We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An off season visti to Quebec City”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #16 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2008

As a Grade French Immersion student, my daughter asked if on our next holiday, could we go somewhere where she could practice her French. My friend and I seized the opportunity to take our daughters for an extended weekend getaway to Quebec City in the off season. Both girls have been studying the explorers and in particular Samuel de Champlain so this hotel seemed like a logical choice .... and a great choice it was!

To begin, we received a reduced rate because it was off season. Then when we arrived, not only did they accommodate us with an early check-in, the young lady at the desk decided to give us a bigger room ... complete with a small kitchenette, at no additional cost. The room was on the top floor of the older section and was so quaint with slanted ceilings and traditional quilts on the bed. We didn't use the kitchen facilities but for four of us, the extra space was greatly appreciated. On Saturday night when it rained making evening exploration less than desirable, we made good use of the table eating snacks and playing cards with our daughters.

The continental breakfast was quite adequate and the dining area very pleasant. The hotel staff was exceptionally helpful and both restaurants they recommended fit the bill perfectly.

The hotel is very centrally located on a not too busy street. The walks to the Chateau and shopping areas were up and down hills but that is to be expected in Quebec.

On Sunday, before heading to the airport, we rented a car for a few hours and made our way to Montemorency Falls and the Church of Ste Anne de Beaupre. We also took a quick drive over the bridge to Iles D'Orleans just to see the fall colours on our return trip. Cost of the car rental was less than the cost of a taxi to the airport.

All in all it was a great weekend and the hotel was outstanding. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burd825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,418 - 1,424 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2008

This is an Amazing hotel in the heart ot Old Quebec City. Rooms are fantastic, stylish and clean. You are in the heart of the most beautiful city in North America. Close to all sites, Excellent quality/price ratio. Would go again anytime!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank freheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

hotel agent was very friendly but not on arrival. room was very noisy very close to elevator and pricey. breakfast room was very small and not enough tables/chairs for all guest and found breakfast poor
found other hotels in the area at a better price with better facilities
not a bad hotel but beware

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank martytoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Our experience was exactly what we were prepared for after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. The room we requested was in the "Superior" category and had a view of the Chateau Frontenac (Room 47, by the way). The window opened onto the courtyard of the Ursuline Convent School so we didn't have to contend with any street noise. The staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast buffet was beyond expectation--hardboiled eggs, cheese, pork terrine, croissants, waffles, bagels, fresh fruit and stewed prunes, mueslix, a variety of breads, cereal, yogurt, coffee, cream, orange juice. I would suggest getting down to breakfast before 9 a.m., as the room seems to fill up fast after that.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Reading all the prior reviews for this hotel convinced us to stay here. We were not disappointed. There is a complimentary breakfast from 7-10 am including an espresso machine that is available all day. Our room included a queen size bed along with a sofa sleeper. Many hotels in the area do not have queen size beds. The location is walking distance to many tourist attractions. There is a computer for use in the lobby--also complimentary. We found the front desk very helpful when we needed assistance. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again if our travels lead us to Quebec City. Bring your walking shoes and enjoy this great town!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wabeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Stayed at Hotel Champlain during busy Labor Day weekend. Last minute booking, price rather high but to be expected during such a busy time. Experience at hotel excellent. Staff are so friendly and helpful, from the receptionists to the cleaning staff. Rooms are modern but still homely. Hotel has been updated to a high standard, but some things give away the age of the previous decor like doors and closets. Had not reserved parking space, so for first two days parked at SPAQ Hotel de Ville, which cost 24CAD, then changed to hotel parking lot when space became available. Location is extremely convenient to every part of the town that a tourist could want to access. All in all, very enjoyable stay, and to be highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sorcha011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2008

It was not easy to find a room, rather last minute, during high season and Quebec's 400th anniversary year. I was a little disappointed when our usual accommodations were sold out, but it was a delight to discover Le Champlain Hotel. The hote's rather lackluster facade is so discreet that you could walk past it without realizing it. Once you enter however, the imaginative renovation of this 1950's building will enchant you as will the welcoming staff. Many colorful and comfortable design touches make this boutique property uplifting. We found our room and bathroom well laid out and furnished (albeit the mattress was a bit too firm). Windows opened to the breezes, wireless Internet worked flawlessly, water pressure and temperature was excellent. We had plenty of room to relax. Truck traffic in the mornings was loud, but the rest of the time, the predominant sound was the clip-clop of the horses pulling caleches below us. Parking right at the hotel was very convenient; be sure to reserve a space when you book your room or you may have to park at the Hotel de Ville public parking. Breakfast was fine; a warm bread pudding was a nice touch. Try to avoid prime times however, because the traffic pattern of the breakfast room is awkward. Location is excellent for walking everywhere in Vieux Quebec and it's easy to drive in and out for further destinations, like the Ile d'Orleans. My favorite hotel in Quebec is still the Dominion 1912, but Le Champlain is a decent substitute, especially at a significantly lower price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tellurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £68 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing