We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but needs renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean but needs renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed at the Champlain hotel last week. It was just ok. It need to be renovated. The beds are due to be changed. The door of the bathroom creeks so every time someone goes to the bathroom at night, it wakes up the other person. The breakfast was not great. We ended up going for breakfast at a restaurant the second morning even though breakfast is included. It was very clean. It's a simple hotel room. I would not go back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Sensfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    533
    102
    18
    15
See reviews for
343
1,021
72
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Very convenient location, personable and helpful staff, Euro style rooms, meaning a bit small but quality. If I were to stay inside the walls of Old Quebec City again, I would consider staying here a second time.

Room Tip: Valet parking option as of this writing was $23 per day. Limited parking available at the hotel for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We absolutely LOVED staying here while on our honeymoon in Quebec City. The hotel is modern but surrounded by historic buildings. It is right next to where the "Crimes in New France" tour meets. One of the hotel staff members was nice enough to talk to us about the tour and even call in to set it up for us.Very helpful staff, VERY nice rooms, and a 24 hour espresso and latte machine. What else do you need?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Perfectly located within the fortified old city, 2 minutes to the Chateau Frontenac, restaurants and shopping strips. We received an upgrade to a deluxe room which was huge! No coffee/tea provided in room, but available downstairs 24hours. Breakfast varied everyday and was great - homemade and healthy options. Free WIFi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenC8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We loved our recent getaway to Quebec City, thanks to Le Champlain Hotel. This quaint affordable hotel was ideal from courteous staff to the convenient parking, from the spacious queen room to the delicious continental breakfast. The location is superb as we were able to get the most from our perfect two day getaway. We'll definitely recommend Le Champlain Hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fikistein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Le Champlain is a charming hotel within the walled City of Old Quebec. It's in the perfect location for taking in all the sites in Old Quebec and is within walking distance to everything - Chateau Frontenac, Notre Dame, the Farmers Market, the waterfront, shopping, and dining. We stayed in a king room which had plenty of space for two people. The bathoom was very small but has been updated. The hotel serves a decent continental breakfast each morning with pastries, yogurt, cheese, hardboiled eggs, fruit, and a hot item. They also have a coffee, cappucinno, espresso, and hot chocolate machine that is available and accessible around the clock. This is wonderful to have......I definitely drank my share of the delicious hot chocolate! The staff at the front desk if friendly and helpful and speak several languages (French, English, and Spanish at least). There is onsite parking if you arrive by car but be sure to reserve a spot in advance. Also be advised to come in a small car....the spots are VERY TIGHT and difficult to get in and out of.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karpedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart Manor, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at Le Champlain Hotel in Quebec City (the old city) during the Canadian Thanksgiving. It was centrally located and accessible to all attractions. The room was clean and comfortable. Parking is available on premises for a fee, but worth the cost. The staff was warm, hospitable, courteous, helpful and professional. Breakfast was included. There was also a brewed coffee/hot chocolate machine available 24/7. We heartily recommend a stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room with a view on a higher floor. We think room 42 has a pretty view. If you leave t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Property: Le Champlain Hotel
Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing