We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You had us at 24 hour espresso machine!”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We absolutely LOVED staying here while on our honeymoon in Quebec City. The hotel is modern but surrounded by historic buildings. It is right next to where the "Crimes in New France" tour meets. One of the hotel staff members was nice enough to talk to us about the tour and even call in to set it up for us.Very helpful staff, VERY nice rooms, and a 24 hour espresso and latte machine. What else do you need?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,023)
There are newer reviews for Le Champlain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

942 - 948 of 2,023 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Perfectly located within the fortified old city, 2 minutes to the Chateau Frontenac, restaurants and shopping strips. We received an upgrade to a deluxe room which was huge! No coffee/tea provided in room, but available downstairs 24hours. Breakfast varied everyday and was great - homemade and healthy options. Free WIFi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenC8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We loved our recent getaway to Quebec City, thanks to Le Champlain Hotel. This quaint affordable hotel was ideal from courteous staff to the convenient parking, from the spacious queen room to the delicious continental breakfast. The location is superb as we were able to get the most from our perfect two day getaway. We'll definitely recommend Le Champlain Hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fikistein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Le Champlain is a charming hotel within the walled City of Old Quebec. It's in the perfect location for taking in all the sites in Old Quebec and is within walking distance to everything - Chateau Frontenac, Notre Dame, the Farmers Market, the waterfront, shopping, and dining. We stayed in a king room which had plenty of space for two people. The bathoom was very small but has been updated. The hotel serves a decent continental breakfast each morning with pastries, yogurt, cheese, hardboiled eggs, fruit, and a hot item. They also have a coffee, cappucinno, espresso, and hot chocolate machine that is available and accessible around the clock. This is wonderful to have......I definitely drank my share of the delicious hot chocolate! The staff at the front desk if friendly and helpful and speak several languages (French, English, and Spanish at least). There is onsite parking if you arrive by car but be sure to reserve a spot in advance. Also be advised to come in a small car....the spots are VERY TIGHT and difficult to get in and out of.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karpedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at Le Champlain Hotel in Quebec City (the old city) during the Canadian Thanksgiving. It was centrally located and accessible to all attractions. The room was clean and comfortable. Parking is available on premises for a fee, but worth the cost. The staff was warm, hospitable, courteous, helpful and professional. Breakfast was included. There was also a brewed coffee/hot chocolate machine available 24/7. We heartily recommend a stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room with a view on a higher floor. We think room 42 has a pretty view. If you leave t...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I may be biased as I am a repeat visitor to this hotel for 10 years yet this is my 1st review on Tripadvisor.
Location:perfect for the old city,just leave the car&walk everywhere.
Service:great,efficient,with a smile,fully bilingual.
Room:after renovations,panoramic windows over city,fireplace,chic combination of classic&modern furniture,great bed&linens.
Lobby:love the 24/7 espresso machine
Breakfast:healthy fare(loved the watermelon slices)&delicious Quebec touches.
Parking:small, must be reserved ahead.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Le Champlain was a really wonderful hotel. The staff is extremely pleasant, cheerful, and helpful. The breakfast buffet is more than adequate. The room we had was spacious, nicely decorated , clean and well-tended. The location is terrific in terms of convenience to Old City features and attractions and restaurants.. We were there for four nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJTraveler628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £73 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing