We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little hotel”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good little hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Had King bed suite with kitchenette. Good size room for 2 people plus maybe few kids. Not recommended for 2 couples. Clean, decent size kitchenette with stove, fridge, and microwave, dinning table, recently renovated bathroom (at least it looks renovated). Great breakfast considering they don't even have restaurant on site, lobby has small hangout area with very good espresso machine, garage parking right outside the hotel. As I understood this is the only room in hotel with kitchenette, windows get a view of backyard and some view of Castle. Located right in the center, 5 min walk to everything. Recommend you visit waterfalls that are 15 min drive, great place to spend half a day. Also on Fridays and Saturdays Clarendon hotel around the corner has live jazz nights, also cool.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolyan2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    606
    114
    22
    15
See reviews for
399
1,136
78
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We flew into Old Quebec a day before our cruise left so we could do some sightseeing. Staff was friendly, bi-lingual and very helpful in giving directions and offering things to do. Room was immaculate and very upscale in decor. Quiet street; ghost tour met right across the street. Within walking distance to wonderful restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. No need for taxis! Price was very, very reasonable too!

Room Tip: We had a corner room facing the street on the 2nd floor - very, very quiet street. Wonderful light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We arrived to Old Quebec to find this treasure of a place! The rooms are a bit dated but everything is superb. Amazing bath fixtures, great quality of sleeping quarters and a large bed and room. The continental breakfast is one of the best I've ever had and the selection of food was second to none. The expresso machine in the entrance way was a great idea and being able to enjoy a hot cup of anything was inspiring. It may not be 5* but the cozy atmosphere that this gem brings makes up for the little things that are lacking. i.e(bathrobes, slippers, turn down service) I would recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Quebec City!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sporty1Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middletown, ri
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Le Champlain Hotel was a 5 minute stroll from the hotel to both the Chateau Frontenac and terrace overlooking the St Lawrence and the St Louis entrance to the citadel.

Located in the heart of the city with a very nice buffet breakfast (changed daily) and warm, nicely decorated rooms. We had the pleasure of dinner at its restaurant " Pain Beni" , just down Rue St Anne, which was a superb meal-one of the best meals I've had to date. This hotel would be my pick again for the next stay!.

Mike and Bonnie, Middletown, RI

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeslein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights and days. May 20-22. The staff was helpful and friendly, and communicated perfectly in both english and french.
The morning started with a wonderful complementory breakfast in a bright dining area.
The room was comfortable,clean and spacious.
The location on Rue ST. Anne was ideal for walking throughout the old city,and out, going west to Grand Alle.
Quebec City is a wonderful place to explore, and Hotel Champlain added to the experience.

Room Tip: They are all quite equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelmaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberts Creek, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I enjoy the small, distinctive European hotels. Hôtel Champlain Vieux reminds me of those hotels. And old Quebec is a very European city. Close to shops, good restaurants, the conference centre and loads of history, it more than met the bill -- and didn't deliver a big bill.

Delightful breakfast, each day a little different, coffee and espresso available 24/7, very comfortable room (I was upgraded to a Junior Suite with a spa and a welcoming bottle of champagne). And excellent wifi.

Room Tip: My room faced Rue St. Anne and was very quiet. Pleasant view, as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMoonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our family stayed at the Le Champlain for 3 nights in May. We booked the 2 queen suite which was the perfect size room. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom looked newly renovated and the water pressure in the shower was powerful. The full length mirror which was hiding in the closet could have been placed in a more convenient location in the room. The bed comfort was ok. We had a view of the Chateau Frontenac which is lit up at night. All hotel staff we encountered were friendly and helpful answering our questions. Conversing in English was not a problem. All the sites were within walking distance. You could tell the food served at the complimentary breakfast buffet was made fresh on site. There was good variety. I loved the crepes especially. There was access to the espresso machine 24/7. Be patient waiting for an elevator because there is only 1.
I would not hestiate to book the Le Champlain again if staying in Quebec city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Property: Le Champlain Hotel
Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing