We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entrance to the hotel does not do it justice!”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Well located, the staff was excellent at this small hotel. There is parking next to the hotel and walking in the walls of the old city is convenient from here. Breakfast is delightful. Service is excellent. Rooms are just fine and the price was more reasonable than some of the others, though near $200 per night after all the taxes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susantobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night. It was a nice location and very central to the various parts of Quebec City. The reception staff was not very welcoming when we arrived, but later on they were okay. It was raining outside, and they didn't have any umbrellas for the guests to borrow so that was a little annoying, we had to go purchase one from a nearby store. The room was clean and we had a mini fridge so that was nice. Breakfast was nice, I may stay here again but not for a lengthy stay. I don't think it is worth the $230 room rate. I'd rather stay at Marriott.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuLuCor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a great hotel. It would be easily a five star if it had more facilities. However, if you dont need a gym or pool then look no further. The rooms are really good and have everything you want. Breakfast is included and has two hot (warm) selections and a variety of cold. Although not extensive it got us going each day. Breakfast room is small but I didnt see anyone waiting for a table in peak season. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is great being in the middle of old Quebec. Our room, 51, overlooked the city.
Only slight downside, and this is not unique, is that an earlier check in would have been appreciated. However our room was upgraded so please dont take this as a major gripe.
I dont rave too often about hotels but this is a really nice place to stay. Oh, take a book in the lift as its a bit slow.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Tallguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The rooms are big and with a lot of space: pretty ok also for 4 people. Reception people quite kind and fully available. From location stand point not more than 5 minutes walking distance from old city and turistic area. All in all a good choice but not great. Hotel and room are old and the moquette in the room is not fresh . Note sure price performance is ok

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We were in Quebec City July 3-5. The hotel is within walking distance of everything in the old part of the city. Reserve your parking spot early. I booked online a few months before our stay. The breakfast is good and there is variety for the two mornings we were there. The two ladies cleaning up in the breakfast area were very pleasant. We and the other couple we were traveling with we're put in two rooms in the old section so there was no elevator. We had to lug our suitcases up the flight of stairs but fortunately we had smaller carry-ons. Our friends had larger suitcases and the husbands had to haul them up. That area would not be for an older couple. Our room was very pleasant and had air conditioning. The window areas needed repainting (much needed) but they had a pleasant view. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Everything about this place is perfect. Location is ideal! The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and big enough. The bathroom was modern and well maintained. Breakfast in the morning was great and the espresso machine was a treat. I would go back in a minute.
We debated between Frontenac and Champlain. We visited Frontenac to see what we were "missing" and we were happy we chose Champlain. Much more friendlier and personal.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbyL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The Hotel Champlain is a Great Boutique Style Hotel.
My family was just there for 5 days to take in the “Bell Quebec Concert Series” and
the location of the hotel couldn’t have been better. Close to All the Restaurants
and a short walk to the main Stage in the Park.
The Rooms were Nice and roomy we had a King Size Bed with a TV,
Air Conditioning, a good size refrigerator a sitting area and a Jacuzzi Tub
Plus the regular tub in the bathroom. Our room was on the 4th floor right over rue Sainte – Anne
and we could not hear any of the traffic below. My son and his friend were on the 5th floor in the back
Overlooking a private courtyard again quite as can be!
The Parking was tight and, I can’t complain, it was right there at the building Not Off Site!
The Staff was great and there for anything we needed like things to do and directions.
Breakfast was included and was just right to get the day started!
Some days there was Crepes or Waffles and there was always Orange Juice, Bagels and Cream Cheese,
Cereal these little Meat Pies that my wife loved.
The Real Star of the Show was the Coffee Machine in the Lobby sitting area. It made everything from
Single Shot & Long Shot Espresso’s, Cappuccino’s, Latte’s & Hot Chocolate.
I spent the week trying to figure out how to take it apart and put it in my luggage!

Room Tip: We were in the Front of the Hotel Rm 41 & My Son was in Rm 56 in the back, both were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £72 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing