We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Been here for 3 nights the first time and came back for another night on my second business trip. The warm and kind staff is what makes the difference! Oh and the renovated original pretty rooms, and the delicious complete free breakfast.. and free wifi, and location, and nice pressure in the showers, and cable and parking.. etc etc. you get the idea ;) This hotel exceeded my expectations! It's the best quality/price ratio you'll find in the old Quebec. I booked for a regular room and even had a room upgrade without any charge :) Amazing. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,224
    607
    114
    22
    15
See reviews for
400
1,137
78
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel is on a quiet street in the middle of Vieux Quebec. Staff are courteous, friendly, and helpful. The rooms are well-appointed and beds are comfortable. It is an easy walk to shopping, restaurants, museums, you name it. The information center for Quebec also is only a short walk and they are a treasure trove for visitors.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rw15048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I am from the US and stayed here on business with a professional association meeting. We got very good group rates. The hotel is historic and is beautiful - such rich history - and is located in the old part of Quebec - convenient to restaurants, shopping, etc. Management and staff were polite and accommodating. Rooms were comfortable and bed was very good. Staying in a older hotel you can expect that not everything is perfect - I love them for the atmosphere. There was nothing negative that would keep me from going back. My only issue was having to lug my own suitcases down a hall that had stairs. We didn't eat at the hotel as we wanted to try restaurants in the town. I LOVE that they have a Bernese Mountain Dog who lives in the hotel and stays in the lobby area. You can take him for walks. He is adorable and loves to have his belly rubbed. Nice personal feel to the hotel. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLynne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

You could easily overlook Le Champlain, its facade is very discreet, but that would be a mistake. Inside, a warm welcome, well-appointed rooms, and more await. My husband and I have stayed in many accommodations in Quebec City since we started coming in the early eighties. Le Champlain has become a favorite hotel because of its superb location, appealing amenities and fine value. We recently stayed 4 nights during Winter Carnival in the hotel's suite with kitchenette. It was great to have a big closet to tuck away all of our bulky winter gear, a comfy couch and chairs to lounge in before the atmospheric electric fireplace, a super-luxe king bed in its own alcove, a nice bathroom and a cooking/dining area to have our indoor picnics and, on top of that, two big windows to let in the morning sun with stunning views onto the old city rooftops, including the iconic Chateau Frontenac and (if you lean out a bit) the Edifice Price. We were blessed with great weather, so we were out taking advantage of live music events, but had we been inclined to stay in our nest, we would have enjoyed the large flat-screen TV and DVD player in the suite. We did make good use of the bedside iPod dock. As others have mentioned, a changing selection of help-yourself breakfast is available off the lobby to have in the pleasant dining rooms or take up. We definitely took advantage of the marvelous magic espresso-cappuccino-hot chocolate machine downstairs too---just the thing for the start, middle or end of the day. From Le Champlain it's an easy walk to the Plains of Abraham, the main site of Carnival activities and to shopping and any number of great restaurants and several market places. We hopefully managed to burn off all of the calories we consumed by making numerous jaunts between Upper and Lower Towns. We had reserved a parking space on site, so it was super-convenient to load and unload during arrival and departure and also when we took a side trip one day to go hiking at Cap Tourmente. All of the personnel made us feel as if we were coming and going from our own home - albeit one with service! When we were out one day, we met a local couple who asked where we were staying. They were familiar with the location, which they agreed is stellar and inquired if the hotel was "clean," should they need to make a recommendation to friends. Our reply? Clean is only the beginning; Le Champlain sparkles in every way. It is a true find and we hope to find ourselves back many times in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tellurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here January 31 to February 2, 2014. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful in answering questions about how to get to places. It is located in the old city and within walking distance of great eating, shopping and sightseeing. The room was very comfortable and they provide a great continental breakfast which is extensive in its choices. The coffee machine in the sitting area was great to come back to after being out in the cold.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Vernon, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel provides the charm of a European like experience with personal care, (even guided me into parking spot) and excellent restaurant information. Most all employees suffered through my poor French and with willing smiles, helped my wife and I in English. The Le Petite Dejuener is excellent for included breakfast,
Monsieur Patza

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hardalee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent our wedding anniversary in Quebec and book this hotel for our stay. On arrival, we were upgraded to a room with a view and received a special gift for our anniversary! The location is great - within walking distance to everything (except the Ice Hotel, if you want to make a side trip). Free breakfast, free coffee all day and free wi-fi also. The staff is very accommodating. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Property: Le Champlain Hotel
Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing