotel, there was absolutely no noise and it was very private. In the hallway adjacent to the room there was a small refrigerator for our personal use along with a variety of glasses – wine and water, and even a corkscrew. Through this hallway, we could access a cozy private garden which had a bench and a small bistro table with 2 chairs where we could sit and admire the flowers and enjoy a glass of wine. We took advantage of a dinner package at a nearby restaurant suggested by Jean-Francois and enjoyed a wonderful four course gourmet dinner including wine and port – very good value for the price. Even though the hotel is outside the old city gates, it is only about a 15 minute walk to the old city. Our only regret was that we were not staying longer. Jean-Francois’s hospitality, attention to detail to ensure the comfort of his guests and the charm of the hotel put Quebec City and the Auberge on our short list of return destinations. We would not bother to research any other accommodations – shouldn’t mess with success.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundance46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night and had a great time. The hotel owner/manager upgraded us to a nice room at no extra cost, the room is very clean, with an ensuite bathroom with shower and hair dryer. There is a big kitchen in the auberge that has a fridge and microwave and toaster and everything you can think of! There is also iron, ironing table, breakfast table, what have you. The hotel is 20 minutes walk to the old town and Jean-Francois (owner) helped us with lots of tips and recommendations. Very fast internet is free with the room and the parking is an additional 12$ or so per day.
We highly recommend this hotel for the great service and the beautiful rooms that look like they have been recently renovated. It sure felt like one of those Paris auberges that I went to before.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salmamassoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,662 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
597 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Aux Deux Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aux Deux Lions

Address: 25 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £63 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Aux Deux Lions 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Aux deux Lions is a prestigious and small boutique hotel located in the upper part of Quebec City and near Old Quebec City.Upper Quebec City is renowned for its calm, its architecture and gardens. Our hotel is located at a walking distance from all major landmarks of Quebec City and Old Quebec City. The Auberge Aux Deux Lions hotel is within walking distance from Quebec Fine Arts Museum, Convention Center, Old Quebec fortifications, Plains of Abraham and The Château Frontenac, the most prestigious hotel in the Old Quebec. Facilities available at this uptown Quebec hotel are: parking, a breakfast room, shared kitchenettes with fridge, free internet, a garden and a private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Auberge Aux Deux Lions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Aux Deux Lions Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing