We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great choice for a visit to Quebec City”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a great choice for a visit to Quebec City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed three nights toward the end of March. Le Champlain has a great location - all the upper and lower town tourist locations are within a very easy walk. Our room was quiet and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent and starts your day off well, with lots of choices. The 24 hour coffee/hot chocolate/tea machine was an appreciated extra, especially because of the cold weather. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms have either a view of the Chateau Frontenac of the Laurentian hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ERS800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    533
    102
    18
    15
See reviews for
343
1,021
72
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel, which was in a great location, within walking distance to everything in old Quebec. The renovations were extremely well done, the room was very clean, quiet, service excellent, and we loved the espresso/coffee/tea available 24/7. The included breakfast in the morning was superb. I would defintiely recommend this hotel, and certainly would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed for two nights in March and found it to be of excellent value. The room was comfortable and quiet. The included breakfast is a nice feature. The staff is very friendly and they go out of their way to ensure that you have a good stay in Quebec City. We'll book here again the next time we're in Quebec City.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSRTrainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is in upper town just a few steps away from the Château Frontenac and few other attractions. It was really cold when we were there and hard to stay out for long. But due to its great location we could roam a bit, come back to our room, take a break and go back. All day long free coffee, hot chocolate service was amazing. The only minor complaint I had was the breakfast menu. We did not find the options that good and that left us wanting more. Do not forget to reserve a parking spot along with your room reservation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night In March and it was good value. Small but clean 3 star level rooms.

Our room was advertised as having a queen sized bed. In reality it was more like a small double bed. And the bedding quality was average. The room however was silent.

Breakfast was good and a nice feature was free coffee 24/7 from a really nice machine.

Major letdown was lack of parking space. We had to park on the street and got fined for not making the meter one morning...

Still a good value for money hotel.




Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candiac, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We loved our room. It was big and quiet. We stayed in the old part of the hotel which I strongly recommend! Also, the hotel was very accommodating and provided us with multiple choice breakfast. Good location!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic. The staff was very nice and the included breakfast perfect. The coffee machine that you can as you want is a very good idea !
Our room was very clean and quite and we also had a great view. The decoration of the bathroom was very nice and the decoration of the room itself was simple but quite classy.
I recommend it !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathilde D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Property: Le Champlain Hotel
Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing