We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“compact reasonable hotel with lovely staff”
Review of Hotel du Nord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Nord
Ranked #70 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Borneo, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“compact reasonable hotel with lovely staff”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights with friends. Enjoyed the pool which I think was salt water and chlorinated. Its not big but was lucky to have the pool to myself. Safety good, most things locked well. Enjoyed the breakfast. Nice yogurt, fruit toast and even nesquik. Staff deserve special mention, friendly, courteous and just all round great. The eating area open for hot water, microwave, etc so that was handy. Only complaint was the air conditioning unit in our room had a damp unpleasant smell blowing out making the room seem unfresh.otherwise a good place to stay and seriously lovely staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    62
    52
    19
    9
See reviews for
44
68
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Free parking, free WI-FI , free breakfast, large room with kitchen. The desk staff was awesome. Catherine B. is the best. It's a little bit far away from old Quebec by foot but it's really near the bus stop.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Wonderful Hotel that is very clean and well maintained. The receptionists were very friendly and bilingual. Close to Old Quebec--free parking, internet, and continental breakfast included with anything you could want. Bus to old Quebec is right across the street! The salt water pool is definitely a plus if you are travelling with children. The outside of the hotel is nothing spectacular, but once you walk inside you will be impressed with what you are getting for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mscald2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Free parking, free breakfast, free wifi. Bus 1 (located across the street from the hotel) takes you directly into the old town for $3.25. Le Duck Bar is a two minute walk. The rooms are clean and quiet. The staff are excellent- see below.

I accidentally left a designer watch in my hotel room after checkout. When I called the hotel the next day, I was not surprised to hear that my watch was neither found by housekeeping or the laundry service. Regardless, I left my name and number. Several days later, I received a call from the Hotel indicating that they had found my watch and were willing to mail it back to me. As such, I commend the staff at Hotel du Nord for their honesty and trustworthiness and cannot thank them enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dayna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kpalime, Togo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Fast check-in, big room, nice breakfast, and close to the old city. What else did we want? Nothing. It was a nice clean hotel with good service. It was just right for the price. And I slept great! This is an affordable hotel for any wanting to visit the old city or museums in Quebec. And there is a good pizza place within walking distance.

Room Tip: We traveled during a slow tourist week so we had our pick of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CodexWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa B, Gérant at Hotel du Nord, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Our hotel offers affordable rates and is located less than 10 minutes by car from all the attractions of the Old Quebec City. Continental breakfast, parking, access to an indoor swimming pool and to the wireless network are included in the rates.

We are currently updating our rooms with higher-end bedding and furniture.

Thank you,

Vanessa Bergeron, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is located in a quaint part of town. You can really see how the middle class lived in the 1920s and 30s. Small but comfortable room. Coffee available 24/7 in the breakfast room. Breakfast was surprisingly varied. Lots of restaurants and small supermarkets nearby. Staff also helpful with information about what there is to do in town and directions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of this hotel. It is much quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Hotel du Nord, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your kind words.We appreciate all comments.
We do have a varied breakfast bar and hope to upgrade it even more .

Hope too see you again.

Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
6.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#78 of 102 in Quebec City
175 reviews
3.7 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
290 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Quebec City
Courtyard Quebec City
#42 of 102 in Quebec City
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
#50 of 102 in Quebec City
170 reviews
4.2 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#28 of 102 in Quebec City
693 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Royal William
Hotel Royal William
#58 of 102 in Quebec City
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Property: Hotel du Nord
Address: 640, St-Vallier Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1N 1C5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Nord 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Nord Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing