We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel !”
Review of Le Champlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Champlain Hotel
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Located inside the walls of the Old city it is walking distance from restaurants, shopping and all major attractions. The beds here are comfortable with duvets, the room was very clean, good breakfast, the receptionists were especially kind and helpful to all our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melnic21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,018)
There are newer reviews for Le Champlain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2009

Well situated in Old Quebec, on a street lined with charming old houses, the Champlain is a more recent box-like structure.

Anyone familiar with modest 1950's apartment buildings will recognize it as such immediately. Low ceilings, gloomy hallways and a reception squeezed into a small dark lobby, between entrance and elevator, didn't make a good first impression.

We spent two nights in a standard double room on the 3rd floor. Our room was large and had a very nice bed but, the low ceiling and lack of daylight (window faced a brick wall) made it feel like a basement.

On the plus side, if you're looking for an apart'hotel-type place this could suit well. There was a mini fridge and a dining area (table and chairs) in the room and there's a microwave oven and a coffee maker downstairs.

Stayed: April 2009
1  Thank innaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

I chose to stay in this hotel in October 2008 after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and I was not disappointed. I stayed with my girlfriend for one evening in a superior room on the top floor (5th I believe) and once we opened the door we were amazed by the incredible view of city over looking the port. The room was uniquely decorated with nice little touches with the regular amenities, TV, clock radio, Wi-Fi, iron etc. The location is prime, on a quiet street in the heart of the old city (Vieux Québec) one block from rue St-Jean and just a few blocks walking distance away from “la terrasse Dufferin”. The staff was very nice, helpful and casually cool! The free espresso coffee in the lobby is a bonus, make a cup and take it to your room, no worries. Free Internet is provided in the lobby as well and the breakfast is continental, simple but good. We really enjoyed our stay at le Champlain Hotel and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Anders M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

I booked the Champlain Hotel after reading the Trip Advisor reviews and for the cost and location, this was a very good choice. It was a block to the main area of Vieux Quebec and all the shops and restaurants. It was also a quick walk into downtown Quebec City as well. The hotel itself was clean and the staff extremely helpful and nice. The rooms were definitely on the small side, but we spent most of our time exploring so we didn't mind. The breakfast was so-so, and there are so many offerings in the City, that I wouldn't waste my time with it. This was a good value overall and a good base of operations, but not particularly memorable otherwise.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sunshineDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

This hotel surpassed our expectations. The front facade and lobby aren't much to look at, but we were pleasantly surprised with several 'perks'. Adjacent to the lobby there is a nice sitting area with free computer access, chairs and couches, and a nice fireplace. Here you can find free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate throughout the day. Our room was bigger than expected, and had a good functional layout. Free breakfast was a plus, though it wasn't anything beyond the basics. It's better to go early, since the small space was incredibly crowded around 9am. There was one person at the front desk who was not very helpful, and actually bordered on being rude. Otherwise, the other staff were wonderful. One other minor downside was that there was a rather nasty chemical scent left behind after cleaning. We aired out the room during the day.
All in all, we had a very comfortable say. The location was also great. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LondonDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

I got this hotel for about $100 per night. That in mind, this place is outstanding.

Every staff member we encountered was beyond friendly to us (non.

The room was beautiful. The pictures here are very accurate. A bit unconventional in many ways, but it matches the eclectic style of the city of Quebec. The bed was a bit firm, and we could have used another blanket or two. Also, the side of the tub was unusually high, and we both ended up bumping our knees every time we got into the shower (she's short, but I'm over 6 ft).

Continental breakfast was better than most. Croissants, breadd pudding, hard-boiled eggs, fruit salad, coffee, oj (crappy oj though).

there was a great little sitting area in the same odd mix of design styles as the rooms, but again, it worked.

Despite the minor problems with the room, we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return without question. I can't imagine you'll get anything better for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank uncoeuraweigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Chose this hotel because of location and TA reviews and it turned out to be a great stay. Our rooms and bathrooms were spacious and we enjoyed the decor. My only complaint was that the beds were squeaky. Having a free espresso machine in the lobby proved to be great for a pick me up after a day spend touring. The breakfast was ample...bread (including raisin bread), croissants, bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs, cheese, pate, fresh fruit...great way to start the day. We were able to park right there at the hotel for 14$/day so 2 nights and 2 rooms cost a little over 500$ (canadian). The location was ideal and since it was off the main streets it was quiet. The hotel staff were very helpful and made restaurant recommendations and reservations for us - all of which were perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank weaverville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £73 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing