We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my second time staying at this hotel. I returned because of the great location (near restaurants, the river, and the chateau in the upper city). The staff went above and beyond when we asked for assistance. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ruth1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our first visit to Quebec City and setting up our 3 night stay on the internet is always a bit daunting - everybody says they are the best, so whom can you trust?
Actually, in our opinion, you can trust this little gem, located right in the heart of the Old City and within easy walking range of everything we wanted to see and experience during our stay in this incredibly charming piece of "New France" just five hours away from our home in Maine. The staff at the reception desk was invariably polite and helpful, the complimentary breakfast was just right (with a wonderful group of folks making sure everything there was clean, neat and fully stocked!). Our room on the 4th floor was just right and we loved the cool bathroom sinks - koi fish glass wash bowls, no less! And the expresso/caffe au lait machine makes great stuff 24 hours a day too.
All in all, our stay at the Hotel Champlain was a pleasure and well worth the pirce. We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Canada with my husband and 17 year old twins... fabulous time! The Le Champlain Hotel is located right in the heart of Quebec City, which benefitted my family well with the amount of walking and sight seeing we wanted to accomplish. Along with an excellent location, this was a clean and extremely comfortable hotel (beds and linens were fantastic!) with warm and friendly staff who speak English as well French, and a complimentary delicious European breakfast is served daily. Take advantage of the onsite parking as it is worth the additional cost.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was perfect... we had from corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed two nights recently at the Champlain Hotel in Quebec City. We travelled with our daughter and her family. The hotel staff was excellent and very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and ready when we arrived. The continental breakfast was excellent with many choices. The coffee machine in the lobby made excellent coffee, hot chocolates, lattes etc.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent 3 nights in this boutique hotel situated in the Old Town and enjoyed the stay very much. It rained the whole time we were in Quebec city so we saw a bit more of the hotel than we expected but it did not disappoint. Surprising spacious room, spoiled only by have no view other than the wall of an adjoining empty building. The breakfast were included and simple but more than adequate. The all-day complementary tea, coffee, etc. was first rate. Staff were friendly and helpful. A very friendly, clean and well located hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you have front facing room if you want a view. However, bear in mind that the Old Town does n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Pleasant stay at Le Champlain Hotel for 4 nights. Conveniently centered in Old Quebec and within walking distance of numerous restaurants, museums, shops and bars. We parked our car on site (be sure to reserve a parking space when making your reservation) and didn't need to use it until the day we left. Our room had a limited view but was very clean and comfortable. Espresso machine in lobby is a nice touch. Staff were helpful and courteous. Bright, clean eating space for daily breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MOC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very roomy, 2 queen bedroom. Although an older building, it goes with the quaintness of Old Quebec City. Very clean and a very pleasant complimentary breakfast to look forward to every day, available from7-11am. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We faced the main road...4th floor and the sound of the horse and carts travelling up the road all n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACG117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £72 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing