We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, quiet and convenient”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #14 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quaint, quiet and convenient”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

OK, I'm giving this hotel a 4 stars - and it has everything to do with the hotel itself and nothing to do with the staff, which I found to be just tolerable. The hotel is situated in a perfect location, close enough to walk to everything, yet tucked away on a fairly quiet street. The rooms are a good size, with comfortable beds, a decent-sized bathroom and a mini-fridge. They stock the bathrooms for two people, even if you have booked a room with two queens for four people. So we did have to keep bothering Housekeeping for more towels - each day. Breakfast was very good, with the usual breads, cereals,etc, but with an additional hot dish each day (crepes, quiches, etc.).
The staff: I did notice that some people were treated very well, so it's not as though they weren't friendly or helpful, they just choose who to be friendly and helpful to. We are Americans who don't speak French, and I feel this had something to do with it. I chose to ignore it and enjoy my stay and not worry that we weren't acknowledged as others were. Bottom line is that the hotel is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hnewheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    571
    105
    20
    15
See reviews for
360
1,083
76
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
naples
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Up and down and sideways through the often one way streets amongst mass confusion and construction (......and we had a GPS!), we arrived in front of the hotel and missed our only opportunity for parking, a sign that said 10 mnt parking on a "one way street ", filled with traffic caused by a detour. The polite people behind us backed up to let us parallel park, whew! We crossed the street and entered the hotel into a very tight lobby area. We checked in, no bellman, We carried our luggage across the street into the hotel. Handed our keys to a valet who parked our car for $20.00 overnight. The bellman who took our bags from the lobby to the room were the women at the front desk who check us in. The check in process is very professional. The rooms are much nicer in person than in the pictures on the website and are immaculately kept. Our room window literally looked at a brick wall and a window looking back at us that we could touch if we leaned out our window! All of that being said, we absolutely loved this hotel! Our last trip we stayed at Auberge St. Antoine (rated #1 trip advisor..... for forever). Hotel Champlain was quiet, comfortable, impeccable, and in a fabulous location (about 5 mnt walk to Chateau Frontenac, the city center). Beds are sooo comfortable. They have this amazing free coffee, espresso, chocolate machine in the lobby with heated cups! They serve breakfast everyday until 11:00am. Breakfast is served in a small room. The food is so well thought out and such a complete breakfast with a wonderful variety. Homemade quiche, hard boiled eggs, fresh baked croissants, fresh baked breads, homemade yogurt, homemade jams, tons of cereal choices, real china and real silverware......and did I mention the amazing coffee machine?? This hotel is the little engine that could!! They have made the most of everything that they have to offer. We did have help from an actual bellman when we left and they had our car pulled right up on the grass in front of the hotel, very easy exit! I just booked a second stay for our son next weekend. This will be our GO TO hotel in Quebec City from now on. Oh, make sure you book a reservation for your car when you book the room. The space is very limited. They offer Free Wi Fi as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lioness6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My girlfriend and I were very slow at deciding which hotel to book for our quebec trip, simply because there were plenty of options. The two factors to consider in Quebec city are accessibility and service. This hotel had no bad reviews when we checked it out online and it had a unique style to it which sort of attracted us. After a tiresome week of debating we went ahead and booked Champlain. Keep in mind that the following is coming from a couple in their early 20s. When I booked the hotel over the phone, the ladies behind the desk were really kind and always tried to help. We even had got a free upgrade before getting there.

Overall here are the pros:

Service is fabulous, everyone is friendly and the front desk employees helped us out with every single aspect to our trip (entertainment, bars, lounges, restaurants, attractions, EVERYTHING).
The hotel is small so lines were never an issue.
There is a splendid coffee machine downstairs, quite a nice touch.
The room was clean and the cleaning lady was very friendly.
The view for the hotel is not splendid but it was perfect for us.
There is a docking station for iphones.
Washrooms were neat and clean.
Parking was accessible and we had our own private spot which was sort of neat.
The continental breakfast that’s included is above and beyond our expectations - really filling and had everything a normal breakfast menu would have.
Wifi was good, always worked.
One of the most important aspects to this hotel is the location (which was actually our base for choosing a hotel).
The hotel was a two minute walk from any main attraction in Old Quebec city, making it literally in the centre of everything.

Some cons:

Nothing that caught our eyes whats so ever. Parking was very affordable, compared to all other hotels in the area. Only thing that went wrong was a small leak which was cleaned up by the workers and never reappeared.

Few tips:
Get a room on the top floors which face the street not the back – better view.
Overall great place, great people, great service and overall great location to which we will return in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floors which face the street not the back – better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Loved this hotel. It is well situated up a small hill past a few interesting historic buildings. It is walking distance to everything you'd want to see and do and experience. Every encounter with everyone working with front desk services was exceptionally helpful, responsive to our needs and gracious. Breakfast is included and is both delicious and plentiful; it had varied choices and presentation was very appealing. Hot chocolate and various coffees are available around the clock in a cozy sitting area. I would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: we had room 29...if the roll away bed has been repaired, it's a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1sttimeinQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Centrally located a street above St Jean in the old city. Spacious rooms, very clean and wonderful staff. Would not stay anywhere else.

Our room had a city view. It has it's own parking, although it was full. If you reserve before arrival, they can secure a space for you.

The staff were really helpful and courteous.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d.c. area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful four-night stay in a fifth-floor suite. Room was surprisingly spacious for a boutique hotel in cramped Old Quebec. The bathroom was a standout feature of the room. In our many travels, it might have the best showerhead we've ever experienced. Now, if something like that is not important to you, well, understood. But for us, it's the little but important pleasure that enhance a stay.

TV had many stations in both French in English. Again, a small but important aspect in making the room that much more enjoyable. Despite being right beside the elevator, we never heard one person in the hall even though we know most of the rooms on our floor seemed occupied. The bed is sublime. The wifi works great. We just loved our room.

The front desk staff are wonderful! They are friendly and fun, but not in that corporate, practiced "mandatory" way. I know I laughed 4-5 times while checking in because of the woman's dry sense of humor. Same thing happened at checkout.

We didn't avail ourselves of the free breakfast, but when we walked in just to see what they had, it sure didn't look too appetizing. But we didn't care because we were more interested in sampling the many restaurants of the old city.

The location is supreme. There's almost no street noise and little pedestrian traffic, but all you have to do is go left, right or straight out of the hotel and in just a block you'll be in the center of things.

Parking is worth every cent. (Can't remember the cost...didn't matter because of the convenience.) However, you need to be pretty good at negotiating cramped quarters because the lot is tiny.

This hotel worked perfectly for us. Might seem pricey to some, but we did our time in Red Roofs and the like for years when we were younger. We feel we got our money's worth at Le Champlain!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of street side rooms. Pedestrians are few and not loud and you can hear the occ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stancapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

June 26/14
We had a wonderful vacation at this hotel. The staff were wonderful and very helpful .The accommadation was cheerful and bright. We wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.
Why it is only 3 stars I don't know, it certainly deserves more.
Murray Thornhill Ont

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freckles22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 102 in Quebec City
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Property: Le Champlain Hotel
Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing